E6520 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by pbdavey, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. Beatrice57

    Beatrice57 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi - I'm going to do excatly what oyu did - did you get a 9.5mm drive to work in the hard drive caddy?
    Thanks,
     
  2. Dreamliner330

    Dreamliner330 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    82
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I think the 7mm requirement is limited by the Dell brand caddy. If you buy this one, you can use 9.5mm drives. I currently am using a 9.5mm Western Digital 1TB drive. Works great!

    Just an update for everybody. I've previously complained about the quality of the LCD panel in my e6520. I described it as a 'graininess'. I ordered a replacement panel from Dell and they sent a Samsung LTN156HT01. The one I disliked was a LG LP156WF1.

    The brand and model of your panel can be found behind the LCD panel itself or by using HWiNFO.

    The Samsung panel is much better. Night and day.
     
  3. epsalmond

    epsalmond Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    FWIW, I'm writing this on the LP156WF1 and it looks OK to me. Your panel may have been defective.
     
  4. nissangtr786

    nissangtr786 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    85
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering is an e6520 a lot better then an e6500 speakers and cooling gpu wise? Also how well does it cool an i5 or i7?

    Is the battery life any good on these with 6 cell or 9 cell as in how many hours do they last for?
     
  5. wolfej

    wolfej Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I'm getting a warning at least 2 or 3 times a day that is Event ID: 37 - The speed of processor 4 in group 0 is being limited by system firmware. This processor has been in this reduced stae for 30 (120 seconds is highest) seconds since last report.

    Anybody else have this before and if so is it something to be concerned about? Is there a remedy for it?

    Thanks!
     
  6. truckinguy

    truckinguy Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I've had mine since they first came out. Have always checked and updated drivers. I have a problem still. When I load large files from an external drive via usb or dvd it takes forever and or doesn't complete or stalls. Non responsive.
    Large files inside copy or transfer fast from one folder to another.
    I'd like to do a clean install to were it was from Dell but they want $100 to guide me to do it. The cd given me only has the basic Win 7 and not all the programs for the Web Cam etc.
     
  7. srtdrew

    srtdrew Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Since I can't seem to use the search for the thread, I was hoping that someone here could point me in the right direction.

    I've been trying to upgrade my screen for my E6520 and keep failing miserably and can't figure out why. I have the LVDS cable assembly installed, Dell P/N: MR9MM, and currently have tried two different AUO panels(1 used, 1 new) of part number B156HW02. Both of them seem to have the colors out of phase(I sometimes get red instead of black and red "artifacts" in places, but it never goes away fully). And on a brand new screen that I just received today I have vertical black lines running down the screen along with the red color shift. Here's what it looks like:



    I am pretty sure that the cable is fine as if I plug in my old screen which is a LTN156AT17 everything works just fine. I've ensured that Windows thinks my onboard Intel video driver is up to date. Do I just have an incompatible screen and someone can point me to compatible ones so that I can get the correct one? Are the AUO B156HW02 screens any different from the Samsung LTN156HT01 other than the manufacturer I see listed above that works for another user?

    Any help is appreciated!
     
  8. Ph0enix

    Ph0enix Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    104
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If both new screen has the issue on the same location, I would presume the cable is damage. Using the low resolution screen kinda proved that the other connection isn't correct. So I would double check if the connectors and the wire itself is fine. As in check for cuts, etc...
     
  9. srtdrew

    srtdrew Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I don't know that I can say it's the cable for sure, let me break down the screen issues individually with the LVDS cable:

    B156HW02(used)-red color "out of phase" no lines on the screen as seen above
    B156HW02(new)-red color "out of phase", but not as bad as used screen, but overall seems blurrier than the use screen. However, vertical lines as seen above.
    LTN156AT17(original screen)-No issues at all, just lower resolution

    I would think that if the cable was bad, I would have the same or similar problems with each of the panels, correct? I didn't notice any cuts on the cable when I installed it. It is used, but said it was tested OK from where I purchased so I could always contact that seller if everyone agrees that's what the problem is. I just don't know that I'm convinced it's the cable just yet?

    Thanks again for the replies!
     
  10. Ph0enix

    Ph0enix Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    104
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Well it does seems to be very coincidental that the red colour is affected, reason why I believe it's the cable.
    You stated that the resolution is fine on your lower resolution this is probably because there are two type of LVDS cables.

    Single and dual wiring, hence the reason you have to have part number 'MR9MM' is due to the additional wiring for data. The single wiring is fine, just the dual wiring as there is interference? sending off incorrect data to the screen.

    Or you could be really unlucky and received two faulty TFT LCD, I'm just guessing but if you could get another cable then this would confirm it's the TFT.. but really odd. Also you may have damage or cut the cable accidently while installing the screen?

    I would hope it's not the connectors port, being faulty on the motherboard. But then you wouldn't have much of a picture......perhaps

    Or Dell has manufactured the motherboard connector as a Single LVDS, for cost saving. No matter the change of cable and screen replacement.
     
Similar Threads: E6520 Owner's
Forum Title Date
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision latitude e6520 screen upgrading? Jul 7, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision dell latitude e6520 lcd replacment Jul 6, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision GPU Showdown: Precision M4500 vs Latitude E6520 Apr 10, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Latitude E6520 not detecting wifi networks Feb 21, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision E6520 Owners: What kind of battery life with 9 cell and E-Bay 3 cell batteries? Feb 20, 2014

Share This Page