1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

DV6000 bios

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by kdub420, Oct 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kdub420

    kdub420 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I'm trying to access my bios but when I hit f12 I get a very limited screen-is there a way around the hp gui to the full bios? Trying to load XP on this macine which has the original hd that has been wiped to an unformatted state(no backup disk) need to turn off the sata thing.
    thanx
    kdub
     
  2. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Reputations:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    9,789
    Please read the stickies before you post. There is an XP install guide there.
     
  3. bmcc

    bmcc Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    137
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    From the xp install guide:

    edit: not sure if this applies to the dv6000
     
  4. R4000

    R4000 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    736
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,762
    It does apply, as the dv6000 lacks this BIOS option as well.
     
  5. vkpascal

    vkpascal Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    2
    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    i think you have to hit f10 or f9 rigt when you boot up, hopefully that helps
     
  6. kdub420

    kdub420 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Lithus-already got that guide-saved and printed. My que. was how to access the real bios as opposed to the crippled hp one. Guess I wasn't clear enough.To
    everyone else that managed to understand my inquiry, Thanx for the help!
    again
    thankyou
    kdub
     
  7. R4000

    R4000 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    736
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,762
    The crippled BIOS is the real one, no way to "unlock" it.
     
  8. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,017
    I pressed F10 at boot time to go into the BIOS on my DV6000 and it has an option to disable native SATA there.
     
  9. R4000

    R4000 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    736
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,762
    Odd, as mine does not. (version F38).
     
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,017
    I stayed on f.16 here
     
Similar Threads: DV6000 bios
Forum Title Date
HP & Compaq Reset Bios Password dv6000 and Vista Password reset Jul 21, 2009
HP & Compaq Best BIOS Update for DV6000T? Feb 17, 2009
HP & Compaq BAD BIOS FLASH!! DV6000t Feb 5, 2009
HP & Compaq *urgent*HP Dv6000: How to Reformat disk/System recover from BIOS???* Jan 7, 2009
HP & Compaq new BIOS for original AMD-based Presario V6000z, Pavilion dv6000z, dv9000z: version F.40 Sep 4, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page