1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Gateway MT3422 Drivers.

Discussion in 'Gateway and eMachines' started by deeselcyde, Sep 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I just picked up the MT3422 and I wanted to get rid of Vista. Does anyone know where I can get the XP drivers for this computer. The Gateway site has limited XP drivers.
     
  2. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  3. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have the MT3422 laptop and I had to look but finally found the xp drivers scattered about. I gathered what i could and put them in a file.

    So here's the link
     
  4. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Are these all of them? You don't have any yellow exclamation points in windows device manager? Is your system running noticeably faster with XP?
     
  5. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello,

    It boots up in the half the time with XP as in Vista although the unit came bloated with unnecessary software.

    I have one exclamation point left which i don't know how to get rid of , its under other devices and for the coprocesser.

    These drivers take care of the most important stuff like sound, wifi, video card. But even with them i still get some odd things happen. For instance, I get video corruption when the screeen goes to sleep and I have to press the function and F4 key two times and its back to normal.
     
  6. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    The link isn't working for the download. If you dont want to re compress I would really appreciate if you could link them up. Because I really want to get rid of Vista.

    That error you have putting your computer into sleep is probably a video related problem. I'm sure Nvidia's new driver would fix that.

    And for the Co-Processor you might need to download the AMD tool from their site. I believe it is called dual-core optimizer. It is only for X2's which the MT3422 is.

    I would really appreciate getting my hands on those drivers.

    Thanks.
     
  7. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks Deeselcyde for the suggestion, I'll try find amd tool tonight.

    I clicked on the link that I posted and its starts downloading fine. You just have to wait for 25 seconds then it lets you download. By the way, you have to open the link [not right click] because it takes you to another site from which you can download it.
     
  8. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    It starts the download fine, but then after about 2 minutes of downloading it finishes but it isn't complete. And when I try to extract the files it tells me that the folder is empty. The problem is with the uploader i think.

    Try that tool and let me know if it fixes your problem in the Device Manager.
     
  9. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    deesecyde, your correct, the file is corrupt or something. I'm trying to upload it to a different site. I will update you soon
     
  10. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Okay thanks. Keep me posted!!!!

    Thanks.
     
  11. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Sorry about the wait, just had some trouble uploading one big file so I decided to just link each individual file. Here they are [ yes, let the virgin sacrifices begin :) ]

    1) Ethernet
    http://www.mediafire.com/?0zmc9ze21bw

    2) Modem
    http://www.mediafire.com/?4ndldztyt0v

    3) Motherboard
    http://www.mediafire.com/?a1lag9wzjtg

    4) Realtek Card Reader
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5jvydabgjqk

    5) Wireless Card
    http://www.mediafire.com/?32u2jsfttgs

    6) Sound
    http://www.mediafire.com/?at5qbyd3nix
    7) Synaptic Touchpad Driver
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ay15kzreq9i
     
  12. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Wow those look really good. I really look forward to trying those out.

    I take it that the Video Card drivers are incorporated with the motherboard drivers since it is integrated graphics....

    Because I looked on Nvidia.com and they had the drivers for the nForce 410/430 MCP which is the SAME board that is in the MT3422. So are those the same drivers you posted for the motherboard?? I don't know if the ones on the Nvidias site are more updated than yours. I dont know if that would also take care of your problem in device manager.

    Anything else i should know before i install these?

    Thanks again I really appreciate it.
     
  13. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    The video card driver I have installed is from nvidia's site and is version 1.4.17.04 . I'm not sure if thats the same one that you have listed above or not. I'll check it out in a little bit and let you know. I did not include in the driver I have installed because I was not sure whether or not the corrupt graphics i was getting when the system turns off the lcd to powersave is related to this driver or not.
     
  14. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I'm a bit confused though. Since it is integrated that means that it is within the motherboard, right? So wouldn't the motherboard drivers include the graphics driver? Because in CPU-z it tells me that the southbridge of the motherboard is the 6100. I don't know. I'll play around with it and let you know how it works out.

