EliteBook 8740w Ultimate Upgrade Guide (mSATA mod, GPU upgrade, cooling and etc)

Discussion in 'HP Business Class Notebooks' started by triturbo, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. RMSMajestic

    RMSMajestic Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    114
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    207
    Trophy Points:
    56
    My 8740w is eDP. But I think it will work with LVDS. I'd stay away form optimus and enduro if possible
     
  2. bobmook

    bobmook Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    41
    might be possible but because this laptop has a cooling problem I didnt want to go higher up in TDP/Watt usage. A M2000M has a TDP of 55 Watt, the M3000M is rated at 75 Watt which is considerably higher. I have a M3000M in my own Zbook 17 G3 now, it stays pretty cool but.. Thats mainly because HP finally decided in this generation of laptops to split the cooling and use two fans / cooling blocks instead of stacking the radiators and use one fan. It's bad design if you would ask me.

    So yes, it's probably possible but due to some possible cooling problems I didnt want to go that far. Oh and before I forget, M3000M is a different price class also. The M2000M costed me 70E+20E shipping. The M3000M/M4000M/M5000M are harder to find and most of the time considerably higher priced or.. I can say.. Overpriced.


    I have used a GTX 980m in these machines with no issue ---- the only overheating issue I saw was with a K3000m. The K5100m works with no problem. It was, in fact so good I now use it in my 8770w machine --- It performs nearly as well as the 980m and OS X (all the way up to Catalina) native support as a bonus. I think these machines are damn near bulletproof and since optimus is a complete non-issue I think so long as you use a non HP vbios (i.e Dell, Clevo ) Hp made a machine that is totally future proof far beyond their intentions.
     
  3. Raidriar

    Raidriar ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)

    Reputations:
    1,625
    Messages:
    5,726
    Likes Received:
    4,189
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Confirmed not working with LVDS on M15x and M17x R2 :(
     
  4. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,577
    Messages:
    3,835
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I made an external Sound Processing Unit (eSPU) using eGPU hardware, you can find it here.
     
  5. triturbo

    triturbo Long live 16:10 and MXM-B

    Reputations:
    1,577
    Messages:
    3,835
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Still in development but passed the testing - 12V fans. Using a buck converter and a 12V PWM fan controller got Acer AeroBlade fans running.

    It looks like this at the moment and the schematics are something like this:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2020
    t456 likes this.
  6. NotebookRaziel

    NotebookRaziel Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I upgraded to an M3000M according to this Russian tutorial on YouTube and it seems to work fine, haven't really stress tested it yet though.

    Until now, my only problem is fan speed, it's locked at 100%. In terms of fan control HWinfo didn't work for me, it sais "unsupported operation attempted" when clicking on the fan icon in the sensors window.
    The only program able to detect and control my fan speed I found is SpeedFan. But here, too, I have an issue, and any help would be greatly appreciated :(:

    SpeedFan generally seems to be able to perfectly work as intended with my setup, BUT. It only finds the chip controlling the fan (mainboard?) SOMETIMES when searching through the computer's components after startup. Otherwise, the fan and it's speed are not shown. Only after I had the notebook running for some time and have restarded SpeedFan couple of times, it's able to find the chip again and I can modify it to manually control fan speed.
    How is this possible? Is something temporarily blocking SpeedFan's access to the chip? I have no clue what causes the program to work after some time, the chip just randomly appears. Only thing I can be sure of is that it won't appear in the list right after I reboot the PC.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2020
  7. Fungus99

    Fungus99 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    31
Loading...

Share This Page