E6400: DCP control point which to install?

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by bigbulus, Oct 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigbulus

    bigbulus Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Which DCP (Dell Control Point) I should install? I want to control Volume and Display brightness only. Nothing else.

    I do not want to install DCP for security, power saving, etc because last time I installed security and power saving DCP, it caused me disaster.

    If anyone knew which app and if they allow me to install: Volume + Display brightness control only, pls let me know.
     
  2. Greg

    Greg Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,857
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    16,219
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    466
    You don't need to install DCP for them. Download/install Dell's Notebook System Software.
     
  3. AndyBurns

    AndyBurns Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Any pointer to that?

    I can't see it on the resource DVD, or Dell's download area, the version that is for D series refuses to install on E series.
     
  4. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,609
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,347
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    531
    This is for Vista.

    The details say:

    And this for XP.
    This should be the first entry under System Utilities if you look for the drivers for your service tag.

    John
     
  5. AndyBurns

    AndyBurns Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Ah, if only they'd call a spade a spade.

    Given that I'd installed Intel's chipset drivers I avoid installing that as I though it might clash. I'm getting a little less cagey about using Dells own drivers now, as it seems the big problems I was seeing were down to controlpoint and specifically their power management.
     
  6. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,609
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,347
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    531
    I quite agree. " System utility" very much implies an optional extra.

    John
     
  7. AndyBurns

    AndyBurns Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    155MB of download later, I still don't have the pop-up volume/brightness control, are you sure they doesn't require any part of controlpoint?
     
  8. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,609
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,347
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    531
    It wasn't me who said that the system utility contained those functions - I just showed you where the file was.

    The description of the Dell ControlPoint System Manager says:

    You could try installing the Display and Devices module but not the Power Management module.

    John
     
  9. AndyBurns

    AndyBurns Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hmmm ....

    On the factory XP install the compmgmt.msc had a tendency to hang up in the event viewer when switching between different logs. When I did a clean XP install this went away, now that I've installed that system utility bundle, the hanging has come back - somehow I doubt it's going to be removable :mad:
     
  10. jvolpe

    jvolpe Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have noticed that the only way the on screen volume and brightness indicators show up is when i have an external monitor attached. It doesnt work with just my notebook LCD, Once i use an external monitor, the indicators show up on screen but only on the external monitor. That might be what you're seeing as well when you're testing. Try hooking up an external monitor and see what happens. I bet it works as expected. Not sure if there's a setting for it or not. Haven't checked but I wouldn't be surprised to find a setting for which display shows the on screen feedback.

    Hope that helps.
     
Similar Threads: E6400 control
Forum Title Date
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision E6400 and Windows 8.1 ControlVault Driver Oct 18, 2013
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision E6400: Enabling Biometric Devices Control Panel by installing WBF fingerprint driver Aug 24, 2012
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision E6400 internal SATA controller possibly broken? Mar 7, 2009
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Modifying fan controller for E6400/E6500 Jan 17, 2009
Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision Need help identifying exact part # of motherboard for E6400! =) Apr 2, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page