1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Gateway ML3108b - Get Your Windows XP Drivers Here!

Discussion in 'Gateway and eMachines' started by Bronislaw, Aug 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bronislaw

    Bronislaw Newbie

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    As anyone that's bought one of these will know, it comes shipped with Windows Vista Home Basic. Thats lovely, everyone's jumped on the Vista bandwagon, and Microsoft are pleased as punch, raking in the dough! Unfortunately for the home user, Vista runs like a three legged dog after half an hour on a roundabout unless you've got a state of the art PC worth thousands of pounds!

    I took it upon myself to rectify the situation (and oh do i wish i hadn't... its been hell) and install XP Pro. The initial install runs fine! ... and then you realise that NONE of the internal devices work! After slogging it out for days on end (well, three, kinda. more like 2 and a half? Some might call that slow, but seriously... AGH!) its all working!!! IT IS POSSIBLE! DON'T GIVE UP HOPE!

    In a bid to save some poor sap the trouble that i've been through, I'm going to list the drivers etc i've used to get this ... BEAST running on XP!

    PLEASE NOTE! After a clean XP installation, you're left with no network connectivity at all. Thankfully, I have a USB WiFi dongle to hand for just such an occasion. If you're not so lucky, you'll want to download these somewhere else fist ;)


    1) Motherboard/Chipset - nVidia nForce 430
    ------------------------------------------
    Not the integrated graphics option though! Whilst you would think that'd work, alas, its not compatible with XP. The nForce 430 package contains the drivers for everything but the Graphics.
    http://www.nvidia.com/content/licen...e/430_410/8.26_11.09_nforce_winxp_english.exe


    :: Edit
    1.1) Ambiguous Coprocessor Device
    ----------------------------------
    Personally, I didnt bother with this device, but in the interests of making this as useful as possible, here's what the guys who've contributed to this thread (particularly tel-b) are suggesting:

    After installing the chipset drivers above, right click the co-processor device in the device manager and select update drivers. In the wizard, specify the following folder to search for drivers:

    C:/nvidia/nforcewinxp/11.09/mcp51/SMbus

    If this folder doesnt exist, open my computer, right click on the C: drive and search for mcp51, this should reveal the location of the folder for you. Then just instruct the add new hardware wizard to install the coprocessor device therin and it should wrap things up nicely!
    ::End Edit


    2) Graphics! - nVidia ForceWare
    -------------------------------
    The ML3108b's graphics are onboard, so the standard GeForce GO drivers wont work :) "Panama Jack" pointed me in the direction of these beauties.

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=DKG07N5S


    3) WiFi - Realtek
    -----------------
    After i'd figured out who it was provided by, this wasnt too difficult to find!

    ftp://210.51.181.211/cn/wlan/RTL8185_6.1102.0702,UI_1.00.0006.zip


    4) Audio - First up, Microsoft UAA
    ----------------------------------
    There was one problem piece of hardware that just didnt make any sense, but the audio wasnt working, so this had to be it, right? Not directly. have to install the high definition audio bus driver first. Doesnt really matter where you find it, this one is from HP for example!

    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...cc=us&swItem=ob-45958-1&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN


    5) Audio - SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC
    -----------------------------------------------
    This took forever to find. Heaven knows why.... So many versions, so many that installed and seemed to work, but no sound came out. Eventually found one on the Gateway site (of all places!) that worked...

    ::Edit
    Apparently the old link doesnt work any more... Based on driver versions etc, this link should be the same file as I used originally, but I dont have the laptop to test with (its my brothers, and apparently still running well!). Good luck! ;)

    http://support.gateway.com/support/drivers/getFile.asp?id=21374&dscr=SigmaTel%20Audio%20DriverVersion:%205.10.5185.0&uid=196216183
    ::End Edit

    I THINK that's the lot! if i've missed anything, I'm sure someone will come back at me and tell me so :p but, I figure this is a MUCH better starting point than I had!

    Please let me know if this is of any help to anyone! :) It took long enough to write!!

    Cheers!
    Broni



    ::Edit
    Having just reviewed the entire thread (and it seems we really have been having fun here!) I thought I'd list Tel-b's very hepful solution to the audio problems many of you are having up here in the first post. How's that for recognition of brilliance ;)

    If my drivers dont work, give this a shot... I've removed some of tel-b's broken links too...

    or, you could try the audio driver package he's kindly put together which I believe includes the fix above...

    http://members.driverguide.com/driver/detail.php?driverid=1201501

    Enjoy!
    ::End Edit
     
  2. fscuk@connectfree.co

    fscuk@connectfree.co Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Dear Bronislaw
    I am erecting a small statue in your memory for posting these xp drivers for the gateway: just bought the machine, lovely deal, but as you say no racehorse with vista. and my key software turns out to be highly allergic to vista.
    Everything runs smoothly now under XP but I notice the coprocessor still says it has no driver - did you find the same thing or do you have ideas where I might find a driver for that?
    with thanks.....
     
