1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

FN-CTRL swap on all Lenovo laptops [SOLVED]

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by middleton, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I've decided to gather all my CTRL-FN BIOS mods in one place. These patches were originally posted in different topics at official Lenovo forum (lenovo community).
    If you want to swap FN and CTRL keys, then download and flash the modified BIOS.

    Supported models:

    Lenovo G430, G530
    Lenovo G450, G550
    Lenovo G455, G555
    Lenovo N200 (type 0769)
    Lenovo N500, G530 (MT 4446 only)

    IdeaPad S9, S10
    IdeaPad S9e, S10e, S10 with 3G (MT 4329, 4333)
    IdeaPad S10-2
    IdeaPad S10-3
    IdeaPad S10-3t
    IdeaPad U350
    IdeaPad U450, U450p
    IdeaPad Y430
    IdeaPad Y450
    IdeaPad Y530
    IdeaPad Y550
    IdeaPad Y550p
    IdeaPad Y460, Y560
    IdeaPad Y460p, Y560p

    ThinkPad SL300, SL400, SL400c, SL500, SL500c
    ThinkPad L410, L510, SL410, SL510
    ThinkPad R400, T400
    ThinkPad R500
    ThinkPad R60, R60i (Machine types 94xx)
    ThinkPad R61
    ThinkPad T400s
    ThinkPad T500, W500
    ThinkPad T60, T60p
    ThinkPad T61, T61p
    ThinkPad W700, W700ds
    ThinkPad X200, X200s
    ThinkPad X200 Tablet
    ThinkPad X300
    ThinkPad X301
    ThinkPad X60, X60s
    ThinkPad X60 Tablet
    ThinkPad X61, X61s
    ThinkPad X61 Tablet


    Disclaimer:

    Lenovo has no relation to these BIOS-es. These patches are completely unofficial. They provided "as is" without any warranties from Lenovo. Lenovo has never tested or approved these patches and doesn't support them.
    You will be solely responsible for any damage to your computer system or loss of data that results from flashing or using of the patched BIOS.
    Use it at your own risk.



    Note: This forum spoils some links. To avoid problems, click on the first word of a link to download BIOS.


    Attention to ThinkPad owners.
    If you get error message during BIOS update:
    "BIOS image file is same as BIOS ROM. An update is not necessary at this time."
    OR
    you flashed the patch but FN and CTRL are still not swapped

    then you have to do the following:

    1) Create "flash.bat" file in the folder with WINUPTP.EXE. Bat-file should have the following contents:

    @echo off
    echo Updating BIOS. Please wait...
    winuptp.exe /s
    echo BIOS flash completed. Reboot your machine now.
    pause

    2) Run flash.bat as administrator, you'll see "Updating BIOS. Please wait..." message.

    3) Wait until "BIOS flash completed. Reboot your machine now." message is displayed.

    4) Reboot your machine.

    flash.bat is attached just in case.


    If you want to bring back (for some reason) the original FN-CTRL layout, then follow the instructions below:

    - For all non-ThinkPad models: just flash the original BIOS.

    - ThinkPad owners have to do the following:

    1) Download the latest BIOS update utility for Windows from the official website.

    2) Run it and remember the folder where the update utility will be installed.

    3) Uncheck "Install ThinkPad BIOS Update Utility now" on the last screen of the setup wizard and click "Finish".

    4) Go to the folder where the update utility was installed, and then place flash.bat there.

    5) Run flash.bat as administrator, you'll see "Updating BIOS. Please wait..." message.

    6) Wait until "BIOS flash completed. Reboot your machine now." message is displayed.

    7) Reboot your machine.

    If flash.bat quits instantly, then something goes wrong. Read Winuptp.log (it will be created in the same folder with flash.bat) to determine the cause of the issue.
    Run flash.bat again after eliminating all the causes.

    <BR><BR>
     

    Attached Files:

    hoofwall likes this.
  2. invisible

    invisible Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flash your BIOS with an unsupported version at your own risk. I personally wouldn't do it. If something goes wrong, it will not be covered under warranty, and any fixes will come out of your own pocket. Just not worth the risk IMHO.
     