    Do you get any BSOD's with XP. Because a lot of time with Vista when I wake up from standby or hibernation it BSOD's. Good Game Vista!

    If I have any problems I will post them on this thread. So keep checking this thread and I'll let you know if I have a fix for your problem, if I experience your problem. Same for me because I can tell you now that I am going to have problems.

    Thanks again I really appreciate it.
     
  15. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I haven't got the bsod yet and I don't recall getting any of that vista installed. I just have to press the function and f4 key to get the screen on after powersaver turns the monitor off. Did you put a fresh install of vista or are you using it with the factory loaded software ?

    As far as the motherboard driver including the graphics driver, I'm not sure. But you will notice that the motherboard driver is really small in size and the driver from nvidia [with the specs you listed above] is 80mb.

    I'll let you know if I get anywhere with this driver.
     
  16. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Yeah I put a fresh version of Vista with the Windows upgrade DVD.

    The BSOD only happens sometimes when I wake up from sleep or hibernation.

    Overall do you like your notebook??? Because I have tried 3 different companys laptops and paid over 1000 for each and I have thought they weren't worth the money. I buy them through Costco because of the 3 month satisfaction guaranteed return policy. So do you like it? Do you think it is worth the money??

    I think I am going to give the Motherboard drivers from the Nvidia site a try first then if those don't work I'll give yours a try. I am excited to try it out lol
     
  17. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    You might want to try a dual boot with vista and xp and that way you would have a good comparison between the two. My laptop was running fine with vista without any problems but I thought it was a little slow [and i didn't want to pay extra for more ram] and thats why i decided to try xp.

    Overall, i'm pretty satisfied with this unit considering i mainly got it for work.

    My main laptop at home is also a gateway m505x and i'm happy with it too. One thing i do like about the m505 is that it has pentium m processor and is silent most of the time. The fan in the mt3422 always runs but its not that loud and i work in a relatively loud environment so i don't really hear it.
    But the mt3422 is much more powerful and boots up much quicker than my old one.

    What other notebooks did you try and not like ?
     
  18. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I tried a Toshiba and it was just okay but for $1152 it had the cheapest core2duo and integrated intel 950 graphics....The was to the Vostro1400 which honestly would have been the perfect laptop but the screen was "grainy" and the cd drive sounded like a helicopter was taking off. The the hp pavilion was just ugly and not worth the money either. I really liked the feel and look of the Vostro but it came with those problems.

    I don't know if this will work but.....

    I am going to put XP on my laptop using my desktop cd-key. And use the Gateway Vista Premium key under the laptop for my Desktop. My desktop can easily handle Vista lol. Because I have experimented with Windows before with the HP by calling Microsoft with my premium key and they read me off the number to put in to activate the fresh install. This should work.... I think... I'll give it a try though :)

    I have everything working and I got the Coprocessor installed..... go here it will tell you everything...real easy too http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=155573&page=2
     
  19. ibnturab

    ibnturab Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for the link. I just installed it and i have no more question marks in the device manager.

    Now that you have xp installed, do you notice that its much faster?

    I think for $600, this laptop performs excellent. It has a good processer and a video card that is not too bad [ i was able to play the battlefield 2 demo on it].
     
  20. deeselcyde

    deeselcyde Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    BF2 demo? wow thats pretty impressive.

    With XP on it I am very happy with it. I think it is very fast for 600.

    The only thing from Vista I miss is the battery meter in the taskbar. Do you have a program for your computer to show your battery meter?
     
Similar Threads: Gateway MT3422
Forum Title Date
Gateway and eMachines is there a site to tell me what other Motherboards are interchangeable with my Motherboard? (Gateway MT3422) Mar 2, 2013
Gateway and eMachines Hi - need BIOS that is no longer provided by Gateway - MT3422 Dec 16, 2010
Gateway and eMachines Gateway Mt3422 Problems Sep 2, 2008
Gateway and eMachines Gateway MT3422 vs. Compaq Presario C714NR Jul 24, 2008
Gateway and eMachines Gateway MT3422 Problems Playing DVD's and Video Jul 6, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page