1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

fresh install of windows 7 x64 on 14r(n4010)

Discussion in 'Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio' started by einhander, Apr 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. einhander

    einhander Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    812
    it cant see the primary drive. is there a sata driver i can use? looks like the disc i have does not have the drivers.:confused:
     
  2. Tsunade_Hime

    Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,392
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10,524
    Windows 7 shouldn't need the F6 SATA driver. Are you sure your drive is functional?
     
  3. PatchySan

    PatchySan Om Noms Kit Kat

    Reputations:
    3,905
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,169
    Understandable if its XP but Windows 7 should have the basic SATA drivers to get running. Does the BIOS recognise you have a HDD at all?
     
  4. Bear123

    Bear123 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Try reset bios to default, then at least there should be no issues, afaik, about finding the harddrive.

    And please specify what you mean about the disc(disk?) not having(finding?) any drivers...

    If all this is regarding installing/reinstalling windows, and you are questioning about F6 during install/reinstall, ignore it, and continue without worries.

    Maybe I should start the problemsolving; WHERE is it that you can't find the [unknown] (-disc/disk/drive)
     
  5. einhander

    einhander Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    812
    the drives arent showing up during the install. it will prompt me to install sata drivers , i loaded the ones from the dell website and non of them are compatible but they are for this model.

    both drives were detected in the bios and i'm able to format them with other software but they dont show up during the installl for windows.
     
  6. Bear123

    Bear123 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Ok, cool.
    If you go into BIOS, under SATA Operation (something like that), I believe there are two options of selecting either ATA or AHCI. Choose to activate ATA, instead of AHCI. This should perhaps solve the issue of not finding the drive.
     
  7. Bear123

    Bear123 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Being a little quick on the post there...
    Here is info about AHCI: Intel AHCI

    And here is infact a AHCI F6-Driver that you requested.

    I hope the latter one will actually give you a break, and be able to run windoze WITH AHCI. I know your pain. I had the same difficulty with my installment of Windoze7 at one point.
     
Similar Threads: fresh install
Forum Title Date
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio Help with fresh install Inspiron 17R 7720 SE from scratch Dec 20, 2012
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio Dell 5110 fresh windows 7 installation Dec 10, 2011
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio New Dell Studio 1745 - fresh install Nov 26, 2009
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio Update: Fresh installation of windows xp after a bad virus... Nov 7, 2009
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio Is this a good way to install a fresh copy of Vista? Jun 22, 2009

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page