  3. tel-b

    tel-b Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thank goodness I'm not the only donkey who decided to install XP on one of these! I havent downloaded all of the installs yet, but I'm very grateful that you've posted the links I need.

    Vista may have some marketing value for selling little laptops like this, but it's crazy to think that anyone who has purchased one would be happy with the utter lack of responsiveness! If I wanted to swim in treacle, I would, and that's EXACTLY what the experience of Vista on a 3108b is!

    Thanks again for the links! :)
    T
     
  4. mr kite

    mr kite Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    will linux go on a gateway and have all the drivers?
     
  5. tel-b

    tel-b Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I seriously doubt it, mr kite! But I'm sure if you trawl the linux forums and get enough info on the hardware that's inside the gateway, you should find something that will work. I don't envy your quest. Finding XP drivers for it is a nightmare.. Linux can only be harder..

    I've installed all the XP drivers from the list above but there are still some of my devices not working.
    Coprocessor
    Modem Device on HighDefinition Audio Bus
    Unknown Device.

    I have graphics and sound just now, and it STILL works a lot better than it did on Vista!

    Tel
     
  6. jamesb

    jamesb Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    After all the hassle of installing XP, was the machine any faster?

    I just bought an ML3108B, found it was running slower than my old 600MHz laptop, and was about to refit XP, but I'm now hesitating. I also found that the machine couldn't log on to my Wifi access point (another Vista feature, apparently), and that the Gateway online help doesn't support non-US users.
    Should I take it back to the shop, or persist with the XP install?
     
  7. tel-b

    tel-b Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hi jamesb. Yeh, my 3108b is going like a whore on prom night, now that I've put xp on it. My graphics and sound are 100%, wireless is 100% (but use driver only, not realtek app), and ethernet is 100%.

    Still have a few drivers that I'm trying to resolve, but I'm sure everyone that's bought one of these will want xp on it so I expect drivers will soon be freely available.

    Take it back to the shop or persist with xp? Well, if you install xp and DON'T delete the 'D:recovery' partition, there's nothing to stop you reverting to vista, hence being able to return it as sold.

    Personally, I'm happy with how well it runs on xp and I'm going to keep it. If i were stuck with vista, I'd have had it back to Tesco long ago ;)

    I'm goin to stick with this thread until all my drivers are sorted (not that i really need an ac'97 modem anyway, i just hate unresolved hardware!), and I'll post whatever solutions i find.

    As for gateway support, since they've shipped the 3108s with vista, i doubt if they will ever have any support for xp...

    hope this helps
    T
     
  8. tel-b

    tel-b Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    ;) the 'coprocessor' device listing is actually the nVidia network enumerator. MANUALLY install the driver by going into the C:cabs folder and into the nforce430 cabs. (called something else) and browse down to the mcp51 folder for xp.

    The modem device driver ( Agere systems HDA modem) can be found on Gateway support site. I downloaded the vista driver for the ml3109, installed it manually and it works perfectly.
    All my hardware devices are listed and working 100% in XP ;)

    (XP actually goes like snow off a roof on my 3108... would recommend it to any1 with the patience to install the drivers!)
     
  9. RichTea

    RichTea Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Really useful thread, many thanks.

    I've now put on XP and seems like a really good little laptop. The only problem I'm having is with the audio. Despite installing the drivers as listed above I still have no sound ('no soundcard installed' error when i try to play any sounds).
    There is an issue when I try to install the last Sigmatel driver from the gateway site. As it installs it comes up with a message saying " The system does not support the driver you are attempting to use ".

    Could anyone offer any help/thoughts on this? Is there another driver I could try or does anyone know the make/brand of soundcardso that i can search myself? Any help would be really appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Rich.
     
  10. tel-b

    tel-b Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi Rich

    Is it possible that you havent installed microsoft uaa highdef bus first? (step 4 of original post)..

    Both these drivers work perfectly in my 3108b.
    Without the microsoft highdef bus in place, the sound hardware wont be recognised.

    Try uninstalling whatever drivers youve installed for sound and then install the highdef bus from the link in step 4.

    The sound is reporting on mine as being 'SigmaTel High Definition Audio Codec'.

