Does Intel Wifi Link 5100 AGN support 802.11n?

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by LapBoot, Dec 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LapBoot

    LapBoot Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    What about the DIR 628?
    Also how come this dual band router is cheaper than the DIR 655?
     
  2. foxnews

    foxnews Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    145
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    how do you enable N with intel 5100
     
  3. wlan_man

    wlan_man Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The DIR-628 is a dual antenna router.
    The DIR-655/855 are 3 antenna routers.

    The 628 is a dual band router BUT it can only transmit in 2.4Ghz OR 5Ghz not both
    The 855 can do both 2.4 and 5Ghz simultaneously
    The 655 can of course only transmit in 2.4Ghz

    The 655 and 855 can have heaps of simultaneous connections so if your a Torrent freak this is a huge plus.

    To me the 628 is a waste (like the 4500) using only band is of little use if you have to switch between them.

    In the end you get what you pay for :)
     
  4. wlan_man

    wlan_man Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    you need to go into the device properties then advanced.
    In here enable wide band (or what ever Intel call it) and also from memory there is a 11n enable.

    Not got this card installed as it refuses to work on my E1705 :(
    So can only advice on what I remember while trying to get it going
     
  5. foxnews

    foxnews Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    145
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I set the following:
    802.11n channel width for band 2.4: auto (from default "20Mhz only")
    802.11n channel width for band 5.2: auto (default)
    802.11n mode: enable (default)
    wireless mode: 6. 802.11 a/b/g (default) there is no "n"
     
  6. wlan_man

    wlan_man Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    That should be all that is needed for 11n
    802.11n and channel width 40Mhz = n
    Channel width 20Mhz = 130/150Mbps
     
  7. Hunter78

    Hunter78 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I wonder where you have found the information on the N.
    Then I wonder if Lenovo 3000 N500 4233 series supports N network with the following network card
    Intel WiFi Link 5100 AGN.

    When I linked up with Rauter with N, so I got a speed of about 65 Mbps, but far away from the
    speed of 100-130 Mbit/s +.

    I have spoken to Lenovo and received a reply to update drivers on all that goes too uppdate and see if it works.

    For if I have 65 then I am on N linkage because the G only goes up to 54 Mbit/s.

    So what do you do?

    Someone who knows what to do?
    Could it have something to do with Cpun which is a Dual Core Pentium 2Ghz with 3GB
    framework and Vista Basic. Can your computer to be too weak for such high speeds?

    there is someone who has a similar computer or weaker model and run with
    Intel WiFi Link 5100 GLUME and speeds over 100 Mbit / s

    I bought the computer for exactly 7 days ago at Media Markt in Malmö - Sweden.

    What can I do to have 130 Mbit plus / s, etc.
    I have updated and installed everything that goes to update on the computer but still no higher speed?

    Has also updated Rauter, etc. but no luck!

    All help is welcome!
     
  8. roy33sakic

    roy33sakic Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I I just got an ASUS g50vt-x2 and according to its specs on ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834220403 ) it has 802.11n Wireless LAN.

    I have the same adapter (Intel Wifi Link 5100 AGN) and I messed with the settings quite a bit. Still can't get over 54 Mbps wireless. No idea what I'm doing wrong.
     
  9. alanf

    alanf Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    support 11n?

    Yes - well mine does - Lenovo SL500 - WiFi Link 5100 AGN - OS - XPPro
    I had a problem getting it to work. Only ran at 11b when 1st used - (mixed mode on router) - Eventually got it to work OK.
    - Set router to 11n only, used WPA2-PSK.
    - Configured to use Windows to configure wireless connections
    - START, Control Panel, Network Conections
    - Right click adaptor, select Properties.
    - "Wireles Network Connection Properties window opens" - Clicked on adaptor and then "Wireless Networks" tab.
    - Ticked box " Use Windows to configure my network settings"

    Then clicked on General Tab, and then "Configure"
    - Channel Width - default
    - Channel Width - default
    - 11n mode - default
    - ad/hoc 11b/g 11
    - power mgmt - default
    - QoS - default
    default, default etc
    - Throughput Enhancements - enabled
    - Wireless mode 11g only.

    Clicked "Wireless on button"

    seems to work OK.

    Speed varies between 14 - 140 Mbs
    Thinkvantage Access Connections status window shows "Current Channel" as 6 N - I assume the N is for draft N.
    -
    Oh - yes - 1st updated to latest driver from intel, (did not run the install as this would have installed the Intel connection mgr, I just updated the driver - one thing at a time. - .

    Next I'll set the router back to mixed mode and see what happens.

    What a pain :-(
     
  10. Milkman Dan

    Milkman Dan Newbie

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Found the solution to this. You have to enable AES, because the WiFi links do not work with 802.11n if TKIP is enabled.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page