1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

G73JH Turbo Boost Monitor

Discussion in 'ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum' started by Yiddo, Apr 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yiddo

    Yiddo Believe, Achieve, Receive

    Reputations:
    1,086
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Anyone seen this before?

    [​IMG]

    I have tried every version but since my factory reset the only thing that is not working is this gadget windows is sitting exactly as it was before I reinstalled. Tried reinstalling the processor and its not affected by most normal means to get it working tried most simple fixes and all types of the turbo boost monitors versions and still it will not run.

    Checked CPUz and intel turbo boost is working normally. Overclocking makes no difference.
     
  2. frosty5689

    frosty5689 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Do you have the 2.0 version installed?
     
  3. Yiddo

    Yiddo Believe, Achieve, Receive

    Reputations:
    1,086
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Tried all versions even the original ones and they all take an age to load and then come up with this cross. When I click on it says TM monitor has stopped working please restart your computer or reinstall the gadget. Makes no difference.
     
  4. frosty5689

    frosty5689 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I think the TM monitor is referring to the thermal sensors on the cores. I could be wrong. Mine works fine so I have no idea why that is happening. Did you happen to have optimized some Services using a tweak tool?
     
  5. JOSEA

    JOSEA NONE

    Reputations:
    4,013
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Short answer to OP yes,
    If you disable the turboboost service you will see this error. I am using the version that came stock (1.1 I think)
    It works fine if service is set to automatic
    Hope this helps, Josea
     
  6. frosty5689

    frosty5689 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    There's a turbo boost service?
     
  7. <MarkS>

    <MarkS> Notebook Village Idiot

    Reputations:
    227
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    For the monitor maybe :)
     
  8. JOSEA

    JOSEA NONE

    Reputations:
    4,013
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Exaclty right Marks, see the .bat file here
    C:\Program Files\Intel\TurboBoost
     
  9. BumbleBoner

    BumbleBoner Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    42
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Yup. Seen that before when I was trying out 2.0.

    Simple fix really. Clean uninstall of the Intel Turbo Boost Technology monitor (with control panel or your favourite uninstaller), re-boot, and re-install. Its a problem with monitoring, and not a CPU fault. Key is to reboot before reinstalling the monitor.

    PS: Stay away from the new version of the monitor, the old version is much, much better as far as convenience goes.
     
  10. Chastity

    Chastity Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,859
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Did they ever fix the bug with the monitor not allowing for max Turbo speed?
     
Similar Threads: G73JH Turbo
Forum Title Date
ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum G73jh-a1 using 50% GPU and not turbo boosting CPU at intense moments in games. Sep 26, 2013
ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum G73JH Turbo Boost not working? May 14, 2013
ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum Asus G73JH-B1 doesnt turbo boost to 2.93 Jul 18, 2012
ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum Asus G73Jh-a1 Upgraded to 920XM not showing turbo option on throttle stop Apr 3, 2012
ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum Enabling Turbo Boost on my G73Jh-BST7 Oct 10, 2011

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page