1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Flash Cache Module - Dell Inspiron 1520

Discussion in 'Dell' started by ady_9, Apr 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ady_9

    ady_9 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hello everybody. I bought an Inspiron 1520 about three months ago and recently I started wondering what the "Flash Cache" option in the notebook's BIOS is. I can only set it as enabled when the AHCI is selected (SATA operation) so I guess it has some kind of connection with the hard disk drive.
    I am guessing that it could be Intel Turbo Memory, but I am not certain if my inspiron does have something like that. How can I found out? And if it really dows have the Turbo Memory...do I have to separately install a driver for it?
    Regards, ady_9.
     
  2. nizzy1115

    nizzy1115 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,557
    Messages:
    6,682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
  3. jayno20

    jayno20 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30


    this of course is extremely subjective... i've read reviews saying it doesnt do jack and other reviews praising it for making things faster... personally i've noticed about 10 seconds off of my boot time while using it and if i take the card out of the laptop those 10 seconds go right back onto my boot time..
     
  4. Rodster

    Rodster Merica

    Reputations:
    1,693
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Anandtech did an extensive review on Turbo Memory and said it really offers no significant performance and in fact will hurt performance depending on the application. The OP would be better served installing 4GB of ram which I just bought (Crucial Value Select PC5300) from Newegg.com for $73.98 with free shipping.
     
  5. ady_9

    ady_9 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I haven't seen my RAM more than 70-80% occupied. Would the additional RAM help in this case? (I now have 2 GB RAM and use Windows Vista Business 64-bit) Would I be able to deactivate paging of the files? Couldn't I do that now?
     
  6. Rodster

    Rodster Merica

    Reputations:
    1,693
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I would not suggest disabling your page file in Windows Vista. One thing Vista has in it's favor over XP is memory management. While it looks like you still have a lot of resources you never know if Vista will need the extra resources of the page file.
     
  7. nizzy1115

    nizzy1115 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,557
    Messages:
    6,682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    I have 3gbs ram and have disabled virtual memory (slow access times from the hard drive) and my laptop is much snappier.
     
  8. ady_9

    ady_9 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Nizzy1115, could you please give me instructions in disabling the virtual memory? I will try using the laptop like that for a few days and if problems do appear, I'll just reactivate Virtual Memory.

    LE: So I deactivated paging of file. No difference what so ever...
     
  9. jalalabee

    jalalabee Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Right click "Computer"
    Select "Properties"
    Under "Tasks" on the left hand side, select, "Advanced system settings"
    Select the, "Advanced" tab
    Select "Settings..." under the "Performance" section
    Select the, "Advanced" tab
    Select, "Change..." under the "Virtual memory" section
    Deselect "Automatically manage paging file size for all drives"
    Select your drives, hit "No paging file"
    Hit "OK"
     
Similar Threads: Flash Cache
Forum Title Date
Dell FCM Flash Cache module. + coin cell battery. Nov 28, 2007
Dell is intel turbocache (flash cache module) present in my laptop Nov 26, 2007
Dell Flash Cache Module in XP? Nov 12, 2007
Dell Will Vista work with Flash Cache off? Sep 17, 2007
Dell Flash Cache Module Help Sep 11, 2007

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page