1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

first Dell Precision Mobile to support 3840x2160 desktop screen on HDMI ?

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by notebookvet, May 22, 2013.

  1. notebookvet

    notebookvet Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Want to use for engineering, and is available now: 3840x2160 LCD monitor, 50", Seiki SE50UY04, $1500, HDMI. Also some Sony screens that resolution, cost about 3 times that much.

    Supposedly needs HDMI 1.4. Dell Precision M6700 has HDMI 1.4. But, do they work together, notebook and that screen, at full resolution?

    Anyone got it working? Or tried it saw it not working? Any existing or near future Dell Precision Mobile Workstation able to drive it?

    I am running RHEL 6 flavor Linux. Did anyone try that?

    What video card does work? Both AMD and Nvidia? Tempted to prefer AMD to keep options open for Eyefinity (multiple screens), but I'm not fixated.

    To be clear: Don't want 1920x1080 scaled up, want full resolution 3840x2160.

    Have 2D drawings that size. And long documents. And watching machines and networks.

    NOT interested in video gaming, movies, etc. NOT doing real time 3D rendering.

    Some relevant discussion at How to support a resolution of 3840 x 2160? - Monitors - Graphics & Displays
     
    ygohome likes this.
  2. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Precision Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Michigan
    Should work but I'd love to get confirmation from someone who has tried it. We haven't heard any specific success stories in the M6700 threads, though early on we did hear that this was one of the specific benefits that came from them including HDMI 1.4. Unfortunately, displays with that many pixels are not very widespread.

    How would you like to be the guinea pig? :p

    At 3840x2160 over HDMI you can only get 30 Hz. Shouldn't make a difference for mostly static content.
     
  3. notebookvet

    notebookvet Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would become the guinea pig if I only had to buy the screen, but my maxed out M6400 still has more than a year of warranty, hadn't budgeted for replacement yet. So I hoped someone who already has a M6700 would try and report. Any chance a RHEL 6 flavor Linux (CentOS, Scientific Linux) user too?
     
  4. Krane

    Krane Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Location:
    Florida
    Well if they're lying to us because no one has a UHD monitor yet, then its only a matter of time before someone does (shall we send MythBusters an email?). Until then, the Precisions are said to be more than capable and ready to support that resolution via HDMI or DP whichever is more convenient to you.

    BTW, Dual-mode DP supports HDMI 1.4 to 1080p already. However, your newest dual-mode DP series 1.1 speaks fluent HDMI right up to the maximum and/or DVI with a simple adapter. It does however need a translator (converter adapter) for VGA. So if you have a DP, you're covered all around.
     
  5. adm7

    adm7 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I can confirm that the Dell Precision M6700 (with AMD FirePro M6000) supports 3840x2160 resolution @ 30 Hz using the HDMI 1.4 port on the back of the M6700. It also supports 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz in conjunction with the "Dell E-Port Plus 240W Advanced Port Replicator with USB 3" docking station (Dell SKU / part number 331-7947) if you plug a DisplayPort to HDMI adaptor into one of the DisplayPort ports on the docking station (the docking station doesn't have an HDMI port, so if your display needs HDMI input you need the adaptor, which is inexpensive). I am currently using that configuration (M6700 + docking station, DisplayPort to HDMI convertor) in conjunction with the Seiki Digital SE39UY04 38.5" 4K Ultra HD display. I have been using this configuration for about a month now, and this is a great workstation setup. Previously I was used to using a Dell 30" 2560x1600 display, but a 30" monitor feels small now that I have moved to the 38.5" 3840x2160 display. I am using Windows 7, so I don't know whether necessary drivers would be available for Linux or any other OS.
     
    ygohome likes this.
  6. notebookvet

    notebookvet Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Very cool, thank you so much for that detailed description.

    What DisplayPort to HDMI converter are you using? Might as well exactly copy your setup.

    Dell part number 331-7947 lists compatibility with my M6400, and SE39UY04 is very reasonably priced, and a review at Amazon says how to get it to work in Linux. About to order monitor + dock + converter.
     
  7. Bokeh

    Bokeh Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Make sure you have a high quality high speed HDMI cable. With HDMI 1.4, there are 4 types of HDMI cable now - Standard and High Speed with each available with and without networking. Standard HDMI cables top out at 1920x1080. I have a 5+ year old HDMI cable that works great at 2560x1600 on the U3014 monitor. I think the new "standard" cables are the thin unshielded ones.
     
  8. Krane

    Krane Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Location:
    Florida
    Actually, there is also a new "thin" (lighter) line of HDMI 1.4 cables that are unidirectional. Not to be confused with this earlier thin (cheap) cable version. I have all of them.
     
