Do you have a filter mask/respirator to protect you from the Corona virus?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Tinderbox (UK), Feb 24, 2020.

1. Tinderbox (UK)

Tinderbox (UK) BAKED BEAN KING

Reputations:
    I tried to buy some N95 mask from eBay a few weeks ago it was like £15 for a box of 20, But my order was cancelled as they were out of stock.

Buying Masks rated at N95, N99 or N100 or P3 rated or above are a good start according to what i have read.

These paper type masks seem to be very expensive(if you can find any) for something that is disposable.

You can buy re-usable (replaceable filters) rubber masks that are using in industry/diy for the cost of a 10 pack of paper ones.

So i bought myself a P3 rated Re-Usable mask it cost like £25 and comes with 2 filters, My only problem is the goggles as i am a glasses wearer, So for the mean time i just have a pair of safety goggles and i have taped over the vents.

So i am NOT a doctor and or any other type of medical professional and this is just what i am doing to protect myself.

EDIT: N100 Masks or P3 filters are now the minimum recommended, Though N95 or N99 are better than nothing.

EDIT: 2

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 19, 2020
    hmscott likes this.
  2. Fishon

Fishon I Will Close You

Reputations:
    My wife's an RN so we have a lot of them, although I only wear one when I'm moving the lawn or doing some power sanding.

hmscott likes this.
  3. hmscott

hmscott Notebook Nobel Laureate

Reputations:
    Everyone should have a box on hand for lots of reasons. I use them for allergies, when vacuuming is going on, when the leaf blower is in use, during fire season, or when I have a respiratory infection - like the last 3 weeks!, it's good to have a few with you at all times - others might need one and I've given them out as the occasion arises.