Dell XPS 17 (L702x) Thread

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by thisisdom, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. m112

    m112 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    you have to change/turn off power saving feature of intel gpu
     
  2. pmday2013

    pmday2013 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Fantastic!!! Think this has fixed the problem!!!
     
  3. _sP_

    _sP_ Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    For those of you concerned about their non-3D L702X having only two DIMM slots... don't be. Based on my personal experience and research it seems the L702X, with an updated BIOS, has no issues running two 8GB DIMMs. I'm running two Corsair "Value" 8GB DDR3 DIMMS and have had no issues so far (been using for two months). Here's the link to the RAM I bought off Amazon: Amazon.com: Corsair 16GB Dual Channel DDR3 SODIMM Memory Kit (CMSO16GX3M2A1333C9): Computers & Accessories

    Cheers,
    _sP_ :thumbsup:
     
  4. Bubloo

    Bubloo Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    link to glary utilities. ninite.com doesnt have it:(
     
  5. kopap

    kopap Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  6. m112

    m112 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    There seems to be an issue with QuickSet and Windows 8
    In windows 7 there are about 20 settings for brightness in windows 8 only 10 settings.

    I installed Quickset for Windows7 and now it skips forward by two steps by it goes backwards by one step.

    Also I cannot disable touchpad - the small light comes up however touch pad is still usable

    Quickset seems to be buggy right now
     
  7. kopap

    kopap Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    windows 8 dont have the synaptics driver for the touchpad so quickset canot handle the windows driver
     
  8. Kallias

    Kallias Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31

    Just getting my new purchase set up and wonder which version of the BIOS are you using?
     
  9. _sP_

    _sP_ Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Any of the more recent BIOSes should work but I'm using A18. :D
     
  10. xdmds

    xdmds Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    i just got my laptop back from from complete care because they replaced my lcd. But now I'm getting the annoying automatic brightness changing? I made sure the power saving option is unchecked in the intel graphics properties but the brightness still keeps changing automatically?

    EDIT: Also, this automatic brightness changing still happens when the laptop is plugged in.
     
Loading...

Share This Page