  9. notebookvet

    notebookvet Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Does anyone here drive 3840x2160 off a Dell dock 430-3114 (the one with two Display Port for US$199)?

    Have ordered Seiki SE39UY04 for a Precision M6400 w Nvidia Quadro FX 3700M (1Gig video card memory).

    Now have to decide between Dell dock 331-7947 which has been reported above to work (and lists DP 1.2 and M6400) and Dell dock 430-3114 which has two Display Ports (use Seiki 39" + Dell 30"?) but which doesn't say Display Port version or M6400 compatibility?

    Does anyone here actually drive 3840x2160 off a Dell dock 430-3114?

    Dell chat says their database for Dell dock 430-3114 says Display Port 1.2, and M6400 compatible. He says it does for sure, he sees it on his screen. But I can't help but having to ask, because the web page doesn't say, and I am just wondering why they'd not show it off. Sure, I can read myself and see they say only 2560x1600, but that was written before 3840x2160 was out, so I discount that detail. Hence, I am asking whether anyone really has used it.
     
  10. notebookvet

    notebookvet Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Short answer re which Dell dock: The 331-7947 is from 2012 or so, while the 430-3114 is from 2008 or before. DisplayPort 1.2 spec per Wikipedia article was approved December 2009. That essentially means, for these 3840x2160 needing DisplayPort 1.2, forget the 430-3114, and use the 331-7947.

    How did I find out their ages? Review dates, when logged in at Dell as Home user. Didn't show when logged in as Small Business user. Why a Dell employee in a chat insisted it was supporting DisplayPort 1.2 beats me. I'd have bought one or the other, same price, there was no $ for him to gain. I even asked if one model or the other was years newer, has said both are new. I guess we are in forums to discuss these things with others who use this stuff instead of call center folk who one can assume don't have these things on their own desks.
     
  11. Krane

    Krane Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Location:
    Florida
    Dual mode DP was designed as to mitigate all this gobbledegook. Look for the DP ++ symbol. If it has it, then you know it can display UHD video.
     
  12. notebookvet

    notebookvet Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    To report success and details:

    I am writing this post on a 2013 Seiki Digital SE39UY04 38.5" 4K Ultra HD display connected to a 2009 (2008 line) Dell Precision M6400 (w Nvidia Quadro FX 3700M) running Linux (RHEL 6.4 derivative) connected via dock Dell part 331-7947 (giving that old notebook a new DisplayPort 1.2) and DisplayPort to HDMI adapter Dell part 330-1271 and cable Dell part A5802058. Nice, very nice, and I can continue using this notebook.

    That specific dock (331-7947), better than Dell's published spec (1 DisplayPort) has like its older sibling "VGA / 2 x DVI / 2 x Display Ports / Serial / Parallel / 2 x PS/2 / 5 x USB / 1 x eSATA/USB port". Why Dell isn't advertising its full capabilities beats me, but I got one.

    The M6400's Nvidia Quadro FX 3700M w 1G video RAM in the M6400 has an older DisplayPort. With this 331-7947 connected is now has a DisplayPort 1.2, which allows it to drive a 3840x2160 screen (and my notebook screen is working too, and I haven't tried using the second DisplayPort because I don't need it right now). Also, I am not into 3D, I do more 2D kind of engineering.

    It was finicky and took me hours, but that was my fault: I am running Linux (RHEL 6.4 derivative, Nvidia driver 325.15), and years ago I had set the machine to use minimal power and underclock the GPU, per Nvidia specific xorg.conf options. I had to remove that, apparently a throttled GPU wasn't able to keep up the high resolution signal. Also, for Linux, now I had to put in an Nvidia specific xorg.conf option:

    Option "ModeValidation" "NoExtendedGpuCapabilitiesCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck"

    Also I think that high resolution screen for me maybe only works reliably in the dock's first DisplayPort, maybe not reliably in its second port. But let's remember we are talking 3840x2160, and I was messing with an underclocked GPU, different cables, etc, I am not sure when it started working. I am typing this on a beautiful, large, stable display, it works.

    I got a notebook introduced in 2008 to drive a year 2013 introduced 3840x2160 screen. Good engineering, Dell, Nvidia, etc!

    And thank you @adm7 for your detailed report in September.
     
    ygohome and Krane like this.
  13. Krane

    Krane Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Location:
    Florida
    That's good to hear. This is the reasons someone would want to buy a machine of this caliber.
     
