Fake Blu-Ray Drive?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by tekian, Jun 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchetnclank

    ratchetnclank Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    564
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    56
    One last thing.


    Your drivers are WHQL certified right?
     
  2. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,972
    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    we are, but DIY never was supported by the media industry, and never liked for that matter :) and i see how they don't see any sence in supporting such "crazy" special situations, and just say "buy stuff we certify as a whole, then it works". its simple, it works, no user complaints, then.

    this doesn't mean that i think DRM is right, but with DRM as a given, what we see is quite understandable.

    and yep, i would just say "use anydvd" and be happy. I do the same..

    and next year, or so, I'll travel to their island. can't wait. it's a funny island, just check it on google maps :) all the names of the villages and beaches, too much geekness down there :)




    sooo.. have to continue reading the rest of the thread :)
     
  3. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,972
    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    btw, i even use anydvd while all my stuff is fully compliant. and here around, pcs get even sold with it preinstalled.

    why? just in case. as stated before, i have one blueray movie which just doesn't work without anydvd, while all others play well. (james bond casino royale crapedibabedy).

    i have it just to toggle on and off, depending on what doesn't work.. :)
     
  4. yuio

    yuio NBR Assistive Tec. Tec.

    Reputations:
    634
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    to avoid DRM I just buy the DVD/and or Blu ray. and then download the digital version... no DRM. problem solved.
     
  5. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,972
    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    or just use anydvd. just as 'legal' and thus not really to discussion in here, except for stuff like the actual troubleshoot.
     
  6. yuio

    yuio NBR Assistive Tec. Tec.

    Reputations:
    634
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I know that's way I didn't discuss the 'how-to'. by the way from my experience anyDVD doesn't work all the time either. I have it installed on my HTPC and there are still select DVD's that won't play. I'm still waiting for a Canadian website to offer Digital media DRM free at a decent price here.
     
  7. tekian

    tekian Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Yep. My drivers are WHQL. I'm using the same drivers that the other A1 model that comes with Blu-Ray use.

    At this point, I'm near positive it has to do with my Blu-Ray drive not being compliant. Waiting on a response from Ken Lee at GenTechPC to see if they have any drives in stock.
     
  8. dr_korb

    dr_korb Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    16
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Couple of things of note...

    1 - how is the drive identified in device manager? Can you get a valid hardware id off of it?

    2 - you might want to head over to ClubCD freaks forums. Not to disrespect anyone here, but there may be some knowledge, tools, or software available there that we just haven't crossed yet.

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/f142/

    I know that I had an old HP burner once, that was manufactured by Sony, and with a little toolage here, and a firmware flash there, I made my HP back into a Sony. Could be that a firmware update (if the original hardware can be identified, and is compatible) would bring it back into spec to watch regular region 1 BDs without having to fudge the decryption.
     
  9. tekian

    tekian Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Started a thread on CDFreaks as welll.

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/f142/blu-ray-drive-not-hdcp-ready-277383/#post2293882

    As well, here are my Hardware IDs if anyone needs them.

    IDE\CdRomPLDS_DVDRWBD_DS-4E1S____________________ED11____
    IDE\PLDS_DVDRWBD_DS-4E1S____________________ED11____
    IDE\CdRomPLDS_DVDRWBD_DS-4E1S____________________
    PLDS_DVDRWBD_DS-4E1S____________________ED11____
    GenCdRom

    These come directly from the Device Manager "Details" tab for the drive.
     
  10. dr_korb

    dr_korb Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    16
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Interesting info when searching on the error you were getting:

    AVCREC

    "AVCREC is an official lower capacity variant of the Blu-ray Disc used for storing Blu-ray Disc compatible content on conventional DVD discs. This variant is being promoted for use in camcorders, distribution of short HD broadcast content and other cost-sensitive distribution needs. "

    http://it.toolbox.com/wiki/index.php/Blu-ray
     
Similar Threads: Fake Blu-Ray
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Is this intel 6300 real or fake? Oct 19, 2013
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Is my RAM fake? Nov 22, 2012
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Q9705 - Fake or not ? May 2, 2010
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Do you think these are fake hard drives? Nov 14, 2008
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Fake resolution above what screen allows? May 30, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page