Gamedev student looking for laptop needs help

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Revenaant, Aug 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Revenaant

Revenaant Newbie

Reputations:
    Hey everyone, first post!

I'm a game development student abroad in the Netherlands, going into 3rd year.
    I've recently come into the chance of upgrading from my Lenovo y700 GTX 960m, i7-6700HQ and 8gb Ram into something better and probably selling this one.
    The reasons are that this y700 is struggling some with gaming on newer titles and working on heavier scenes in Unity, they get my pc pretty hot and I fight with lag and/or frame drops.

I've been doing my research and I believe that what I would like goes along the lines of an i7, GTX 1060 and 8-16GB Ram. A decent keyboard with back-light is desirable for those sessions of programming at night. I'm also aware that the display on the Y700 is somewhat potato, something better would be nice but not crucial to me.

I also recently discovered that custom built laptops are a thing that exists, like Clevos, and thanks to this great forum learned of the amazingness of Obsidian and HIDevolution. In fact I had a phone call with Donald from HIDevolution yesterday and he gave me advice with building a laptop on their site, however the shipping to Europe does turn me off price wise. Actually similar configuration from both sellers end up being about $200+ higher than my budget limit by my calculations.
    I could get a laptop from Amazon or somewhere else but the reputation for support and quality of both those guys precedes them and is quite tempting.

So I wanted to ask for your advice and suggestions if you're so kind to give them :)

1) What is your budget?
    $1200-1500 USD (1000-1300 euro)

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    15"+ screen
    3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    The Netherlands, Europe