1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

E6410 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by dezoris, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. broctany

    broctany Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have a weird software problem on my E6410 (sounds idiot)... I tried to install several Dell drivers in Win 7 64, such as the Ricoh SD card driver and the Dell systems software (DSS) utility, the process seems normal but after the installer finishes and the system reboots, nothing happens... Especially the DSS utility, it should have some shortcuts showing up and a folder in program files, but they are not there. Just like nothing installed. What I did notice is that the installer goes straight to the step that initialze file-copying process, without showing a step where you can change settings such as installation location, component, etc. It just says click next to install or back to change settings, but when I click back it just goes back to the inital screen without any settings available to change. Any ideas?
     
  2. 5150cd

    5150cd Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The Intel IRST DOES support TRIM on single member RAID drives and drives running in AHCI. It does not support drives in a RAID group, such as two drives in RAID 0.
     
  3. 5150cd

    5150cd Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Not sure if anybody noticed but there is a new BIOS out for the E6410 v.A04. It fixes an issue with users using 8GB of RAM (which affects me) and another issue so I put it on, so far no harm done.
     
  4. Buontinh

    Buontinh Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Does anyone notice that if you go into the BIOS and stay there for a while, the computer would get really hot. It seems to run at full speed or something when you are in the BIOS. Mine is i7 with Nvidia GPU.
     
  5. Zaraphrax

    Zaraphrax Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Australia
    Just downloaded and applied this myself about 10 mins ago. So far so good. I wasn't having any issues to begin with, though. Has anybody actually experienced the issues they described?
     
  6. freeman

    freeman Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I wouldn't say the touchpad is horrible. It's okay, not as good as the one in Thinkpad T-series, but it's far from horrible. If you want to know what horrible mean, try HP mini series touchpad. That's truly horrible.
     
  7. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes NvGPUPro

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Yup... like every computer on this planet.
     
  8. freeman

    freeman Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I don't remember my old Fujitsu Lifebook P1120 w/ Transmeta Crusoe TM5800 w/ 800MHz CPU does that. I remember it was running a lot cooler than Intel counterpart.
     
  9. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes NvGPUPro

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3,136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Oh really?
    Not only your old CPU is only 800 MHz but also single core. It produces much less heat. Looking at the detail CPU specs, it's not even a true x86 processor, and looking at the specs, this is very very weak processor in term of performance (for it's time). It max power consumption is 6W, while your Core i7 is 35W.

    Now, to this add:
    - North bridge
    - South bridge
    - and, GPU.

    When you go in the BIOS, the system is halted. All the UI that you see and menu's are all generated by the BIOS chip itself. In the BIOS menu, your CPU and other processors does nothing. So nothing that they can't execute any power saving features. In fact, it needs an OS to manage this. That is correct, and OS, such as Windows, is more than just pretty interface... it manage your processes, memory, peripherals, hardware, and much more. In fact the interface is actually a very very small portion of an OS. Maybe 10% (estimate).
     
  10. arousal

    arousal Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    No, I think theres a hardware problem with my touchpad, its that bad. Its nearly unusable, I cant even scroll accurately to close windows and such..
     
  11. Zaraphrax

    Zaraphrax Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Australia
    Sounds like it. Mine is pretty good, wouldn't say it's better than my previous XPS's touchpad, but it's certainly more than usual. I prefer the trackpoint over the touchpad, though.

    Does the pointer jump around erratically or is it just awfully sluggish?
     
  12. linuxwanabe

    linuxwanabe Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 8440P seems to have dimmer screen options and much higher prices overall. While there is a single sub-$1,000 preconfigured model of the 8440P, it has a downgraded 1 year warranty as opposed to the 3 year warranty of other Elitebooks. The configurable 8440P model start at nearly twice as much as comparable E6410s.

    HP really doesn't seem very interested in direct Elitebook sales, preferring to sell through resellers. HP reps will even admit that their product isn't competitive in terms of direct sales.
     
  13. another photoguy

    another photoguy Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Which display resolution? 1440 x 900? Or 1280 x 800?

    How does it compare with earlier panels when used outdoors?
     
  14. Dillio187

    Dillio187 Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    I won't even consider the 1280x800 if anything else is available.
     
  15. Paul P

    Paul P Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I find the 1280x800 already bad enough because everything is so tiny on the
    screen. Enlarging things doesn't always work because forms end up with their
    buttons off the bottom. The 1440 x 900 must be even worse in this respect.

    A lot of programs and websites don't take screen resolution into consideration.
    Even this forum is weird on a laptop, some text is tiny and other text is huge
    whereas on my desktop things are about right.
     
  16. freeman

    freeman Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    While that's true, that didn't change the fact that your earlier statement "Yup... like every computer on this planet" is wrong.

    PS: anyone know what I can do to keep the backlit keyboard stay lit, not just wake up when I hit the key?
     
  17. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,112
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Location:
    Swindon UK
    The System and Devices tab in Dell ControlPoint has (for my E6400) a link to a page of keyboard backlight controls where you can adjust both the brightness (I find about 50% enough) and the timeout (5, 15, 30 seconds, 1 and 5 minutes). However, there's no permanently on, perhaps to reduce power consumption when running on battery.

    John
     
  18. another photoguy

    another photoguy Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I could live with either resolution. But can't tolerate reflective panels given that I do 90% of my work outdoors. I just ordered an E6410 based on comments here re the usability of the screen outdoors. If, as reported, Dell has recently changed to inferior panels I would be tempted to cancel my order.

    Anyone with a (new) E6410 care to comment?
     
  19. linuxwanabe

    linuxwanabe Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had both the WXGA and WXGA+ displays, and both have a non-reflective, anti-glare finish. I made a point of testing both E6410s outside, in direct sunlight, on a clear, cloudless day, and even the WXGA display was perfectly viewable. I'm sure a Panasonic Toughbook would be even better in direct sunlight, and I'd be inclined to spring for the E6410 ATG if I did "90% of my work outside," but I found the E6410 to be perfectly adequate. I made a point of using maximum brightness with the WXGA, while with the WXGA+ I used the default power consumption settings.
     
  20. linuxwanabe

    linuxwanabe Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I'll agree that a lot of current websites seem to be optimized for the typical screen resolutions of the 1990s. However, default font sizes can be adjusted within the web browser, although it takes more effort than it should in the various Mozilla browsers.

    From experience, I'm far happier with 1280 x 800, and I've had no graphic driver error messages, either.

    Perhaps 1440 x 900 would be a great default resolution on a 17 inch M6500 or M17x, but it really doesn't offer any clearcut advantages on a 14 inch screen.
     

Share This Page