GL960 Chipset Processor Upgradability

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by michacerboy, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. Alkazar

    Alkazar Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi there, I would like to share my journey with you upgrading my old laptop to compete even with 2019s low ends.

    I have an old Acer Extensa 5220

    Thanks to DylRicho and his debugger https://dylricho.com/tools/gl960-debugger/. I was able to figure out that my chipset is a fake GL960.

    Thanks to Reiph for the maximum RAM Supported
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...or-upgradability.212097/page-41#post-10575853

    OLD SPECS
    Intel core M550 (1C/1T)
    1 GB RAM
    Windows XP
    HDD 50GB

    NEW SPECS
    Intel Core 2 Duo T9500 (2C/2T)
    5 GB DDR2 RAM (4+1 GB)
    Windows 10
    SSD 250GB
    + new 100Mbps mini PCI-e network card

    System specs screenshot:
    https://imgur.com/a/xzQjiF0

    The laptop is now blazing fast. Pulling a score of 1926 in Passmark Performance Test 9 and 447/216 in CPU-Z benchmark
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2019
    Reiph likes this.
  2. DylRicho

    DylRicho Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Hmm... If that module turns out to be fine and not faulty, that will be a new discovery. I will make a note of this and do some more research, should that be the case.

    I'm happy that you're now able to take advantage of dual-core Penryn.


    Yikes. The OEMs don't do any favors for these machines.


    Please do keep us informed on how it goes. From what I've seen, DDR2-667 modules are the most likely to work, and given that even the top-end GM965/PM965 chipsets scale DDR2-800 back to 667 MT/s, it's essentially no performance loss whatsoever.


    That's great news. Thank you for the post, and you're most welcome for the tool. There's a better version currently in the works.

    Incidentally, I've been wanting to upgrade my laptop to Windows 10 for my uncle who now uses the laptop. How are the GL960 GPU drivers with Windows 10? Are you able to get native 1280 x 800 resolution, as I know these drivers don't support the correct version of Windows Display Driver Model.

    Dylan
     
  3. Alkazar

    Alkazar Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had no problem whatsoever with graphics driver. Is is running natively at 1280x800 right out of the bat as all other drivers. The only driver that is not existent is bluetooth driver. I was not able to find it anywhere, so only bluetooth is not working.
     
  4. Reiph

    Reiph Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Good news, everyone ! :vbsmile:

    Core 2 Extreme X9000 works with GL960 on ASUS X58L ( with BIOS 203 - Latest )
    (X51L motherboard rev. 2.1)

    boot.jpg BIOS_Menu.jpg
     
  5. Reiph

    Reiph Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The only thing that is not working - is Intel SpeedStep technology

    And because of it - the CPU is always :

    - at max multiplier x14
    - and at 2.80 GHz speed

    But,
    The temperature is normal,
    Here is the screenshot with different tests :



    Desktop_Screenshot.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2019
  6. kit0001

    kit0001 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I got a similar situation.

    Multiplayer is not working for T9300, but helped the program «ThrottleStop» multiplayer included, but the voltage of the CPU is not changed in accordance with a change in frequency and remain as it does not suit me.
    I had to roll back to the old T7700.
     
  7. Josea_iag

    Josea_iag Newbie

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did you have to make a BIOS MOD previously in order to start with your T9500? Apparently you had the original BIOS and updated the microcodes later. So the T9500 seems to be started with the original one (R1121Q0). Then with the T9500 already running, you updated the microcodes under the Microsoft Windows operating system. Is this correct? Have you done of this way? Can you explain the process you did?

    I mention it because I am going to upgrade a Sony Vaio VGN-CR21S almost identical to yours that has the same BIOS, and with the MC Extractor the microcode for that CPU (10676) does not appear in the list..... This is what comes out in the original R1121Q0 Sony BIOS used by both laptops:

    ╔═══════════════════════════════════════════╗
    ║ MC Extractor v1.42.1 r142 ║
    ╚═══════════════════════════════════════════╝

    ╔══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
    ║ Intel ║
    ╠───┬───────┬─────────────┬──────────┬────────────┬──────┬────────┬─────────┬──────╣
    ║ # │ CPUID │ Platform ID │ Revision │ Date │ Type │ Size │ Offset │ Last ║
    ╠───┼───────┼─────────────┼──────────┼────────────┼──────┼────────┼─────────┼──────╣
    ║ 1 │ 10661 │ 80 (7) │ 33 │ 2007-03-16 │ PRD │ 0x1000 │ 0x31000 │ No ║
    ╠───┼───────┼─────────────┼──────────┼────────────┼──────┼────────┼─────────┼──────╣
    ║ 2 │ 6F5 │ 80 (7) │ 38 │ 2006-07-25 │ PRD │ 0x1000 │ 0x32000 │ Yes ║
    ╠───┼───────┼─────────────┼──────────┼────────────┼──────┼────────┼─────────┼──────╣
    ║ 3 │ 6F9 │ 80 (7) │ 83 │ 2006-09-28 │ PRD │ 0x1000 │ 0x33000 │ Yes ║
    ╠───┼───────┼─────────────┼──────────┼────────────┼──────┼────────┼─────────┼──────╣
    ║ 4 │ 6FA │ 80 (7) │ 92 │ 2007-03-13 │ PRD │ 0x1000 │ 0x34000 │ No ║
    ╠───┼───────┼─────────────┼──────────┼────────────┼──────┼────────┼─────────┼──────╣
    ║ 5 │ 6FB │ 80 (7) │ B3 │ 2007-03-14 │ PRD │ 0x1000 │ 0x35000 │ No ║
    ╠───┼───────┼─────────────┼──────────┼────────────┼──────┼────────┼─────────┼──────╣
    ║ 6 │ 6FD │ 80 (7) │ A1 │ 2007-03-13 │ PRD │ 0x1000 │ 0x36000 │ No ║
    ╠───┼───────┼─────────────┼──────────┼────────────┼──────┼────────┼─────────┼──────╣
    ║ 7 │ 6EC │ 80 (7) │ 5B │ 2007-02-08 │ PRD │ 0x1000 │ 0x37000 │ Yes ║
    ╚═══╩═══════╩═════════════╩══════════╩════════════╩══════╩════════╩═════════╩══════╝
     
  8. Josea_iag

    Josea_iag Newbie

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have opned a new post with the win-raid.com guys in oder to understand why a BIOS without microcodes is able to start an official unsoported CPU:

    https://www.win-raid.com/t6493f54-Sony-Vaio-VGN-CR-S-Microcode-to-Support-Intel-Core-Duo-T-1.html
     

Share This Page