Getting RTX2080 MSI GS75

Discussion in 'MSI' started by Amantay, Jan 22, 2019.

  1. donotwant

    donotwant Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    26
    1. while there are 3 m.2 format slots only the first 2 support NVMe, the 3rd only sports SATA. meaning that the 3rd slot will not be able to get to the same speeds as the NVMe slots. You actually will not be able to plug in a NVMe m.2 into the 3rd slot because the data slot has an extra notch to prevent you from plugging in the wrong ssd. (The NVMe slots are backwards compatible with SATA though so you can plug in M.2 SATA ssd's into all 3)

    Edit: A very important note about the GS75, all the m.2 slots are easy to access. As soon as you take off the back cover they will be right there. (Unlike the GS65 where the slots were behind the motherboard, making it so that you had to actually take apart the whole laptop and disconnect every ribbon connection just to get underneath it to change the hard drive or upgrade the ram.) the empty ram slot will also be on the same side as the m.2's, while the other slot with the 16gb stick will be behind the motherboard (like the GS65)

    Edit#2
    2. Looks like there is no mini display port but instead if you get a usb-c adaptor you would be able to use that instead of the mini display port.

    These ports will be on the right side of the laptop.

    I am also planing to get this laptop, though the 2070 not the 2080.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2019
    sk3tch, Kevin@GenTechPC and hmscott like this.
  2. Amantay

    Amantay Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Wow! Thank you for such detailed response and explanation! Appreciate your time!
     
    sk3tch and Kevin@GenTechPC like this.
  3. Killer_Networking

    Killer_Networking Company Representative

    Reputations:
    260
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    321
    Trophy Points:
    76
    If you are still having issues with your Killer Wi-Fi adapter on your Alienware, try clean installing to the latest version of the Killer Control Center by following this guide - https://www.killernetworking.com/ki...q/105-clean-install-the-killer-control-center.
    If that doesn't resolve the issue for you, please reach out to us directly by filling out the form here - https://www.killernetworking.com/killersupport/contact - which will also allow you to submit a diagnostic.

    -- Anthony with Killer Networking
     
    RMXO and Kevin@GenTechPC like this.
  4. Amantay

    Amantay Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello! Thank you for reaching out! I will follow your instructions and let you know!
     
    hmscott and Kevin@GenTechPC like this.
  5. Lunatik

    Lunatik Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    83
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    265
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Killer Networking is basically malware, swap it to Intel and be done lol.
     
  6. ryzeki

    ryzeki Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,207
    Messages:
    6,228
    Likes Received:
    3,549
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Come on, why the exaggeration? It's not malware... I did notice that my previous killer cards (GT80 and GT60) had issues when I had a crappy router. Once I switched to my Asus RT87U, my issues went away. That was using Killer Control Center as well.
     
  7. hackness

    hackness Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,215
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    308
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Killer is a good software, the speed limit is one of the best among the consumer grade net limiters. But there is one big issue, it relies heavily on the WmiPrvSE.exe, it became a problem for users that relies a lot on the battery life. At 1.2GHz, the WmiPrvSE.exe ramps up to 4% CPU usage every 2 seconds, which translates to 1-2 watts. But once you close Killer Control Center, the WmiPrvSE.exe no longer ramps up and stays at 0~1% CPU usage. So in short, it's basically a battery killer.

    This issue has been there since the package released after version 1.5.1859.

    But there's still a fix for this issue:

