DIY eGPU experiences

Discussion in 'e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion' started by master blaster, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. Gil3

    Gil3 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I could not find the PSU specification of this power supplier ..

    Can you recommend me for a good PSUs that cost a maximum 50$ ?
    I want even less than 50$ if it is possible



    Thanks
     
  2. Leoben

    Leoben Cylon

    Reputations:
    164
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
  3. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Are you sure you already try all combinations of PCI compaction? What is the TOLUD register set to (you should see it at the upper-right corner of the Setup 1.x screen)?

    You can removed the "eGPU setup" boot option by following the instruction in Setup 1.x post.
    TOPOWER Galaxis MX Series GAPS-500MX specification are:-
    FeatureWhat I think?</td?
    Dual +12V RailsNot recommended
    PCI-Express Connector: 1 x 6-Pin, 1 x 6+2-Pin OK
    Output: +12V1@14A, +12V2@14A12V * 14A = 168W: Power too low to power cards like HD5870, GTX560Ti, GTX460


    I recommend getting Corsair CX500 V2 instead. Single 12V rail with 12V/34A (408W). Probably cost around USD 60.
     
    Lasted edited by : May 7, 2015
  4. Leoben

    Leoben Cylon

    Reputations:
    164
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
  5. Leoben

    Leoben Cylon

    Reputations:
    164
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    tolud@3.00GB

    Tried compacting all pci devices: system froze
    Tried compacting just egpu: code 43 after chainloading windows
    Tried compacting just igpu: code 43 after chainloading windows
    (Had previously tried egpu + igpu: code 43)

    I'm not adverse to spending $15 on a 1GB stick of ram if you think it would work.
     
  6. kizwan

    kizwan Lord Pringles

    Reputations:
    1,500
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    With TOLUD 3GB, you should be able to use 4GB+ RAM. In your post, you did mentioned "hook everything up". Did you tried boot without eGPU connected & hotplugging the eGPU in windows?
     
  7. Leoben

    Leoben Cylon

    Reputations:
    164
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Just tried it now, screen went black for a second, then came back: code 43.

    I have previously tried plugging it in with machine asleep, code 43 when I wake it up.

    EDIT: I'm thinking my iGPU is causing the trouble. I believe it can use up to 1GB of system memory. I haven't seen anywhere where I can manually set this though (to say 256MB which is still more than it has processing power to properly utilize). [EDIT #2: I've checked the BIOS - no option.]
     
  8. Gil3

    Gil3 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15

    Thank you.
    This shop shiping to worldwide?
     
    Lasted edited by : May 7, 2015
  9. User Retired 2

    User Retired 2 Notebook Nobel Laureate NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    4,127
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    7,897
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is the Video cards->Initialize and Video cards->Save/Load dump features to eradicate error43. Ensure you are running the latest 275.33 Verde drivers + modded nvam.inf and the PCI reset delay slider on the PE4L 1.5/PE4H 2.4 is set to the 0 seconds position (not 7 or 15 seconds). Then proceed as follows:

    1. Boot eGPU Setup 1.x with 2GB installed, run Setup 1.x, select to Video Cards->Save. If you are hotplugging after bios boot then need to select Video Cards->Save(Win) and follow instructions generated from within Windows.

    2. Install 4GB of RAM. Boot Windows. Create a devcon with 4GB of system RAM installed:
    Code:
    \eGPU\eGPU-setup-mount
    v:\devcon\mkdevcon 
    3. Boot eGPU Setup 1.x,
    - select Video cards->Load to load the PCI space dump created when it was working with no error 43.
    - perform 32-bit PCI compaction on the iGPU+eGPU.
    - select startup.bat->edit, remove the 'call vidinit' since it might interfere with your load dump.
    - select Apply config.Run startup.bat
    - select Chainload mbr

    If still get an error 43, then repeat steps in (3) above but use 32-bitA PCI compaction method instead.
     
  10. Leoben

    Leoben Cylon

    Reputations:
    164
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    It worked!

    Do I have to do all these menu selections each time? (I'm guessing I don't need to edit startup.bat each time but what about all the other stuff?) Is there some way to do all this on boot with zero human input?

    I take it this makes it so I can't hotplug my eGPU? I need to reboot windows when I connect it? (Not really a problem, my hybrid SSD makes reboots pretty fast.)

    EDIT:
    Never mind, I don't need to do ANY of this on reboot AND I can hot plug my eGPU. +1 Nando!
     
Similar Threads: eGPU experiences
Forum Title Date
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion DIY eGPU MacOS Experiences May 1, 2012
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion Alienware 14 eGPU Setup? Jun 17, 2015
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion Thinkpad T410 & eGPU nVidia Quadro K620 not detected Jun 7, 2015
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion Thunderbolt 3 eGPU solutions arriving 4th quarter 2015, mainstream in 2016 Jun 6, 2015
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion EGPU Setup super slow Jun 2, 2015

Share This Page