  3. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
  4. millermagic

    millermagic Rockin the pinktop

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Location:
    Central New York
    Can't you do this by software?
     
  5. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Unfortunately it's impossible to fully swap FN and CTRL by software.
     
  6. not.sure

    not.sure Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    And I think that's true for all 2010/Calpella/"new" models.
     
  7. Mutnat

    Mutnat Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada, eh?
    Yep, my T510 had it as a configurable BIOS setting right out of the box. One of the first things I did was to enable the swap.
     
  8. pem69

    pem69 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    You are an amazing person, middleton. We shall be eternally grateful.
    Does this support the wake-on-(as-labeled)-fn-press that the newer models' BIOS switch does?
     
  9. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    At the moment my patches don't support waking by pressing FN key but you can wake your laptop by pressing the power button.
    I think I can fix this issue but only if several people will ask me about it because actually, I don't consider it as a problem at all.
     
  10. vince100

    vince100 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just post to say thank you, middleton.

    With your bios I am able to work with thinkpad much more efficiently!

    I feel your work is somehow under-appreciated in the lenovo forum. But don't let that discourage you, It's a work of pure genius!

    You mentioned downgrading to a lower version bios was necessary if the latest bios was already installed. But I read somewhere later it may be possible to use "WINUPTP.EXE -s" to force an update. I missed my opportunity to test it though.
     
  11. pem69

    pem69 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Definitely not a dealbreaker. It's a nice feature, to not have to press the power button - I used to have a laptop that would sometimes decide to turn off, instead of wake up - but I'd take your Ctrl-Fn any day over Fn-Ctrl with Fn-On.
     
  12. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I've disassembled WINUPTP.EXE. You are right: WINUPTP.EXE skips version checking with /s switch.
    So if you get this message "BIOS image file is same as BIOS ROM. An update is not necessary at this time", then create "bios.bat" file with the following contents:

    WINUPTP.EXE /s

    Then run "bios.bat" as administrator.
     
  13. alisadm

    alisadm Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    As someone who isn't a complete novice to making system changes, but not as adept as y'all, could you possibly give a step-by-step to making this change? It's driving me bonkers—what were they thinking???

    And since, unfortunately, I've already updated my BIOS to the most current version, I assume it's gonna be even more involved, right?

    Thanks for doing this!!
     
  14. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    - Download BIOS archive.

    - Unpack it.

    - Read "READ_ME!!!.txt" and follow the instructions.

    - If you get this message: "BIOS image file is same as BIOS ROM. An update is not necessary at this time", then create "bios.bat" file in the folder with WINUPTP.EXE. Bat-file should have the following contents:

    WINUPTP.EXE /s

    Then run "bios.bat" as administrator.

    bios.bat is attached just in case.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. SeattleIT

    SeattleIT Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi Middleton,

    ..just for clarification...

    I own a lenovo S10e:
    is this the same as the S10-2?
    will the S10-2 bios patch work on my S10e?

    If the new bios patch (s10-2)interferes with my S10e's operations, is there a way to "flash back" to my current/original bios settings?

    Thanks!
     
  16. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    S10e is not the same as S10-2. Don't even try to flash S10-2 firmware into your S10e otherwise you'll get a bricked laptop.
    Maybe I'll make the patch for S10e later.
     
  17. ferry

    ferry Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I've rejoiced having a new hope of getting the Ctrl key at the right place when finding this thread :) I'm not sure if this is the right place to place requests or wishes - would you be so kind and patch also the BIOS for the X200s? Thank you very much!

    Here we are the source of the most recent BIOS 3.13 for X200/X200s: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-70347

    I used to develop in the x86 assembler but I could not find anything about how to reassembly a BIOS. You contribution to the community here is greatly appreciated!

    --- Ferda
     
  18. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    OK. The patch for X200/X200s will be ready very soon.
     
  19. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    ferry
    Check the first post of this topic. I've added the patch for X200, X200s.
     
  20. middleton

    middleton Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    SeattleIT
    The patches for S9, S10, S9e, S10e are also available (see the first post).
     

Share This Page