    1. First bring up Task manager, go to start-up tab, disable Killer Control Center from startup.
    2. Now you need to add take ownership to your context menu, there are quite a few guides on google, we are doing thie is because all the new Killer Control center needs to go through Windows store, and we need to gain access to that just to know the path of the actual program.
    3. Go to C:\Program Files and right click on the WindowsApps and take its ownership, wait for the take owndership cmd command to finish its work, sometimes it takes half an hour, depends on how many app you have installed.
    4. You can now enter WindowsApps folder, beware that you now have the highest privilege so be careful not to delete anything.
    5. Once entered look for folder name start with RivetNetworks.KillerControlCenter, you can just press R key to search it.
    6. Go inside, if your killer control center is V1, go to KillerControlCenter_v1, if yours is V2, go to KillerControlCenter_v2.
    7. Look for KillerControlCenter.exe and copy the path to a txt file.
    8. Open up Task Scheduler.
    9. Setup a task called Killer Control Center.
    10. Open the task and go to general tab.
    11. Under the safety option bracket, select Execute only when a user is logged in and tick Run with highest privilege, pick Windows 10 for the setting.
    12. Add your killer Control Center path to action, for example "C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\RivetNetworks.KillerControlCenter_2.0.2354.0_x64__rh07ty8m5nkag\KillerControlCenter_v2\KillerControlCenter.exe"
    13. Go to Trigger program tab and setup 2 trigger procedures:
    14. For first trigger procedure, start the task when a user logs in, delay the task for 10 seconds.
    15. For the 2nd trigger procedure, choose when an event occurs, pick System for record, pick Kernel-Power for source, enter 105 for the event identity, delay the task for 10 seconds.
    16. This is for your own knowledge: Every time when you plug-in or unplug the power core, Windows generates an event called 105, so we are using that to tell Windows when to kill the killer Control Center and when to load the Killer Control Center.
    17. Go to Condition tab and tick Execute this task only when the Computer is on AC power. and also tick Stop the task if the computer switches to battery power.
    18. Go to Settings tab, untick Stop the task if the run time has exceeded how many days.
    19. Select Do not run a new instance.
    20. Save the task.
    21. To test if the task is running normally please do 2 kinds of test, restart the laptop is test number one, plug in wait for 15 seconds to see if it loads and unplug to see if it is killed is the number two test.
    22. You may have to move your mouse over for the tray icon to update the tray icon status.
    23. The ultimate goal is to have killer Control Center running when plug-in and quits killer control center automatically when running on battery.
    24. Killer Control Center needs to be started by the task scheduler otherwise the automation breaks.
    @Killer_Networking I hate doing all this and I also hate not being able to use Killer Control Center on battery mode, I really want to use Killer Control Center on Battery mode, but the current situation leaves me no choice. Could your team look into the WmiPrvSE.exe CPU usage please? Would be really nice if we can have Killer Control Center running even when on Battery. ;)

    Edit: This CPU usage issue occurs after you have introduced xtend for the first time, until now it still exists, when I joined the 2.0 driver beta few months ago, I've found one more new issue, xtend prevents the laptop from entering Sleep, but hibernate works fine, but hibernate takes up a lot of SSD space, so most users prefer using sleep, could you also look into this issue, maybe you guys can add an option for the user to choose for allowing the computer to go to sleep or prevent the computer to go to sleep when hosting xtend. xtend is very nice by the way, I use it very often, nice thing to have when you need the hotspot sharing to run automatically when you need to share the traffic of some specific network.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
    ryzeki, Amantay and hmscott like this.
  8. ryzeki

    ryzeki Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,207
    Messages:
    6,228
    Likes Received:
    3,549
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Fantastic post, and I can see why Killer (battery) network software would be at odds with battery users, makes sense that just by having it, it was draining the battery. The step by step guide to make the change when windows generates the event 105 is very ingenious and I hope Killer reads this post as to why there is concern, and hopefully they can implement the functionality to their software.

    I suppose the answer is no, but if you only use the basic drivers without killer center there is no issue right, since it's the same as when killing the program? But you loose the net limiter I suppose.

    Since I mostly use the laptop when connected, I never bothered to check this issue. And when using battery I was content with 2 hours of battery life that I never checked if I could improve it. Then again I think my GPU is the main culprit, since I never switched to intel GPU.
     
    toughasnails, hackness and hmscott like this.
  9. hackness

    hackness Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,215
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    308
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Yes, with the current Killer software, using only the basic driver seems to be the only fix for when on Battery.

    Unfortunately, 1.5.1859 is the last driver with killer software that doesn't utilized the WmiPrvSE.exe to a level that the battery draining speed becomes a concern. But using the 1.5.1859 means you cannot use XTEND, which means you have to activate the hotspot manually where XTEND does it automatically when you are connected to the WiFi network you wish to use hotspot.

    Usually hotspot is needed in a situation when you only have one wifi account and you wish to connect multiple devices to the internet.
     
  10. ryzeki

    ryzeki Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,207
    Messages:
    6,228
    Likes Received:
    3,549
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Huh, the killer software has more built in functionality than I expected. The only feature I ever tried a while ago with my GT60 was the... double shot? I don't remember how they call it but you used both wifi and Ethernet cable as a single internet connection, or more accurately, both simultaneously. Supposedly gave the best results when gaming. I only noticed small improvements but changing the router gave a much better improvement :p

    Ever since, I use the card with stock drivers, no center.
     
Loading...

Share This Page