DV6000 bios

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by kdub420, Oct 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kdub420

    kdub420 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm trying to access my bios but when I hit f12 I get a very limited screen-is there a way around the hp gui to the full bios? Trying to load XP on this macine which has the original hd that has been wiped to an unformatted state(no backup disk) need to turn off the sata thing.
    thanx
    kdub
     
  2. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Reputations:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    9,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Please read the stickies before you post. There is an XP install guide there.
     
  3. bmcc

    bmcc Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    137
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    From the xp install guide:

    edit: not sure if this applies to the dv6000
     
  4. R4000

    R4000 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    736
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    It does apply, as the dv6000 lacks this BIOS option as well.
     
  5. vkpascal

    vkpascal Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    2
    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    i think you have to hit f10 or f9 rigt when you boot up, hopefully that helps
     
  6. kdub420

    kdub420 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Lithus-already got that guide-saved and printed. My que. was how to access the real bios as opposed to the crippled hp one. Guess I wasn't clear enough.To
    everyone else that managed to understand my inquiry, Thanx for the help!
    again
    thankyou
    kdub
     
  7. R4000

    R4000 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    736
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    The crippled BIOS is the real one, no way to "unlock" it.
     
  8. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I pressed F10 at boot time to go into the BIOS on my DV6000 and it has an option to disable native SATA there.
     
  9. R4000

    R4000 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    736
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Odd, as mine does not. (version F38).
     
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I stayed on f.16 here
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. bzinck15105
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,085
  2. azerty
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,205
  3. Bog
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    3,175
  4. paid2get
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page