DIY eGPU experiences

Discussion in 'e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion' started by master blaster, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. waldisley

    waldisley Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Nado4, the following notebooks support (x1 2.0)?

    SAMSUNG RF Series RF511-S02 Notebook Intel Core i7 2630QM(2.00GHz) 15.6" 4GB Memory 500GB HDD 5400rpm DVD Super Multi NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M w/ NVIDIA Optimus

    HP dv6-6033cl 15.6" Laptop Core i5-2410M 2.3GHz, 6GB, 640GB, Bluetooth, Beats Audio, USB 3.0, Fingerprint Reader, Webcam, HDMI, VGA

    For U$900,00 or U$800,00 and 15 or 14 inches what notebook you suggest for eGPU?

    last question, how do you know the chipset of the notebook is a 6-series, with pci-e 2.0?

    thanks for attention
     
  2. pyr0

    pyr0 100% laptop dynamite

    Reputations:
    829
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    56
    All Sandy Bridge laptops with core-i xxxxM or xxxxQM (e.g. i5-2410M, i7-2630QM) have series-6 chipsets.
     
  3. hallucinate

    hallucinate Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm at the end of my patience for this setup... Last year, I had good success that was both solid in performance (for the gfx card) and in stability for six months. Then it suddenly stopped working. Since then I have tried every option I can think of and have been utterly unable to get any gaming system stability (for the same games even!)

    Any time the eGPU system is given "heavy load" I get a black-screen freeze. It is either instant (using the GTX560TI or after 5-30 minutes w/the GT240).

    Here are the scenarios and new components I've bought and tested, in every possible combination:
    1. Soldered a bypass to the PE4H fuse
    2. New PSUs (250W, 300W and 600W); 600W was the new one
    3. New PE4L (had a PE4H)
    4. Three different mHDMI cables
    5. Many different NVidia drivers, including optimus
    6. New video card, Geforce GTX560TI (had GeForce GT240)

    A few eccentricities:
    * did not replace the EC2C
    * PCI reallocation pre-boot is only needed for the GT240
    * the GTX560TI only works if I boot with it plugged in (no pci realloc script is necessary...)

    Any advice or similar experiences would be *greatly* appreciated.

    --
    Update 6/14:
    * After reading the last hundred pages or so of this thread (totally caught up now!) I am buying yet another PSU. It seems pretty likely now, others have had similar stories, that the blackscreening is insufficient power. The (cheap) Diablotek 600W is going back in exchange for a Corsair 430W 80plus AND a 500W (the latter is incase I end up buying additional components for an entire desktop soonish). I am dead serious about solidifying the PSU in the eGPU equation.
    * Nando also suggested swapping HDMI cable but I'm using DVI - this might help someone else though.
     
  4. waldisley

    waldisley Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks pyro0,

    pyro0, some notebooks are available with 6GB memory, but from what I understand the sandy bridge is dual chanel and not triple, as in this situation the performance is compromised?

    tanks for attention
     
  5. sprtnbsblplya

    sprtnbsblplya Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    420
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Finally got my GTX 460 in so I can run x1.opt on the T420, results:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. itman223

    itman223 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    nando4, hopefully you are still keeping track of this massive thread!

    I will be doing a DIY ViDock in the future, I am thinking a GTS 450, for my ThinkPad T400. I was settled on a PE4L, until I saw that the T400 is capable of combining two PCI ports to get x2 bandwidth instead of x1, with the PE4H. Is that correct?

    If so, I have another question. What PSU do I need for the PE4H and the GTS 450? I don't want an ATX, I want a power brick to keep it tidy and somewhat portable. Can you maybe give me a link to an eBay listing or the like for the UK? (where I live) If I am not mistaken the GTS 450 needs a 120W PSU, but I have no idea as far as the diameter of the plug or the voltage.

    How will I connect the PSU the 6 pin connector on the card? If I am not mistaken with the PE4L there was some sort of molex connector that required adapter cables. Is it the same for the PE4H? Again if you have a minute could you find me some listings as an example?

    Thank you in advance. It is great that you have put so much time and effort into this and I hate to be bothersome, but I just don't want to get the wrong stuff. :)
     
  7. wicked20

    wicked20 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    37
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Nando,
    Removed GT525M from nvam.inf per your instructions still shows GT525M in device manager with same result as before Optimus is not working for GTX460.


    Regedit shows that both gt525m and gtx460 seems to have the same values?

