Drivers Windows XP For VGN-NR110E/S

Discussion in 'VAIO / Sony' started by lflopez79, Nov 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lflopez79

    lflopez79 Newbie

    Reputations:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I wonder if someone knows where can i get drivers for this laptop, i need to install Windows XP Professional.
     
  2. sammyzhr

    sammyzhr Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi
    I downgraded my Sony Vaio VGNFZ240E from Vista to XP. I need help with various drivers like camera, audio device etc., How do I get it? Please help me.

    Sammy
     
  3. amdma2003

    amdma2003 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey, did you already install Windows XP to the Sony NR110E? Because I'm having trouble installing it to the SATA hard drive, and currently I have no operating system, and I also erased the recovery partition.
     
  4. Duckfart

    Duckfart Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Try here:
    http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu-list.pl?mdl=VGNFZ240E&LOC=3

    They are the original so it may not work properly with your FZ.
     
  5. amdma2003

    amdma2003 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Has anyone got Windows XP installed onto the Vaio Laptop? I need help finding and using the drivers for when XP installs.
     
  6. aady

    aady Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey, even i am having the same problem with VGN_NR110E .I have Windows Vista preinstalled on it.

    I am unable to load WindowsXp on my vaio, It says "hard drive" not found.
    When i called Sony support, they say that there is no DOWNGRADE option for this laptop. WTF????????????

    Please help me out
    Thanks
     
  7. amdma2003

    amdma2003 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yea, apparently Windows XP does not support installation to SATA hard drives, and you have to load them from a floppy drive.

    You're going to have to use Vista, or if you're like me, and formatted the laptop, you can use Ubuntu 7.10, but you have to install the wireless card manually.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=512828

    Afterwards, you can use VirtualBox or Wine to install or run WindowsXP.
     
  8. aady

    aady Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am very poor at Linux commands, so i am not i ll be able to get everything working or not..............
    anyways Thanks for the info....

    Please let me know if u have any alternate way to install XP on sony vaio

    thanks
     
  9. roadyforlife

    roadyforlife Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey,

    I'm having the exact same problem with the vgn-nr110e trying to downgrade from vista to xp. So there is no floppy disk, but does any know if we can use a flash drive to load the SATA drivers? And where do we get that SATA driver, i went to the sony site and the only one close to it is motherboard driver. Does that inlcude the SATA?

    -Kent
     
  10. amdma2003

    amdma2003 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Nope, I tried using a USB flash drive, and it does not work. The drivers for the VAIO chipset is located here:
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_results.aspx?strTypes=all&ProductID=2800&OSFullName=Windows*+XP+Professional&lang=eng&strOSs=44&submit=Go%21

    It is number 8 on the list.
    However I have not yet tested it out if it works.
    Again, you must use a floppy.

    Sorry if its not much help...I'm currently using Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy, and its pretty nice. You could try it out if you wish. I highly recommend it.

    Also check out CloneZilla if you wish to backup your current hard disk.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page