1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

exactly what cable is needed for the displayport to work at 120hz or higher?

Discussion in 'Alienware 18 and M18x' started by DumbDumb, Mar 26, 2013.

  1. DumbDumb

    DumbDumb Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,573
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Ok So I bought a new monitor... The Asus VG248QE 144hrz gaming monitor that has 3D... I go and hook it up and blam 60 hz maxs..
    So i Dl the manual and list for nvidia is dual link display only.. you know that white dvi cable thats not missing any pins.. no split in the pins..

    And so I call Asus to ask them to help me set up the monitor thinking im doing some thing wrong.. and they tell me that Nvidia doesnt support 120hz or higher and that you can get up to about 85hz using nvidia.. and they claimed that was straight what the manager called the OCing department..

    And So I called Nvidia.. to ask about are cards.. and they also tried giving me the run around.. they told me that the monitor has to support it for the cards to do it and I explained it did and they asked me how I had it hooked up and I told them via HDMI.. and they 2 told me that none of there cards support 120hz or higher via hdmi.. and that I had to use dvi dual link cable.. I explained that my Alienware did not have that port.. and asked if an adapter would work and I was shot down yet again..

    Im really pissed right right now.. ive had this stupid plan to get the new nvidia light boost 2.0 and a 3d monitor to go with my M18x-r2 and now i cant use it...

    well played sir... well played...
     
  2. littleone562

    littleone562 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,417
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Did you try via nvpanel - setting custom resolutions?
     
  3. TurbodTalon

    TurbodTalon Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,372
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    131
    I thought you had to use display port to get 120hz. HDMI won't hack it. 680M has plenty of power.
     
  4. Codenamefa

    Codenamefa Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    345
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    56
    There should be a setting in the NV control panel to adjust it.
     
  5. DumbDumb

    DumbDumb Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,573
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    81
    oh yea its there.. ive set it.. buuut its a no go.. hence why i called nvidia direct.. they told me that dvi dual link was it.. said display port and hdmi didnt have the band width to support the refresh speeds..
     
  6. TBoneSan

    TBoneSan Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    2,874
    Messages:
    3,200
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Yeah that's the case. Its a HDMI limit rather than nVidia false advertising. Max refresh of HDMI is 60hz @ 1080p. You need dual DVI to get 120hz @ 1080p, or 60fps 3D @ 1080p.
    I've never been too sure of what the cables look like but had a suspicion our m18x's don't have them.
    If that's the case, that's first on my wish list for a r3
     
  7. DumbDumb

    DumbDumb Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    1,573
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    81
    exactly what cable is needed for the displayport to work at 120hz or higher?
     
  8. Irakandji

    Irakandji Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    134
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    31
    We need Displayport 1.2 to do 120Hz plus refresh rates. I am not sure what the 680m / m18x supports. I could not find it in the spec. I suspect 1.1.

    HDMI is a TV/Theater std, and at higher resolutions drops down to 24 or at best 30hz. In reviewing the HDMI.org site they are looking for more pixels, not higher refresh rates. learned this the hard way when trying to get 120 Hz, 3D game play on my TV. The HDMI standard is 720p at 30 or 60 hz. to get higher you need the nVidia proprietary display technology on DVI

    DVI is the computer standard and as we know supports the higher refresh rates.

    If there was a way to maintain my warranty and swap out the 680m's for 7970's I would really consider it. At least I could get eyeInfinity.
     
  9. TBoneSan

    TBoneSan Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    2,874
    Messages:
    3,200
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I think also AMD support frame packing at 1080p 60fps which is supposedly better than 720p.
    Well, if you ever want to change cards you can PM me :D
     
  10. xmadror

    xmadror Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    111
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I was under the impression that our display port could get up to 120hz (v1.2), not really sure tho ... since I could get 2560x1440 out of the miniDP to Dual link dvi active adapter to my dvi-d korean monitor(which require dual link dvi to work) I'd think that 120hz *should* work too with the miniDP. If your monitor doesnt have DisplayPort you'll need the ~$60 miniDP to dvi-d dual link active adapter (not a cheap one).
     
  11. Irakandji

    Irakandji Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    134
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Yes but the frame packing means Left eye, then right eye. 30 Hz per eye. And I believe they still require DVI to do this. BTW this level of 3D support is identical to nVidia if you do not use the nVidia proprietary display technology.

    nVidia supports 3D frame packing at 60 Hz but on DVI only. If you use the display port on the m18x it drops you down to the HDMI std of 720p when using nVidia 3D display even with the $50 software upgrade and a DP to DVI converter.

    I tried to get 3D working well on my big screen but it is pretty bad, 720i on a 65" screen at 10 feet away is .. well .. freakin' UGLY.

    I was really PO's after spending the cash on the 680m's and the nVidia 3D software upgrade, and distrustful enough not to purchase a nVidia 3D 120 Hz display.

    OH wait! @xmadror what active adapter are you using. I would still like to confirm we have DP 1.2 though.
     
