1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Gobi Enabled WWAN and GPS

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by kingstu, Aug 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kingstu

    kingstu Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    I was reading over the Panasonic website and I noticed that in third quarter of this year they will be changing how they do WWAN. No more deciding on Sprint, Verizon, Alltel or AT&T. It will all be done with Qualcomm's Gobi chip and you can decide which you want afterwards. It appears that Gobi includes GPS so I am wondering if the separate GPS option will change. Also, it indicated that it will be available on a 19, 30 and 52 so maybe retrofits will be available. Any info from the toughbook techs out there on this new change?
     
  2. Rob

    Rob Toughbook Aficionado

    Reputations:
    435
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,015
    I don't know about this. That would mean that the money sucking thieves like Siearra won't get their money + that would mean that you could theoretically activate one CDMA card on ANY CDMA provider, which at this point isn't going to happen. Is this Gobi chip simply a chip that you add something else to depending on what provider you want? if so, how would that be different that what is in place now?
     
  3. Zippy-Man

    Zippy-Man Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    I heard that soon you will be able to activate branded cell phones on other networks as long as it supports the technology. Like Sprint (CDMA) can goto verizon (CDMA) and visa versa. Maybe the same thing will be happening with the mobile broadband cards.

    That would be nice that way we can control the market a little better. That way they cannot exclusively have something and make way more than it is worth.

    Since the cf-30 wwan cards fit in a cf-29 I would imagine that it would work out of the box but who knows.

    -James
     
  4. kingstu

    kingstu Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    138
  5. Rob

    Rob Toughbook Aficionado

    Reputations:
    435
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,015
    WOW, nice stuff!!.. shoulda provided that link in the origional post lol... i was more interested in this!!!!!:

    Yes, Panasonic plans to enable the following new models in the coming year:

    Toughbook F8
    Toughbook T8
    Toughbook W8
     
  6. Rob

    Rob Toughbook Aficionado

    Reputations:
    435
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,015
    whats the F8????!!!
     
  7. canuckcam

    canuckcam Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Even if the technology can do that, will the carriers support it?

    That's the big circle that I'm running around trying to get EVDO Rev. A via Telus on my CF-29. Regardless of CDMA and compatibility, they will refuse to activate any device that did not originate from Telus. Doesn't matter if Bell uses the same model hardware, if the ESN is not in the Telus system then all you have is eWaste.
     
  8. Zippy-Man

    Zippy-Man Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Canuckcam I hear that soon (no eta) that cell company's (verizon is the one i heard about) will start to activate other branded cells and modems on there network. I am not sure if Telus will be included but I know that here where I am Metro PCS is already doing it. You can bring in any CDMA phone and they will activate it on there network. From what I hear all the cell company's will follow soon. So hopefully it is true it will make it much better.

    For now I know that you have to have that company's branded item to have it activated and they will not activate ESN's that are not there product.


    -James
     
  9. kingstu

    kingstu Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Here is a list of wireless partners with panasonic in Canada Canadian Telcoms Partners so maybe Telus will be allowed. There is a definite benefit to being able to have WWAN access be flexible and allowing easy change. The Telcoms don't have to subsidize it so they shouldn't care about it. They are already tested for compliance and certified with their networks.
     
  10. canuckcam

    canuckcam Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    LOL. They're still in back to the future mode... Bell and Telus with 1xRTT and EVDO Rev 0 (115kbps) .. and Rogers with GPRS? Both Bell and Telus are Rev.A in almost 90% of the network, and Rogers is HSDPA in most major cities.

    Sounds right though, I got through to a data guy at Telus who knows about the Toughbooks, and says the only cards that they support with the Toughbooks is the Sierra Wireless MC 5625, which is a Rev 0 card.
     
Similar Threads: Gobi Enabled
Forum Title Date
Panasonic External antenna for gobi 2000 aircard? May 11, 2015
Panasonic GOBI.. GPS antenna Mar 17, 2015
Panasonic Mc7750 = gobi 4000 mc5725 <> gobi 1000 ? Jan 21, 2015
Panasonic Panasonic Toughbook mk4, Gobi 2000 activation Jan 17, 2015
Panasonic Gobi modem not there Jan 1, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page