1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

E6540 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by Turnbull2000, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. Turnbull2000

    Turnbull2000 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    May as well create a proper thread for this machine.

    I'll kick this thread off with a link to the revised BIOS A02...

    Driver Details | Dell US

    Haven't tried it myself, was hoping someone else would take the plunge first. But saying as there's so few E6540 owners at the moment, it could be a long wait!
     
  2. jdugan4859

    jdugan4859 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I let Dell Client System update to the new BIOS by mistake, but everything seems to be working, so I am not sure if the problem I have when docking is caused by it or not.

    I have swapped out the hard drive to a 256GB msata Samsung drive and added a 750GB WD Black drive as a secondary HD, and will be upgrading the memory on Monday. I can confirm the 1.5v RAM will NOT work in this machine, it has to be 1.35v.

    I did a fresh install of Windows 7 Pro, have loaded all Windows Updates, and am running all the drivers listed on the Dell website, and have updated those from the Intel website where applicable.

    I am having a couple odd graphics problems, these issues are also present using the factory hard drive and settings.

    1. When docked and laptop lid closed, the docked screens do not show Boot process, screens go black and it tells me the support resolution is not supported. Docked monitors are both Dell SP2309W's. If I leave the laptop lid open, boot process does show on that screen, but I would rather not have it open. I can confirm that you can have 2 screens docked, and the laptop lid open, and have display on all 3. As a side note, I did not have this issue on my e6520, it would show the boot screen on the docked monitors.

    2. When Windows comes out of sleep, the laptop display does this strange thing where the color on the screen is very grainy, and the color fills in within a couple milliseconds. The external displays do not do this, so I think this is a screen issue, and not a driver issue.

    3. After the computer has been up and running for about 20 seconds, the screen will flash black, it does this if it is docked or not. Almost like a driver crash.

    Over all I am impressed with this machine. I needed a new machine so I could pass down my e6520, and the added USB 3.0 and being able to use an msata is a nice addition. Currently showing a WES of 7.4, 7.8, 7.0, 7.0, 7.9.
     
  3. Turnbull2000

    Turnbull2000 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Wish I'd known about mSATA capabilities before swapping out the WD HDD with a Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb! It's filled up staggeringly fast, so need to expand available space. Few choices...

    a) Sell Samsung Pro, buy 256Gb mSATA as primary to combine with WD HDD.
    b) Buy HDD caddy, install WD HDD in DVD slot.
    c) Buy mSATA SSD for use as secondary
    d) Sell Samsung Pro, get Samsung EVO 500Gb.

    Ahh man, what a dilemma!
     
  4. Turnbull2000

    Turnbull2000 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Update to the above - I've ordered a Samsung Evo 500Gb, and will sell the Gb 256 840 Pro.
     
  5. TheByteBoy

    TheByteBoy Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Nice to have an "official" owners thread :). Thanks for creating it.
     
  6. TheByteBoy

    TheByteBoy Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I agree the msata option is a great addition to the E6540. I also was in doubt of going the msata route or use a HDD caddy instead of the DVD player. I went the msata path and that worked out great for me.
     
  7. TheByteBoy

    TheByteBoy Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am using a clean install of Windows 8 Pro on my E6540 and do not use a docking station. I do not recognize problem 2 and 3. Using the latest Intel/AMD drivers from their respective websites for the videocards gave me problems with switchable graphics (Enduro). I now use the Intel/AMD drivers from the Dell site and these work fine for me.
     
  8. jdugan4859

    jdugan4859 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Got the 1.35v RAM today, runs like a champ.

    I am thinking about changing to an older driver for the Intel Video, I am on a Version that was put out by Dell on 8/15, they still have the one that was released on 6/4 on the site, so I downloaded that one.
     
  9. greenamg

    greenamg Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks to everyone who posted information on the other 6540 threads. I have installed both the 16GB memory kit and the 256GB msata SSD without any issues.

    jdugan4859, I am also experiencing the black screen flash you describe in your post above. Please post the results of rolling back the video driver. IIRC, the flash issue first happened around 8/15, so it could be the driver. I do not use a docking station.
     
  10. jdugan4859

    jdugan4859 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I will roll back the driver tonight and report my findings. Glad you got the MSATA going, how do you like that 30 second boot?
     
  11. greenamg

    greenamg Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    It's great. Haven't timed it, but its pretty fast. I am almost more impressed with how quickly some of the larger work related programs load. I am already spoiled.
     
  12. TommyboyCAN

    TommyboyCAN Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I too am joining the Ranks of the E6540 owners and also upgrade RAM and added the mSATA. One thing I did notice I did install an mSATA drive and am noticing in Intel Rapid Storage Technology the mSATA is listed as a SATA Transfer rate of 3GB/s. I saw others posted they are getting a full 6GB/s right? Am I missing a BIOS setting somewhere.
     
  13. jdugan4859

    jdugan4859 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Rolled the driver back, no change in funky graphics issues. Guess I will have to call Dell and see what they say.

    I do remember that on my e6520 I had to disable "Optimus" to get the POST to show on my docked screen during boot. That is an Nvidia thing though, and this machine is AMD, and I can't find anything in the BIOS setup under video that I can change.

    Where can you check the SATA speed of the mSATA at?
     
  14. TommyboyCAN

    TommyboyCAN Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I installed the Intel Rapid Storage Application from the dell website and ran that. Click on the HD you want to see and go to advanced.
     
  15. jdugan4859

    jdugan4859 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am showing a SATA transfer rate of 6Gb/s on my mSATA.
     
  16. TommyboyCAN

    TommyboyCAN Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Are you seeing that in the intel app? Which mSata do you have? I have the plexor mxm 256gb.

    Also what mode in the bios you running? (Ahci, raid, other) I'm running AHCI.
     
  17. jdugan4859

    jdugan4859 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    That was from the Intel App, I had installed when I set this thing up, just didn't remember or run it.

    I am running a Samsung PM841 Series MZMTD256HAGM-00000 mSATA 256GB, I have had good luck with a 840Pro in another machine, and this is as close as I could find it in mSATA, it is a tad bit more expensive, but I think in the long haul it will be worth it. It is running AHCI also.
     
  18. TommyboyCAN

    TommyboyCAN Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I just ran a couple other tests and every other one I ran comes up saying SATA III 600. Just the intel app isn't saying it is 6. But with all the tests I ran it is being as close to other benchmarks I have seen so I'm happy.

    I might just through an 840 in there as well! Thanks for the follow up on this.
     
  19. Turnbull2000

    Turnbull2000 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Yay! Samsung EVO turned up this morning an installing now. Wish I'd anticipated space usage better to start with mind.

    I've now got an unwanted Samsung 840 Pro 256GB in perfect condition, all packaging and stickers included. It's had four weeks of use. Any UK users interested for £120?
     
  20. Bluebird20

    Bluebird20 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    31
    That's a pretty good deal for a 256GB 840 Pro. :) Congrats on the new SSD.

    How are you installing the OS on the new SSD? Imaging or restoring from system backup? Also, what was your method when you installed the 840 Pro?
     

Share This Page