First Credit Card

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by usapatriot, Mar 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. usapatriot

usapatriot Notebook Nobel Laureate

Reputations:
    Hey everyone,

I would like to get my first credit card in order to complement my debit card. I am currently a college student and the credit card would really only be used in emergency situations, such as when the debit card would not work or be accepted.

Of course, knowing that the credit card world is full of false advertising, complex terms of agreements and odd terminology, I'd like some first person input on what you guys think is the best, first-time credit card for a student.

2. 2.0

2.0 Former NBR Macro-Mod®

Reputations:
    They are literally almost all the same with the exception of American Express Green card (charge card). Skip that. Paying an annual fee is not worth the "privilege."

So get whatever one has no annual fee from one of the major credit card issuers. Bank of America (MBNA), Chase, Citi, First National, Discover, American Express (credit card version). They all have pretty much the same grace period (~25 days).

3. ramgen

ramgen -- Morgan Stanley --

Reputations:
    Pick the one that has:

1- Lowest APR
    2- No annual fee

--

4. TofuTurkey

TofuTurkey Married a Champagne Mango

Reputations:
    The APR matters if you can't pay on time. I suggest looking for a rewards card.

I also suggest using the card regularly, else it can become inactive. You want to build credit history useful later on in life.

5. DraXxus1549

DraXxus1549 Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    I just got my first and I got the Citi student card, no annual fee and I don't have interest yet because the first 7 months are interest free.

6. Madkid

Madkid Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    @usapatriot