  14. notebookvet

    notebookvet Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    One more point, to make this workable I had to tell the operating system never to put the display to sleep. Else it was obnoxious about repositioning the screen in wrong relative position when coming back from sleep, not just in a simple way but being quite difficult to get back to workable after coming back from sleep, involving different steps at various times, unpredictable behavior. But, as I am saying, telling the operating system never to put the display to sleep fixed it. Now coming back to it, logging in past screensaver, it is where I left it off. Which you think is normal, but wasn't for me the last couple of days.

    To sum it up in one post, here:

    Dell Precision M6400 (similar to M6500, M6600, M6700, etc) with Nvidia Quadro FX 3700M (1GB video RAM), connected to a Seiki Digital SE39UY04 38.5" 3840x2160 via Dell dock 331-7947 (giving that old notebook a new DisplayPort 1.2) and DisplayPort to HDMI adapter Dell part 330-1271 and cable Dell part A5802058. Running Scientific Linux 6.4 (derivative of RHEL 6.4, similar to CentOS 6.4) 64 bit. At Nvidia driver 325.15. To make this work:

    In /etc/X11/xorg.conf:

    Code:
    # Xorg configuration custom rolled
    
    Section "Files"
            ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
            ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Videocard0"
            Driver      "nvidia"
            #
            Option     "MetaModeOrientation" "Above"
            #
            Option     "ModeValidation" "NoExtendedGpuCapabilitiesCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck"
    EndSection
    On the monitor (sold as TV) tweak some settings. Such as Zoom Mode to Just Scan. And Sharpness to 0. Color and brightness to your liking.

    There was an issue left with after some time the screen going to sleep and being difficult to deal with when coming back, and this was resolved:

    System menu → Preferences → Power Management → On AC Power tab → Put display to sleep when inactive for: Never

    Also I had to undo whatever I had done previously to underclock the GPU. I don't think anyone else did that, no point describing that detail.

    Awesome to work on.

    As an engineering guy with a lot of text and 2D graphics (no 3D), a high end 2008 machine works for me in 2013.
     
  15. cptcorn

    cptcorn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I own a M6600 with AMD M8900 ... Do we share the same version of display port? Mine on the right side of the chassis has the DP++ logo... I connected it directly to the the tv with a hdmi 1.4 cable + the DP>HDMI converter you have. I can't get anything other than 1080p/60hz. Did you have to setup a custom resolution or anything?
     
  16. Krane

    Krane Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Location:
    Florida
    The DP logo is your assurance of compatibility. If you have DP++ then your ports supports the same output.

    You also don't need a converter as a simple inexpensive adapter will do. Not only does DP speaks fluent HDMI, but the process is designed to be automatic. If you're not getting the intended resolution, then the breakdown is someplace else.
     
  17. cptcorn

    cptcorn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I used the dell PN that notebookvet listed above. Which is...
    Amazon.com: Dell DisplayPort (Display Port) to HDMI Video Adapter, Connect or Cable - TK041 / 0TK041: Electronics

    Here is something I wrote on another forum:
    UPDATE
    I set a resolution of 3840x2160@15hz to keep it under the limit and it worked... I can get up to 18hz before it stops working. However, patching the drivers to increase the 165mhz limit and doing 3840x2160@19-30 doesn't work.

    UPDATE2
    StarTech.com DP2HDS came today. Same results as above. I know for sure that this is an active adapter.

    UPDATE3
    The bizlink TK041 I believe is a passive adapter. When I view edid information in CCC switching between the two shows adaptive and passive. Still doesn't seem to want to go past the 165mhz clock speed, even with the patch. Makes me wonder if it's a Raedon vs FirePro issue... would that affect the amd patcher you created at all?

    More Info...
    I tried plugging directly in through my hdmi out port, thinking it wouldn't work, but it did, 3840x2160@18 ... I even tried using the docking station + DP>HDMI both adapters, same results...

    More research... from displayport wiki
    In January 2013, a new VESA specification was released called DisplayPort Dual-Mode Standard version 1.1, which brings dual-mode capabilities on par with HDMI 1.4, allowing a TDMS clock rate of up to 300 MHz... -and- A notable limitation of Type 1 dual-mode is that it can only transmit single-link DVI (and HDMI), as the number of pins in the DisplayPort connector is insufficient for dual-link connections. Also, it is limited to a TMDS clock rate of 165 MHz. As a result, an active converter is needed for Dual-Link DVI, HDMI 1.3+, and analog component video such as VGA.

    Well I have both passive and active, neither go above the 165mhz clock rate.

    FINAL UPDATE
    I just recieved Accell B086B-003B which is a Type 2 active adapter. Everything works perfectly!

    http://www.amazon.com/Accell-B086B-...=8-10&keywords=accell active displayport hdmi
     

Share This Page