    Hope this helps.

    T :)
     
  11. mm3nrx

    mm3nrx Newbie

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Job well done mate....Pity the support from the manufacturer was not up to much. Ex-girlfriends old man bought one of these beasts...ran slow with VISTA.

    As you do, I removed both partitions and reinstalled XP MCE.....no driver disk.....I then went direct to live support, only too be given an URL to 55 possible downloads....by this time, said old man is peering over the notebook at me....hoomed and haaad for a while and said, " sorry mate but you notebook is not backward-compatable" LOL...I then said...give me a day or so and I will have it sorted...

    But thanks to this page I now have all, I hope I need....As pc not here, i have to send disk off...so I will keep you posted if all ok, as I am not sure if drivers 100% compatable with XP MCE.

    Again thanks

    Jason
     
  12. stylez79

    stylez79 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Nice one have purchased 2, as soon as Vista loaded the lag was unbearable, my first action go and get a gig of ram for each, performance is so much better, but still not on par with xp, the boot up time is still slow, am going to try this on 1 and see the difference in performance, also @ mo having a real hastle with Vista or the wireless adapter on these Notepads?
    The Coprocessor driver could you please explain more about the install?

    Thankyou for the drivers.
     
  13. nuggs

    nuggs Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hi i have just put xp on this notebook installed everything but not got the driver for coprocessor i have tried doing it manually as a previous post suggest but to no avail..

    the 'coprocessor' device listing is actually the nVidia network enumerator. MANUALLY install the driver by going into the C:cabs folder and into the nforce430 cabs. (called something else) and browse down to the mcp51 folder for xp.

    its a great machine but this is bugging me its the only thing i need i hate ???in the device tab lol any help would be appreciated..

    ps..bronislow many thanks for the drivers you have posted massive help cheers.
     
  14. JayBizzle

    JayBizzle Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just signed up to say thank you for this thread. I thought i had seriously messed up after immediately removing Vista from this laptop.

    Could you explain this aagin please mate, it doesn't make sense to me?

    C:cabs? nforce430 cabs?

    I found a folder called mcp51, but nothing of interest in there

    Thanks
     
  15. kiterjonno

    kiterjonno Newbie

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    How have people found this system running with 1gb of ram on vista?

    Is it worth the upgrade and exactly what is the spec of the ram in it, have you people found any good deals on ram for it?

    Sorry for so many wuestions but have been away from the upgrading scene for a long time and feel well and truly out of the loop now.
     
  16. TuRRiCaN

    TuRRiCaN Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have found the solution to the "coprocessor" driver missing.

    It is a smu on the nforce 4 chipset.

    Goto this link.

    http://support.gateway.com/support/...version: Nvidia SB 5.1.2600.121&uid=170482294

    Once extracted file, dont use main setup. Go into "D20008-001-001\D20008-001-001\winvista32" use setup in there. Dont worry about it saying vista it works on xp fine.

    After its installed, it appears in device manager as "Nvidia nforce PCI system management" in "system devices".


    BTW, this thread is amazing and as helped me **** loads, cheerz guys.
     
  17. Andorbal

    Andorbal Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    THANK YOU!!! The audio bit works on the ML3109, too, for anyone who's working with that laptop. My cousin just bought that laptop and I can't believe that they could actually sell a laptop that was virtually unusable with Vista on it. So I went down the XP road, and it was all going smoothly until I went to install the sound drivers. I was about 2 seconds away from giving up until I found this post.

    Again, THANK YOU!!!!
     
  18. stylez79

    stylez79 Newbie

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just to say thankyou to everyone who has helped, with the xp install, not only do these laptops run very slow "like a snail" with Vista, i have had a nightmare with the wireless, on a BT homehub, hope that this is a comptabiliy issue, spent aprox 11 hours so far on support only for them to end where i ended.
     
  19. kiterjonno

    kiterjonno Newbie

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    has anyone ay answer to the ram question i posted earlier? hope u guys have good results with the xp route
     
  20. tel-b

    tel-b Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    yeh, sorry bout the confusion. think my brains were well and truly melted by the time I'd gotten everything working. the xp driver for 'coprocessor' is part of the setup for the nforce drivers you've already installed. On my system, the driver is in C:/nvidia/nforcewinxp/11.09/mcp51/SMbus, although I've reinstalled everything. if you go to the root of C: and search for mcp51, then direct your new hardware wizard to install coprocessor device from there, it will work fine. dont know why it doesnt install with the rest of the nforce drivers though! I've done it this way with two different XP installations and it's worked each time.
    Hope this helps :)
    T
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page