1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

E6410 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by dezoris, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. Markiz7

    Markiz7 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have another question: what is "Management Engine Bios"?
    How different it is from vPro?

    Thank you!
     
  2. ilkhan

    ilkhan Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    My e6410 (outlet) seems to put out 5x the heat when watching a movie (docked or not), or running dual monitors (on the dock). Is the GPU really putting out that much heat compared to the CPU?
     
  3. draxen

    draxen Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    21
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Quick question:

    Is the E-modular bay on the E6410 SATA II or SATA?
    I'm thinking of putting in a hard drive caddy so that I can run 2x SATA II SSD hard drives.
    Any information is appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  4. milesc3

    milesc3 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Well I just pulled the trigger on the following E6410:

    Latitude E6410 Laptop, Dell WebCam Central 1.0 software, 9 Cell Battery, Primary Certified Refurbished Software Shipping Material 14.1 inch UltraSharp WXGA+ (1440x900) LED Display, Integrated Webcam with digital microphone, Miscellaneous, 160 GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM), Management Engine Bios Documentation, Intel HD Graphics with ExpressCard, No Modem, Genuine Windows 7 Downgrade software, Software Service Software Label, 90W AC Adapter, Roxio Creator 10.3 DE Software CD, Operating System DVD, Trend Micro 16.6 PC-cillin 30 Day Software CD, 4 GB DDR3 SDRAM 1066MHz (2 DIMMs), Palmrest with contact-less smart card reader Power DVD Software 125V Power Cord, Genuine Windows 7 Ultimate DVD, 6 Cell Primary Battery, 60W Intel WiFi Link 6300 802.11a/g/n Draft Mini Card Resource DVD Dell Control Point software Back-lit Keyboard Dell Control Point software Slate Silver Labels Documentation Windows Live Genuine Windows 7 Ultimate 32-Bit Operating System DVD Processor: Intel Core i5-430M Processor (2.26GHz, 4Threads, turbo boost up to 2.53Ghz,3M cache) 8X DVD +/- RW Drive Power DVD Software

    Got the entire system with 2 batteries for $615 after the 25% off coupon, excluding tax and the 3 year NBD Pro Support warranty I purchased.
     
  5. GKDesigns

    GKDesigns Custom User Title

    Reputations:
    115
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Got Windows 7 x64 in there somewhere?

    GK
     
  6. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes NvGPUPro

    Reputations:
    742
    Messages:
    3,136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Dell Canada:
    The Dell Online Store: Build Your System

    Dell Canada doesn't have an Outlet. I believe they ship everything to Dell Outlet U.S, as it's super close together.
     
  7. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,604
    Messages:
    26,277
    Likes Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    531
    You can read the documentation here.

    Which GPU and what movie format? For example, youtube video is rendered by the CPU while modern GPUs can handle h.264 video without getting fully loaded.

    I'm sure it is SATA II - same as internal HDD and the eSATA port. Plenty of people have put an HDD or SSD in the media bay (read the first thread in this forum) and I haven't seen any complaints about reduction in performance.

    Personally, I have concluded that 64-bit Windows isn't worth the possible hassle if only using 4GB RAM. If one encounters any programs that won't run under 64-bit and have to install XP mode then that swallows up at least as much extra RAM as the 64-bit is addressing. If planning to run with more than 4GB RAM then the benefits are there.

    John
     
  8. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes NvGPUPro

    Reputations:
    742
    Messages:
    3,136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Hmm no, really not.
    1- RAM is meant to be used. Weather you use 0% or 100%, it still consumes the same amount of power.
    2- The reduction in RAM addressable can also lead to reduce battery life when in heavy use, as Windows will use the page file (low/out or RAM).
    3- We are in 2010, if you still use software from DOS days, then it's time to think to upgrade it. I am sure at least 1 or 2 version is released, if not better I am sure they are way better alternatives. Also you are delaying the inevitable: Windows 8 will be 64-bit only. It is most unlikely you'll have a problem. 64-bit Windows Vista/7 support has rocketed like no tomorrow since Vista release. Today, about every software out there support 64-bit Windows.
    4- Running a 64-bit OS provides better system responsiveness, which means a possibility in reducing battery comsuption
    5- Ability to run 64-bit programs for more performance per watts
    6- Flash is now available in 64-bit for Firefox, and IE8 and 9 64-bit. (about time). Flash is very CPU intensive. Going 64-bit will greatly help. (same for Java)
    7- Ability to support and address, as mentioned 4GB of RAM or more, and also 2TB and larger drivers (partition).
    8- The RAM increase is minimal going 64-bit, the only loss that you see is because the address of a memory block pass from 32-bit to 64-bit. This is few a few MB lost out of your 4GB. OH NO What will you ever DO!
    Last I check a few MB is smaller than 512+ MB not addressable.
     
  9. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,604
    Messages:
    26,277
    Likes Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Try installing the 2010 version of the program here. Win7-64 won't touch it! And I have various other technical programs which haven't been updated for a long time for which either a 32-bit OS or XP mode is necessary.

    Anyway, I've now stuck 8GB RAM in my E6410 and turned off the paging file. But, for most users with 4GB RAM, I stick to my previous advice. I somewhat doubt if Microsoft will force 64-bit only down customers throat that quickly. They might find that sales disappoint.

    John
     
  10. linuxwanabe

    linuxwanabe Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    145
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably. Keep in mind that the NVIDIA GPU consumes up to 14 watts, which makes it very power hungry for its modest performance.
     
Similar Threads: E6410 Owner's
Forum Title Date
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision E6410 Noisy Headphone Jack Normal? May 7, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Newest Latitude compatible with the E6410 keyboard Mar 27, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Dell Latitude e6410 shutting down at random after minutes of use Jan 2, 2015
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Latitude E6410 Ram Query Sep 10, 2014
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision E6410/E4310 - Can They Use DDR3L Memory? Jul 16, 2014

Share This Page