Fan control utility

Discussion in 'Acer' started by trandoanhung1991, Nov 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danja

    Danja Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    57
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I have another question. I played around some with the offsets and discovered that a value of 1 in #94 produces a nice, gentle, barely audible hum and keeps my temps around 50 C when idling/surfing the net/watching Youtube. Is there a way to force this fan value if CPU & GPU temps are under 55 C, and then let the BIOS take over when I'm gaming and break the threshold?
     
  2. trandoanhung1991

    trandoanhung1991 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Absolutely. What you need to do is to open up ACFanControl.ini. Find the lines named ActiveMode, change that to 3. Then, change the following lines:
    ManModeControl=0
    BiosAtManMode= (your value at offset 85)
    ManFanSpeed=1 (obviously)

    Then change then lines ManModeExit=55 and SmartModeExit=55. You're done.

    Note: I'm not sure whether the program will revert back to manual mode. Gotta test it.
     
  3. outSSIDer

    outSSIDer Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Please help me :)

    My laptop is aspire 5715z and i have upgraded the cpu to t9300

    Although i have underclocked and undervolted to 600MHz :D

    the fan is almost always on. Temp never exceeds 35C ! It's stupid :rolleyes:

    Thank You!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. trandoanhung1991

    trandoanhung1991 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can you please open Acfancontrol.ini and change the line to ActiveMode=0?

    And then, take the ss again? ^_^
     
  5. outSSIDer

    outSSIDer Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thank You!
    Here you are, the new screenshots

    I just deleted the // in front of ActiveMode

    do i have to change anything else?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. outSSIDer

    outSSIDer Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I think i did it correct now :D
     

    Attached Files:

  7. trandoanhung1991

    trandoanhung1991 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Please also provide temps too. It'll help a lot:D
     
  8. outSSIDer

    outSSIDer Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Temps reported from RMClock :

    for EC1 600MHz no fan ( it last's only for ~1min before it kicks in again) 33C

    for EC2 2500MHz +2 levels from EC1 ( i can notice a clear loud change as the temp rises : it's 52C ( it doesn't get any hotter)

    But when i used to use throttlestop it reported higher temps! :(

    How can i get accurate temps? ( realtemp, coretemp )
     
  9. trandoanhung1991

    trandoanhung1991 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    41
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can use something like CPUID or HWMonitor.
     
  10. gabosama

    gabosama Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Do you know if this utility works on the AS5750 (I3-2310m)? Thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page