1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Disabling the touchpad on Studio 17...

Discussion in 'Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio' started by Kinghong1970, Jul 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kinghong1970

    Kinghong1970 Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    dumb question, i know... but i jsut can't seem to find my brain today...

    i always use a mouse 100% of the times and honestly the touchpad is driving me nutz when i try to draw and/or use excel...

    what are the ways of disabling the touchpad?

    thanks!
     
  2. Cin'

    Cin' Anathema

    Messages:
    15,410
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    466
    Click Dell Touchpad (should be on the notification area of your Taskbar)

    Then, Device Select (top Left) Click Disable, then Apply, then Ok, and Voila'!!

    You should be Good to Go! :D

    If not on your taskbar, Go into Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Mouse > Dell Touchpad > Device Select > Disable > Apply > Ok...:)

    Cin....
     
  3. Mastershroom

    Mastershroom wat

    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    206
    In that option window, there is also an option to just disable the touchpad when an external mouse is present, so the touchpad becomes active once you unplug your mouse.
     
  4. Kinghong1970

    Kinghong1970 Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    thanks for the replies...

    i'm currently using VX revolution mouse and i don't know if this is the reason but when i open as you said.. i only see the following tabs

    Buttons|Pointers|Pointer Options|Wheel|Hardware|SetPoint Settings

    and under Hardware, the only devices listed is:
    PS/2 Compatible Mouse
    HID-Compliant Mouse
    Logitech HID-Compliant Cordless Mouse

    not sure which one is the touchpad...

    help?
     
  5. Mastershroom

    Mastershroom wat

    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    206
    The touchpad is the PS/2 mouse.
     
  6. Kinghong1970

    Kinghong1970 Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    thanks Mastershroom... i looked under PS/2 Compatible mouse but the button to disable has been greyed out... unable to disable it.

    i can uninstall it tho...

    thoughts?
     
  7. Mastershroom

    Mastershroom wat

    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    206
    When you open the touchpad settings, you should see something like this:

    [​IMG]

    Do you have this window? If you don't have all the options, you may have to update your touchpad driver. Get the one from the Studio 1737's download page (even if you have a 1735).
     
  8. Kinghong1970

    Kinghong1970 Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    yea, i don't get that... i just get the regular window's control panel settings...
     
  9. Reality.Bites

    Reality.Bites Notebook Consultant

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Go to the Dell support site and download the driver. Did you install Windows 7 or something? The touchpad would still work (obviously), but the special driver wouldn't be there. The Vista version will work on Windows 7 though.
     
  10. Kinghong1970

    Kinghong1970 Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    i did not install windows 7... just did a clean install of vista on my laptop.

    funny... i can't seem to run the installer after downloading from dell site.
    buggy monday mornings...
     
  11. Reality.Bites

    Reality.Bites Notebook Consultant

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    A clean install would have the same result - no driver.
     
  12. Kinghong1970

    Kinghong1970 Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    too clean eh?
    well, lemme try to download drivers when i get home...
     
  13. Mastershroom

    Mastershroom wat

    Messages:
    8,206
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    206
    I suppose it goes without saying, but make sure you're downloading the correct driver version. i.e. 32-bit or 64-bit.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page