GL960 Chipset Processor Upgradability

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by michacerboy, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. DylRicho

    DylRicho Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    It sounds like the unofficial BIOS lacks support for Intel Enhanced SpeedStep technology (EIST). Your chipset appears to support it, which is why the original T7700 worked.

    The CPU will work pegged at 2.60 GHz just fine. I can't say how long it will last as they are already decade-old parts, and no one really knows how they were treated beforehand. However, all CPUs are tested to run under full load for a considerable amount of time before they are approved with meeting the specification. Under these conditions, the T9500 would be operating at the same variables as your own.

    Perhaps find someone capable of modding the BIOS to ensure that nothing was broken with respect to EIST.
     
  2. kit0001

    kit0001 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, but finding such a specialist is a problem.
    I think, maybe the processor is not fully functional, I bought an old T9300 processor.
    If the processor on one laptop entered the "Throttle", on the other laptop the same processor will work fine, or will it also "Throttle"?
    ...................
    I have two versions - 1) not fully working processor (Throttle) - this means you need to replace it with a new one. 2) the correct operation of the processor on the motherboard is not supported - this means that the processor will never work correctly.

    What do you think?
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2018
  3. DylRicho

    DylRicho Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I'm not sure if I'm understanding this correctly, but it sounds like you have two processors that are depicting the same issue. The fact that these are used parts shouldn't be a problem.

    Do you have the option to move back to the BIOS you were using beforehand? Were you using the T7700 with the older BIOS?
     
  4. kit0001

    kit0001 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now the laptop has a new BIOS installed, with the new BIOS the T7700 processor works fine, and the T9300 processor does not work well (the multiplier and voltage do not change). I have a suggestion that -
    1) the problem is in the quality of the T9300 processor, since I bought it not with a new one.
    2) or maybe this T9300 processor is not supported by the motherboard chipset
    [​IMG]

    How do you think?
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2018
  5. DylRicho

    DylRicho Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Usually when something like this happens and the front-side bus is correct, and EIST is supported, it's down to the BIOS not supporting the processor correctly. You should get the same result with a T9500, or any Penryn processor for that matter.

    Perhaps try a Pentium T4200, if you can. It is the cheapest Penryn CPU on the market, and has a different CPUID. That's the only way to know for sure.
     
  6. kit0001

    kit0001 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have already done this, I tried to install T4200 it on a laptop. The result is negative. The laptop turns on, a BIOS startup image appears, and on this, the picture freezes, it is not possible to enter the BIOS, and the OS does not boot. You can turn off only by pressing the power button for 7 seconds.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2018
  7. DylRicho

    DylRicho Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    T2410? Is that with the original BIOS, or the custom BIOS? Because that's a Merom processor, and it should have a higher chance of working versus any Penryn processor. I can see the microcode for the T2410 in that Command Prompt window you have shown in this post. Not sure whether that's the original BIOS or not.

    The last thing I can think of, is perhaps check Windows Power Settings with the T9300/T9500, just to make sure that the CPU isn't being artificially limited by Windows. If your power mode is set to 'high performance' and you haven't changed any of the settings for it, it's safe to assume that Windows isn't the problem.

    Honestly, it's starting to look like Penryn just isn't an option, if Merom upgrades aren't working.
     
  8. kit0001

    kit0001 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did not write the label correctly (in a hurry). Not T2410 but T4200, which also has a Penryn core.
    (In my previous post I corrected it.)
    Now I use a modified BIOS, it has newer versions of microcodes. This is the one in the photo above. And the CPU (T7700) on the new BIOS works better, it is colder.
    The power settings in the OS are set correctly.
    I have a feeling that CPUs with the "Penryn" core do not fit.
    This is the original old BIOS [​IMG]
    This is a new modified BIOS (it is installed now) [​IMG]
    Here tests CPU T7700 at 100% load with new microcodes [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    In the new microcodes, the fan speed was slightly increased, the processor became colder with a large load.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2018
  9. Alexrose1uk

    Alexrose1uk Music, Media, Game

    Reputations:
    615
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Got an old Sony in hand, an NR38E, running it through a round of cheap upgrades for the father in law:
    1) SSD -> 120GB SSD installed successfully
    2) Processor - T2390 stock, upgrading to T9300 - WORKING PERFECTLY
    3) RAM - 2GB to 3GB FAILED :(

    This one was unfortunate; the stick detects in BIOS but the machine locks up instantly trying to get into Windows, or around 33% into the first test in if I try to run memtest; which I'm guessing is likely to be the chipset; and not the stick of RAM. That said the RAM wouldnt run by itself either so Ive not dismissed it may just be faulty.
    If I had alternate sticks I'd try swapping to see if it was compatible, but can't justify buying more to test something that simply may not work.

    I checked with Aida64 and 800FSB is listed as detected supported by the chipset, and the BIOS date is a month or two after Penryn's official release date, so I'm hoping the T2390 -> T9300 will be more successful. With 32bit Win 10 and an SSD, that should still be relatively decent for light browsing etc :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
  10. Alexrose1uk

    Alexrose1uk Music, Media, Game

    Reputations:
    615
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Well update:
    The T9300 is working perfectly; so I seem to potentially have a genuine GL960 chipset that also has the microcode and support for faster CPUs, OR the 2GB RAM stick I got was duff.

    But genuinely pleased about the T9300, it is noticeably faster and more responsive, and checking CPU-Z, IDA and EIST appear to be working perfectly. I also note the 2GB RAM is now running 667MHz, whereas before I am sure it was running 533... Penryn is doing its thing also, as the laptop seems to be running cooler as the fan isn't ramping up as much. The 10 year old thermal paste was so dry I had to scour it off, so that cannot have been helping the T2390 either...

    On the back of this; I may try ordering another 2GB stick. Is a 400/533 more likely to work than another 667 or 800 SODIMM (the one that didn't work was 667)?
     
Loading...

Share This Page