1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

error 0x8007000D?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by Sahugani, Nov 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i just got this error with a description saying that the data is invalid. there was a bubble notiification saying windows could not activate. this is a legit copy thru the Asus upgrade program. what do i do?
     
  2. DetlevCM

    DetlevCM Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    4,842
    Messages:
    8,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If its an activation problem, call either Microsoft or Asus.
     
  3. L4d_Gr00pie

    L4d_Gr00pie Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    94
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Erm there are some errors that really get deep in windows.. if you just got the laptop or just installed vista/win7 just try reinstalling.
     
  4. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i know this thread is a couple of weeks old but this is getting annoying. i entered the activation key that was on the back of the sleeve the upgrade disc was in. i have removed all virtual drive software and i still get the message.

    Microsoft Security Essentials says the OS is legal. what to do?
     
  5. DetlevCM

    DetlevCM Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    4,842
    Messages:
    8,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe call Microsoft?
    (Or your OEM)
     
  6. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i feel stupid right now. ive been getting this message AFTER upgrading from vista win7. it started appearing a couple of days ago and i have had win7 for 3 weeks now. this probably clears the mud a little bit.
     
  7. DetlevCM

    DetlevCM Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    4,842
    Messages:
    8,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We had something like this on here before with Vista....

    I suppose you could try searching for it...

    I think Gary would be able to help you more on this - he's digging around the OS a lot.

    My guess is that for some reason a computer at MS decided the key isn't valid... but then the Genuine Advantage shouldn't work...
     
  8. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    bump to the first page
     
  9. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    bump to the first page again
     
  10. gerryf19

    gerryf19 I am the walrus

    Reputations:
    2,275
    Messages:
    3,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Where are you seeing this error? Can we get a screen shot?

    Look in EventViewer for more information (Specifically, windows events > system), Double click the event and copy the results here.

    I would probably, from the properties page, click change product key, type in your key again.
     
  11. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    here is what i got from the event viewer:
    Log Name: Application
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP
    Date: 12/10/2009 12:05:34 PM
    Event ID: 8196
    Task Category: None
    Level: Warning
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: SoulNexus
    Description:
    License Activation Scheduler (sppuinotify.dll) was not able to automatically activate. Error code:
    0x8007000D
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-SPP" Guid="{E23B33B0-C8C9-472C-A5F9-F2BDFEA0F156}" EventSourceName="Software Protection Platform Service" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="16384">8196</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>3</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-12-10T18:05:34.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>16244</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="0" ThreadID="0" />
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>SoulNexus</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>0x8007000D</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  12. gerryf19

    gerryf19 I am the walrus

    Reputations:
    2,275
    Messages:
    3,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I think I would do as I suggested earlier---click the CHANGE PRODUCT KEY, re-enter the cd-key and go ahead and activate.
     
  13. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    well this is rather odd. after entering the key i got the same error as before. on top of that it says ive got 11 days left to activate. im really confused now. here is the little bubble notification i get when the activation fails:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    bumpity bump
     
  15. DetlevCM

    DetlevCM Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    4,842
    Messages:
    8,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What about clicking that window, do you get another window? Ideally with a phoen number to call MS?
     
  16. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    when clicking the window all i get is a windows help window
     
  17. DetlevCM

    DetlevCM Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    4,842
    Messages:
    8,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing helpful in it?
     
  18. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    not one iota of anything helpful

    edit: on an unrelated note my device manager is completely blank. i was going to look to see if i had a infrared remote to disable.
     
  19. Sahugani

    Sahugani Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    just another bump
     
  20. gerryf19

    gerryf19 I am the walrus

    Reputations:
    2,275
    Messages:
    3,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I think you really messed up the install, but how you did it, I can only speculate from what you've said.

    It sounds like you maybe did a clean install with an upgrade disc rather than an upgrade.

    This is actually the first step to doing a clean install. You run the first install without putting in a Product Key, then UPGRADE the first install. That is what I would do now.

    Insert your dvd, windows setup should start, at the menu that appears, do an UPGRADE.

    Basically, method 3 outlines here.

    http://www.winsupersite.com/win7/clean_install_upgrade_media.asp

    DO NOT ATTEMPT METHOD 2. I say this because somewhere along the way you've bulloxed your OS and you don't want to maintain a crapped up OS. Method 3 should essnetially give you a full, new upgrade install of WIndows.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page