  12. xmadror

    xmadror Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    111
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    this is the one I have
    For only $64.40 each when QTY 50+ purchased - Mini DisplayPort | Thunderbolt + USB to Dual-Link DVI Adapter

    But I just read this from the spec :
    so I'm not so sure anymore ... I'd still give it a shot tho. Or someone can send me a 120hz display and I'll happily confirm if it works or not I'll just keep the screen for my work :p
    I dont know anyone with a 120hz display otherwise I could test it :(
    most of my friend got those korean 2560x1440 lcd (60hz) after they have seen mine
     
  13. steviejones133

    steviejones133 Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    7,063
    Messages:
    9,851
    Likes Received:
    864
    Trophy Points:
    281
  14. asims33

    asims33 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Do not waste money on a powered DVI cable.

    I HAVE a 144hz Asus monitor hooked up to my m18x right now, i have dual 6990m cards in it and i am running 144hz (120hz+) using a Mini-Display Port to Display Port Cable they are like 7-15 bucks on newegg. Here is a link to my thread and and like i said im running this setup right now so it works 100%.

    My current desk setup http://forum.notebookreview.com/att...915547-your-m18xs-habitat-20130321_185913.jpg

    And the thread where i discuss 120hz+ and what cables to use

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/ali...0hz-monitor-will-my-dual-6990m-system-ok.html


    And heres a link to the cable i bought.

    StarTech Model MDP2DPMM6 - Newegg.com

    I HAVE a 144hz Asus monitor hooked up to my m18x right now, i have dual 6990m cards in it and i am running 144hz (120hz+) using a Mini-Display Port to Display Port Cable they are like 7-15 bucks on newegg. Here is a link to my thread and and like i said im running this setup right now so it works 100%.

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/att...915547-your-m18xs-habitat-20130321_185913.jpg

    And the thread where i discuss 120hz+ and what cables to use

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/ali...0hz-monitor-will-my-dual-6990m-system-ok.html


    And heres a link to the cable i bought.

    StarTech Model MDP2DPMM6 - Newegg.com

    Yes your 680m WILL run 120+ hz and no you dont need a 100$ DVI adapter you can use a 10 dollar mini-DP to DP cable as shown above :D im using it right now on less powerful cards.
     
  15. Codenamefa

    Codenamefa Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    345
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    56
    See I been using that nvidia 3dtv play program for my vizio and I run at 240hz thru hdmi so I wonder why its not letting you work correctly. Altho what is weird I just noticed since i bumped from 580m's to 680m's I can no longer control the refresh rate of my monitor and I use it on my desktop just fine and it worked with my 580m on my m17x r2 and when i had the 580m's in my m18x.... hmmm I guess the 680m is only capable to work properly with tv's as of right now.... Now my idea of getting a LG 29" cinemawide computer screen might be out of the picture since I can't control the hz.....
     
  16. asims33

    asims33 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30

    240hz? Are you sure? Lol, anyway there is no doubt in my mind the 680s will run 120hz+, may be a driver issue but just change it on the desktop.
     
  17. xmadror

    xmadror Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    111
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    not wrong if you read it right

    and later I was asked for more info about my adapter so I provided it.

    edit : maybe some confusion was added by the 2 threads that got merge*
     
  18. Codenamefa

    Codenamefa Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    345
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Well I been doing alot of reading and that apparently is the flaw with 680m's and looking at what I use to be able to do and what i can do now is completely different, I still have the ability to do my vizio 55" at 240hz, but my Asus monitor that I use with my desktop wont go higher than 60hz and it is capable of 120hz, and now fiddling with it and using the display port it runs at 120hz..... stupid driver malarkey. there is probably a way to make the hdmi recognize the 120hz for the monitor but idk i'm not going mess with it because with the vizio XVT3D554SV it works via hdmi at 240hz even tho the tv runs 480hz. Plain and simple just use the display port and your good by what i have found.
     
  19. asims33

    asims33 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    28
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Ive never heard of any gamer able to get 120hz out of HDMI it just doesnt work, you can read around the net. Your TV is different because they have their own signal booster in them thats why you can pull 120+ hz on your tv and not your monitor.

    The mini DP will get you there np :D and its way cheaper, glad you got it working.
     
  20. Codenamefa

    Codenamefa Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    345
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Ya now we just need to get DumbDumb working now.
     
Similar Threads: exactly cable
Forum Title Date
Alienware 18 and M18x Alienwae M18X R1 - Replacement Sata Hard drive cable required please.... :) Dec 13, 2014
Alienware 18 and M18x Problem SATA Cable or Motherboard Dec 8, 2014
Alienware 18 and M18x Alienware m18x R2 7990m screen flicker problems | No crossfire cable in m18x R2 7970 Aug 1, 2014
Alienware 18 and M18x Issues with HDD Ribbon Cable Jul 3, 2014
Alienware 18 and M18x Check cable connection. No boot device. Oct 25, 2013

Share This Page