1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

E6410 wont' hibernate or sleep - hangs black screen

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by caveatrob, Dec 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. caveatrob

    caveatrob Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    My E6410 won't hibernate. I even shut down Dropbox before I issue the sleep command. The screen goes black, the power light is solid, and the wifi is solid. The HD light flickers.

    I have to shut it down by holding Power and restart.
     
  2. Robin24k

    Robin24k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    274
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,749
    Sounds like you need to reinstall Windows...
     
  3. caveatrob

    caveatrob Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Nope. This is fresh from the factory with all drivers and BIOS updated. Reinstalling Windows would take a hell of a long time and put me down for 15 hours of reloading software. People on other forums with similar problems say reloading didn't do a thing, assuming that it's a driver issue.
     
  4. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,602
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,196
    One possible clue: I can get my E6410 to do this if I disconnect an external HDD immediately before hibernating. I often see a gap of a minute or two before doing a safe removal of the HDD and the system reporting that it is removed (which suggests a buggy storage driver / software). Trying to hibernate during the intervening period is to be avoided. I try to remember to hibernate first and then disconnect the HDD.

    However, I haven't tried to see if BIOS A06 has fixed the problem. Update to this version if you haven't done so already. There's a long list of bug fixes.

    John
     
  5. caveatrob

    caveatrob Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Yeah I thought it might be several things:

    1. Dropbox (almost thought that was it)
    2. Webcam (disabled in hardware manager)
    3. Bios (just went to A06 yesterday)
    4. IIS (set up a batch to close that prior to sleeping, no go)

    Who knows...
     
  6. L Bo

    L Bo Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I got my E6410 last week with this problem. Well, hibernate worked but sleep didn't. Dell had me run the hardware test all ok and instructed me to download drivers.

    I installed A06, the latest chipset driver, and a current video driver last night.

    And it worked last night, on and off battery. Even woke after a 1 hour sleep. Today not so much.

    I tried to power off holding power button for 4 seconds and it turned off (thought I was powering it off) and it powered up like waking from hibernate. Must be my power button setting, I don't know.

    I need quick access walking in and out of accounts, never realized how much I use sleep mode on my old laptop and this issue is driving me nuts.
     
  7. Robin24k

    Robin24k Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    274
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,749
    I recently setup an E6410 for a customer, and it didn't have any problems going to sleep (hibernate is disabled). It had A06 BIOS, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Windows-provided chipset driver, and Nvidia 260.99 graphics driver. I don't remember what drivers I had manually installed, but I installed everything needed to make the unknown and generic devices recognized, except for the Broadcom USH, which I disabled.
     
  8. caveatrob

    caveatrob Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Also saw this related to USB power settings for devices that don't support powering down:

    Computer does not shut down properly if Selective Suspend is enabled

    There is one more setting:

    Control Panel\Hardware and Sound\Power Options\Edit Plan Settings

    Click Change Advanced Power Settings

    Scroll to USB Settings

    Disable USB Selective Suspend
     
  9. L Bo

    L Bo Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    The USB was already setup that way, there was an option for "wake with usb" but greyed out. I would have tried that.

    The other setting I don't see Hardware and Sound in my Windows 7 Pro 32-Bit OS, I see sound but that doesn't have power options.

    Thanks, as mentioned eager to try anything (outside of replacement/hardware) to get this corrected.
     
  10. caveatrob

    caveatrob Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Honestly, I've seen this problem listed with some newer Latitudes. I doubt it's your hardware.

    I suspect it's something software related, probably with a driver. Could also be anything running resident, or TCP/IP connections that stubbornly don't want to go. I've seen people mention the following hardware/driver issues that caused this problem:

    1. The integrated webcam driver. I've disabled my webcam entirely.
    2. The wireless network driver for particular cards. Sadly, mine isn't one of them.

    I also run Dropbox and Web Services, along with Developer software, and various Autohotkey scripts.

    Keep us posted on what you find.
     
Similar Threads: E6410 wont'
Forum Title Date
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Newest Latitude compatible with the E6410 keyboard Mar 27, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Latitude e6410 shutting down at random after minutes of use Jan 2, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Latitude E6410 Ram Query Sep 10, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision E6410/E4310 - Can They Use DDR3L Memory? Jul 16, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision E6410 with Nvidia NVS 3100M - aftermarket LCD upgrade? Jan 21, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page