For those with a ZX5000 look here.. Big problems

Discussion in 'HP' started by rancid, Mar 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rancid

    rancid Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    562
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Ok where to start.. Let me first start off by saying I own a HP ZX5000 with the new ATI motherboard IGP 9100 chipset.

    I have recently bought GEIL PC3200 Cas 3, Kingmax PC3200 Cas 2.5, and a stick of 256 Kingston PC2100. Now here is where things get really crazy:

    When I first received the laptop I ran Sandra memory tests and 3dmark2001 and 03. All came back "ok" but nothing earth shattering. I decided it was the ram and replaced the 1 stick of PC2700 1x256 from HP with 2x512 GEIL PC3200 Cas 3 ram. Once doing this EVERYTHING went down in performance even though the ram was faster and was over double the amount in the system. Shocked I took one stick of GEIL out and replaced it with the stock HP PC2700 ram. Believe it or not performance WENT UP, but still not to the level of just the single stick of PC2700. Frustrated, I ordered the Kingmax PC3200 Cas 2.5 figuring it was the CAS that was killing the system.

    I popped in the ram in today (which wasn't easy mind you because there is only 1 slot showing for the ram.) so I now have a total of 2x512 Kingmax Cas 2.5 ram in this bad boy. Fire up 3dmark2k1, 03, and Sandra. Did a best of 3 tests. Performance was the *SAME* and I mean almost exact same as the mixed GEIL and stock HP ram. Performance is better then the 2x512 GEIL sticks, but still not faster then the 1 stick of 1x256 PC2700 from HP.

    My question to you folks is, what the hell is going on?! Why woudn't the 2 sticks of PC3200 be faster then the 1 PC2700 from HP? I have done a ton of research on the ATI chipset used in this system and it supports DDR400 ram, and is running @ 200 FSB on the ram and 800 FSB on the processor. The system is a P4 3.2 with H/T, 9600 64mb Pro Radeon, 60 gig 5400 h/d.

    For ****s and giggles I threw in a stick of PC2100 with the PC2700 and performance was a tad under the PC3200 with the PC2700. GO figure.

    I am thinking I need to just order PC2700 Cas 2.5 and see what this thing does. It is either apparent the chipset does not like PC3200, or I am just reading too much into this. I still do not see why the system is faster with 256 over 1 gig, regardless if it's PC3200 or PC2700. I will probably order the Corsair Cas 2.5 PC2700 and let you guys know how she does. I contacted HP and they seemed shocked the system would boot with the PC3200 saying it was "designed" with PC2700 in mind. Regardless, the system's ram FSB runs 200 vs. 166 which would make you think everything would be faster.

    Tonight I ran the system with only *1* stick of 512 kingmax pc3200 ram and got a 10% increase in memory read/write in Sandra, and 700 more marks in 3dmark2001. I don't have any idea why, but when running ram in both slots on the mobo causes major ram issues.

    Also, under control panel/system/system devices the SMBUS controller and system resources are conflicting (sharing same IRQ range.) There is no way to fix this problem and HP and ATI both are ignoring the problem.

    Read this thread for more info: http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33743350


    ZX5000
    3.2 P4/W HT
    1gb of PC3200 Kingmax
    64mb ATI 9600
    7200 RPM 60gb Hitachi
    Toshiba CD-RW/DVD Combo
     
  2. tewellbaum

    tewellbaum Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Thanks for the information.....But being limited in my knowledge, im not sure what kind of test that you performed on the zx5000 would be noticed by the average user?
    If you would please let me know why this test is important.
    I have a zx5000 with 512mb of ram (2x256) and a 9200 radeon gaming card....and it works fine so far....
    Im am curious on what Hp techs say and if there is a logical explanation for what you have experienced.Please keep me informed. Thank You<blockquote id='quote'>quote:<hr height='1' noshade id='quote'>Originally posted by rancid

     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2015
  3. rancid

    rancid Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    562
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    56
    It effects you primarly because:

    1.)HP is shipping these laptops with device errors

    2.)All ram is being detected at a much lower clock speed then it should be by default in the bios, thus causing memory read/write to suffer.

    3.)You cannot use both ram slots on the laptop without suffering a 10-15% performance decrease. The only way around this is to use 1gb dimms and they cost wayyyyyy too much.

    You can mention this to HP's tech support, I have 4 times now and they all keep telling me to either install the latest drivers or reinstall windows (done both.)

    ZX5000
    3.2 P4/W HT
    1gb of PC3200 Kingmax
    64mb ATI 9600
    7200 RPM 60gb Hitachi
    Toshiba CD-RW/DVD Combo
     
  4. tewellbaum

    tewellbaum Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Thanks for the info.....in my case what would you suggest i do to see whats going on with my laptop?<blockquote id='quote'>quote:<hr height='1' noshade id='quote'>Originally posted by rancid

     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2015
  5. rancid

    rancid Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    562
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Contact HP technical support and inform them of the conflicting issues I mentioned and ask for an updated bios. If enough people complain we can make this happen.
     
  6. tewellbaum

    tewellbaum Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    FYI: I just got off the phone with HP Tech support and they were VERY VERY helpful with the Bios issue i passed along the information.There are "NOT" BIG BIG problems with Pavillion zx5000. Just wanted to pass this along. Thank You!<blockquote id='quote'>quote:<hr height='1' noshade id='quote'>Originally posted by rancid

     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2015
  7. rancid

    rancid Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    562
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Are they aware there is a problem? What did they say

    ZX5000
    3.2 P4/W HT
    1gb of PC3200 Kingmax
    64mb ATI 9600
    7200 RPM 60gb Hitachi
    Toshiba CD-RW/DVD Combo
     
  8. tewellbaum

    tewellbaum Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I explained to the tech what was talked about on this forum and was informed that they would make note: My question is if in fact you had your notebook customized?.... We need to continue to make calls until we see the update or problem resolved (if any). If anyone else wants to join in and make a call that would be great!<blockquote id='quote'>quote:<hr height='1' noshade id='quote'>Originally posted by rancid

     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2015
  9. schmalfeld

    schmalfeld Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I wish I could be more help, but I think tewellbaum's suggestion of keep calling tech support to give them more information and feedback. Possibly one of the other forum members have some experience with this situation. Good luck

    HP zd7000 :: 17" WVA WXGA+ (1440 x 900) :: P4 3.06 GHz with HT :: 512MB DDR :: 64MB GeForce FX Go5600 :: 54G Wireless :: 60GB 5400 RPM HD :: XP Pro
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - those ZX5000 here
  1. Aivxtla
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    579
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page