1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Detected 2 unknown Devices on Network.. How to ping them?

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by Nocturnal310, Oct 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nocturnal310

    Nocturnal310 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    791
    Messages:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the MAC ID of someone on my network: e9:eb:b3:a6:db:3c

    pinging on the designated address i.e 192.168.1.71 tells Host unreachable.


    now how do i scan for the device based on its MAC ID?
     
  2. Shyster1

    Shyster1 Lazy as the Day is Long

    Reputations:
    6,926
    Messages:
    8,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Try installing Microsoft's Network Monitor 3.1; as MS states, it's "a a protocol analyzer. It allows you to capture network traffic, view and analyze it."

    That might give you some more information about the unknown devices you've found. In terms of the "host unreachable" message, I would guess that you're getting that message because the system in question has turned off the functionality to accept pings (it's a common security technique to make it harder for hackers to probe networks - it also has some minor offensive uses as well, apparently:D).
     
  3. blue68f100

    blue68f100 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Messages:
    3,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Look at the routers log, it may tell you more info. At the router you can block the user with a simple rule based on MAC address, then see who hollers.
     
  4. merlin_72032

    merlin_72032 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    117
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Easy answer is you can't. If the device is a computer, and it has firewall on, it won't response to your ICMP packet. You can't use Network monitor either because I assume that you router is acting as a switch, and switch doesn't broadcast the packet unless it doesn't have the device on mac address table.

    Don't forget that switch separates broadcast domain unlike hub. You just have to block or shut down that port. Whatever fits you situation.
     
  5. Shyster1

    Shyster1 Lazy as the Day is Long

    Reputations:
    6,926
    Messages:
    8,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Network Monitor will pick up traffic on the LAN between the router and the other device whether or not the router is broadcasting or sending to a specific IP address.
     
  6. merlin_72032

    merlin_72032 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    117
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    No it won't. You can't possibly capture the traffic between the router either because router separates and stops broadcast. You will see only ARP request, but there is nothing more.

    If you want to capture the packet, you have to mirror the port on the switch or connect the server into a hub.
     
  7. WarlordOne

    WarlordOne Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    99
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    What are you trying to do? If you want to keep people of your network secure it and enable MAC filtering.

     
Similar Threads: Detected unknown
Forum Title Date
Networking and Wireless G62-b15el wireless not detected !! Jan 15, 2013
Networking and Wireless No infrared devices detected Jul 6, 2012
Networking and Wireless Upgraded to Intel N-6200 - no networks detected? May 18, 2011
Networking and Wireless Wifi/Blue tooth device not detected Apr 6, 2011
Networking and Wireless Wifi switch not illuminating when on. Wifi not detected. Apr 2, 2011

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page