For anyone stuck with "Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer"

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by Kuo, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kuo

    Kuo Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hey guys...

    After 4 long hours... I'm finally starting the windows xp install on my new 5793 :eek:
    I kept having a "Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer" message. A little google told me that it was a xp issue with sata hard drives, and the (only?) solution was to streamline the sata drivers to a new windows cd, with a tool like nLite.

    So I did nLite, 1... 2... 3 different configurations, still no luck. Then I check the bios... and I see an option "Intel Robson" is enabled. Weird, I don't remember buying that (expensive) memory. So I disable it, and notice that the Sata config switches to "combined"... I reboot... and windows lets me install... YES!

    I don't know who config my new laptop, but I'm kind of disapointed that this wasn't even checked...

    Anyway, I thought this post might help others :)
     
  2. Wishmaker

    Wishmaker BBQ Expert

    Reputations:
    362
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    It should have worked with nLite. You did not integrate the drivers properly. I've been slipping kits for the past two years. I've never dumbed down the HDD in bios. Alwasy kept it on SATA ENHANCED.

    Maybe you missed a file when you integrated the drivers.
     
  3. Renovatio

    Renovatio Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    67
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    You want to slipstream the AHCI SATA drivers and not the RAID ones.

    You could also disable native SATA support in the bios, install, and install the drivers later, but nothing comes close to putting together your own XP install tweaked to perfection.
     
  4. Wishmaker

    Wishmaker BBQ Expert

    Reputations:
    362
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I agree with you. I have my custom discs for Vista (x86&x64) +Sp1 and XP+SP3 SATA.
     
  5. Kuo

    Kuo Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Ok, so should the Intel Robsonstill be enabled? In the bios I cannot change directly the Sata option, but it is linked to the Intel Robson.

    I used the drivers CD which came with my notebook to create the windows xp and added the /Drivers/XP/00Chipset/All folder into nLite. 2 times without success. Then I downloaded drivers from http://64.208.175.44/pages/notebooks/download.cfm?ProductType=5793

    No success either...

    Did I miss any steps?

    Thanks
     
  6. Elbow

    Elbow Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I went into the bios and changed the sata to ATA, now it shows the partitions and is installing as I type.
     
  7. Renovatio

    Renovatio Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    67
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Make sure you install the SATA drivers once you're in Windows. Download them from the Intel website, they're Matrix storage manager drivers, then switch back to SATA, load up windows, don't let it install the new hardware, and manually install the Intel drivers.
     
  8. Wishmaker

    Wishmaker BBQ Expert

    Reputations:
    362
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    It won't work. Bootloader will not load is you change to SATA after you installed on compatible.
     
  9. Renovatio

    Renovatio Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    67
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I remember reading a thread outlining all the steps to installing SATA drivers after installing XP. I mentioned them as I remember in my previous post.

    I haven't tried it myself though, I discovered nlite.
     
  10. Wishmaker

    Wishmaker BBQ Expert

    Reputations:
    362
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55

    You did it wrong. Download this. Here is a small tutorial I just did for you. Good luck. Don't worry, when I did this a few years ago I had 10 lemons before my first success :p.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Make sure you select the appropriate drivers for your configuration. ALL WITH YOUR CHIPSET IN THEM!!!

    The example i just did is with intel drivers that include my laptop.


    Do you know how to make it bootable or you want some help? I use ISOBUSTER and NERO.
     
    Lasted edited by : May 8, 2015
Similar Threads: anyone stuck
Forum Title Date
Sager and Clevo From 7970m to 970m in a P170EM anyone done it? Feb 28, 2015
Sager and Clevo Anyone use the 4930MX or 4940MX in the p370sm Feb 22, 2015
Sager and Clevo After getting somewhat screwed by PCSpecialist, does anyone have any suggestions? Nov 26, 2014
Sager and Clevo Anyone seen the old P180HMs out for sale? Oct 28, 2014
Sager and Clevo Help : Does anyone know where the HDD is located for the Clevo P151SM1B? Oct 18, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page