1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

DIY eGPU experiences

Discussion in 'e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion' started by master blaster, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. theneighborrkid

    theneighborrkid Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    161
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    655
    If I have a code 12 with my LG p300 what exactly do I do? I'm sorry I don't fully understand your guide :)
     
  2. grojules

    grojules Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Just few words to say that the PE4L with a Radeon HD4670 works perfectly on my Lenovo X200

    Here's my configuration
    - Lenovo X200, P8600, 3GB RAM, 320GB 7200rpm, Win7,
    - Hwtools PE4L with external ATX PSU (will be replaced with a Notebook PSU)
    - MSI Radeon HD4670, DVI, VGA, HDMI
    - 32" LCD HDMI TV

    Just have to suspend the computer, turn on the PE4L, and wakeup the computer, and it works.

    I'm waiting some spare parts to finish my integration in an external 5"1/4 enclosure, and i'll post you pictures.
     
  3. User Retired 2

    User Retired 2 Notebook Nobel Laureate NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    4,127
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    7,897
    Lenovo X200 - x2 link capable?

    Thank you for this update. I've added the X200 to the list on the first post. Based on the X200 lspci output here I can conclude:

    *port1=??
    *port2=wifi (mPCIe)
    *port3=turbo memory (mPCIe)
    *port4=??

    I'm not sure what port the expresscard slot is. It is going to be either port1 or port4, either of which is OK since a x2 link can be done with either port1+port2 (x2) or port3+port4.

    This thread says the X200 has 3 mPCIe slots (likely 2xmPCIE and 1xWWAN-USB) which can be seen by X200 systemboards on ebay.

    Can you check what port your HD4670 is connected to by reviewing Everest Southbridge Output, example linked from a DV2000? Also check what the wifi card is. If together they are port1+port2, then great. If not, try swapping the wifi card until you ID what physical port gives a port1+port2 or port3+port4 used combo.
     
  4. nerdyfred07

    nerdyfred07 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    very cool can't wait :D
     
  5. MexicanSnake

    MexicanSnake Juay de rito?

    Reputations:
    872
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Here are my DIY vidock experiences so far:

    I can ONLY use this setup if I start the PSU and 1 sec later I must start my laptop, I tried almost everything but this doesnt work with plug and play. Overall performance is great but I guess I could get higher scores with more ram. I used my gateway laptop to test this the specs of my laptop are on my sig, the only thing is that instead of 8gb of ram I used 1.5gb cuz if I put 8gb the screen stays black.

    Something curious is that my hd4850 is declocked!, the factory settings are core: 950mhz and memory 2000mhz. I got these speeds: core 685mhz and memory 1000mhz, I overclocked the card but I cant go any further than 800mhz for the core and 1100mhz for the memory... well the performance loss is about 28%, one of my friends told me that with this card and a 2.4 c2d and like 4gb of ram he got 11100 3dmarks(desktop setup)... at 1200x1040 (pictures coming soon)I got 8045 3dmarks.
    So if you ask me about gaming this is GREAT it almost doubled my gaming performance :D, maybe Ill later buy an HD5870 I heard it works nicely at x1 speeds :). Im more than happy this is better than many "gaming" laptops btw temps are more than perfect....

    hehehehehe look at these beauties:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    More benchmarks, info and pics to come ;) :D!!
     
  6. MexicanSnake

    MexicanSnake Juay de rito?

    Reputations:
    872
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Guys here are the RES5 results, I was VERY excited whe I saw this:

    (My Gateway laptop from my sig with 1.5gb of ram resolution:1360X766 NO OC, ALL HIGH)
    [​IMG]

    Btw, guys I tried this with an old vaio laptop with core duo from a friend wich uses phoenix bios, my laptop uses phoenix bios, heck I have only tested this with phoenix bios lappies and it works very nice and all but the laptop screen remains black in all cases! maybe the laptop bios is something important to notice before trying this. :s
     
  7. nerdyfred07

    nerdyfred07 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Save power! :p

    Cool benches :)
     
  8. rdhood

    rdhood Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    I have a different question but one that is most obvious: is anyone actually gaming with this (or Vidock 2)? Can you run this for...say... 2 hours with no hiccups?
     
  9. MexicanSnake

    MexicanSnake Juay de rito?

    Reputations:
    872
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    What about:cool: 6 hours of continuous RES5 pleasure with a nice OC for the HD4850 of 752mhz core, 1100mhz memory and fan at 75%, all done via rivatuner(I love that program). -no suttering, no hiccups, NO slowdowns. Works perfect :).
     
  10. Briam

    Briam Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Got it working on my Sony Vaio VGN-FW21E 4gb ram,2.26 Ghz Core 2 Duo, windows 7 64bit. Had to solder TP1 though.

    3DMark 06 before (ati hd3450): 2612
    3DMark 06 after (club 3d ati hd4670 1gb): 5400

    gonna try overclocking and report back.

    edit: I realised that have absolutely no overclocking experience because I've never had the need for it. Anyone know a good guide for laptops?
     
Similar Threads: eGPU experiences
Forum Title Date
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion DIY eGPU MacOS Experiences May 1, 2012
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion eGPU with Sony Vaio F series Thursday at 10:49 AM
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion Dell Studio 1647 XPS, anyone got an egpu working? Mar 16, 2015
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion Cheap DIY EGPU on OLD Compal HGL31 Jan 13, 2015
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion eGPU for Sony Vaio VGN Z51-XTG Dec 21, 2014

Share This Page