DIY eGPU experiences

Discussion in 'e-GPU (External Graphics) Discussion' started by master blaster, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. fkfc

    fkfc Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    If I try to use the ViDock without disabling some RAM, it kind of works for a minute or so, start showing some artifacts and then the system hangs on the infamous blue screen.

    I'm not sure if the best way to do this, but the way it works here is plugging the ExpressCard when Windows is already running, without even putting it on sleep mode - If I insert while it is still loading, the system hangs.

    I suggest trying to reduce the memory setting to a low value, say, 2GB or maybe less if you're brave and then if it works try increasing.
     
  2. ittius

    ittius Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hey everyone

    These are my scores for my Vidock setup with a GTX 560Ti

    System : Lenovo t410
    CPU : Core i5 580M 2.67ghz
    Ram: 8Gb
    Card : GTX 560Ti @ 1x
    3Dmrk6 : 15645
    RE5.Var : 110.0FPS
    OS : Win 7

    [​IMG]

    and for note I'm using a MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II OC 1GB with a 1.5m Mini HDMi cable.

    IF you got any questions feel free to PM me
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ittius

    ittius Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    sorry for double posting but i figured you'd like a more details pic of the 3Dmark scores
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Mech0z

    Mech0z Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I want sandy bridge vidock results naw! :(
     
  5. tpro

    tpro Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I wonder if we can modify Vidock power-adapter for neater PSU solution . (ViDock 4 plus PSU)
     
  6. tpro

    tpro Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  7. Ramizs

    Ramizs Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just got my Power supply today (took 2 days for delivery from Newegg); also, I got my PE4L package today (ordered last Sat, and got it this morning)..
     
  8. acer47ok

    acer47ok Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If I get an i5 laptop with a amd gpu...can I disable the amd gpu...will there be an intel gpu underneath in which I can use optimus setup?
     
  9. ittius

    ittius Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Don't quote me, but Optimus is Nvidia only, so that means no ATI. But thats as much as i know sorry.

    but what laptop are you looking at?
     
  10. drew_heard

    drew_heard Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Wow, this is an amazing thread. Have read through quite a bit, but very confusing!

    I am thinking of up-speccing a Dell XPS M1530 (4gb ram, dual booting into Linux/Win 7)

    Seems to me the best solution would be GTX 460 and x1? And I am likely to run into some issues with 4gb of memory.

    Also a stupid question - when running through an external monitor - does it 'stress' the card any more depending on screen size? (i.e can I run it through the 40 inch TV ok, or would it work better through a 20 inch monitor?)

    Edit: Ok that is stupid - I wouldn't be able to see the whole TV screen up close!

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page