    GT525M regedit:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GraphicsDrivers\Configuration\SIMULATED_10DE_0DF5_00000001_00000000_100100^868DC61D80E57DBA8F6A1E2D8D1992B5]
    "SetId"="SIMULATED_10DE_0DF5_00000001_00000000_100100"
    "Timestamp"=hex(b):2b,f7,c4,43,60,29,cc,01

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GraphicsDrivers\Configuration\SIMULATED_10DE_0DF5_00000001_00000000_100100^868DC61D80E57DBA8F6A1E2D8D1992B5\00]
    "PrimSurfSize.cx"=dword:00000400
    "PrimSurfSize.cy"=dword:00000300
    "Stride"=dword:00001000
    "PixelFormat"=dword:00000015
    "ColorBasis"=dword:00000002
    "Position.cx"=dword:00000000
    "Position.cy"=dword:00000000

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GraphicsDrivers\Configuration\SIMULATED_10DE_0DF5_00000001_00000000_100100^868DC61D80E57DBA8F6A1E2D8D1992B5\00\00]
    "Flags"=dword:1301ff87
    "VideoStandard"=dword:00000001
    "ActiveSize.cx"=dword:00000400
    "ActiveSize.cy"=dword:00000300
    "VSyncFreq.Numerator"=dword:0000ea64
    "VSyncFreq.Denominator"=dword:000003e8
    "HSyncFreq.Numerator"=dword:03dfd240
    "HSyncFreq.Denominator"=dword:00000540
    "PixelRate"=dword:03dfd240
    "ScanlineOrdering"=dword:00000001
    "Scaling"=dword:00000004
    "Rotation"=dword:00000001

    ===========
    gtx460 regedit:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GraphicsDrivers\Configuration\SIMULATED_10DE_0E22_00000002_00000000_200100^38772ACB736648AD809FCE54A04F7A11]
    "SetId"="SIMULATED_10DE_0E22_00000002_00000000_200100"
    "Timestamp"=hex(b):79,b9,98,18,64,ff,cb,01

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GraphicsDrivers\Configuration\SIMULATED_10DE_0E22_00000002_00000000_200100^38772ACB736648AD809FCE54A04F7A11\00]

    =====
    3dmark06 SM 3.0 = 7230 for ATI 5870 but only 2000 for gtx460 non Optimus. Why such a big difference?

    Much thanks.
     
  8. User Retired 2

    User Retired 2 Notebook Nobel Laureate NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    4,127
    Messages:
    7,897
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it have an accessible mPCIe slot or expresscard slot?
    If it has Optimus already then monitor this thread to see if wicked20can get an eGPU x1.Opt to override the existing onboard Optimus.

    As pyr0 points out, all Sandy Bridge notebooks (i3-2xxx, i5-2xxx or i7-2xxx) use a Series-6 chipset like HM65, QM67 that are pci-e 2.0 (5GT/s-per-lane) capable.

    x1.Opt outbenches x2 and is simpler. Recommend x1.Opt for your setup. Details of how to do a 12V/120W GTS450 setup is linked from the first post to here.

    PM sent. Briefly, removing existing drivers then disabling the GT525M (VGA adapter now) prior to loading the Verde driver +nando4 nvam.inf (with the removed GT525M) will mean you'd no longer have a GT525M "simulate" registry entry. You'd only have the GTX460 in which case x1.Opt should engage using the GTX460. As you still currently have a GT525M simulate registry entry please re-do these steps.
     
  9. itman223

    itman223 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks. I assume this adapter would work?

    New 12V 10A AC adapter for TV and LCD Monitor (Inc VAT) | eBay UK

    Those pictures helped quite a bit too for the cable setup. Do all GTS 450's have the external power connector? And could you direct me to a guide on enabling Optimus? I need to anyways as I want to use my internal LCD primarily. Also, instead of disabling my Switchable Graphics discrete ATI card with the ViDock Setup 1.x tool, can I just disable it in the bios? Or will that not have the same effect?

    And finally, anything else I should know before doing this? Thanks again.

    Update: Does this apply to me as well?
    If it does what will I need to do to overcome this as that adapter does not have a USB plug.
     
  10. abcanw

    abcanw Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    hello guys ,

    after reading a lot about the egpu experience , i decided to make my own egpu

    and help with my results .

    so i have a toshiba f60 with hm55 chipset , no expresscard port

    but got 2 PCI -Express 2.0 x1 empty slots .

    shown here :-
    [​IMG]

    so i will buy PE4H-PM3N , ATX psu and evga gtx 460 1gb

    just want to ask for your opinions , and whats the best thing to do to get the

    highest performance .

    and will i get get the exact performance if using the same card in a desktop ?

    also big thanks to all who kept this thread alive
     
Similar Threads: eGPU experiences
Forum Title Date
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion DIY eGPU MacOS Experiences May 1, 2012
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion 2014 Alienware 17 eGPU solution? Jul 9, 2015
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion X220 16Gb 1866 + eGPU and 100% CPU Load or black screen issue is solved! Jul 7, 2015
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion Alienware 14 eGPU Setup? Jun 17, 2015
e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion Thinkpad T410 & eGPU nVidia Quadro K620 not detected Jun 7, 2015

Share This Page