Dell XPS 15 Factory Restore..?

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by 240sxer, Nov 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 240sxer

    240sxer Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi guys,

    For dell factory restore, I keep getting a popup asking me to create a CD using Dell Datasafe or save the image on a usb.. I thought you could press F8 repeatedly to access that 15gb image.. why do I need that dvd then?

    Also when I did try to the F8, I only had a repair feature, there was no restore to factory..?

    Thanks.
     
  2. kajouma

    kajouma Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You need to create restore DVDs because your hard drive may one day die or the stored image get corrupted.

    Restoring the factory image is one of the reapir options. If you proceed to the next reapir screen, you'd see it.

     
  3. 240sxer

    240sxer Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I see it now, thanks..

    So after I create this image on a dvde, can I then delete/remove the dell datasafe program? Would that affect the image partition? I see no use of that program once the image is created seeing its not the pro version that actually backs up your data..
     
  4. 240sxer

    240sxer Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    anyone?....
     
  5. kajouma

    kajouma Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I had uninstalled DataSafe. Then tried to restore my notebook to the factory image. The computer couldn't find the image. When I did a system restore to get DataSafe back, I was able to restore my notebook without any proble,. So, from my experience, it seems, factory image restoration requires the presence of DataSafe.

    Restore DVDs do not require the presence of DataSafe because the DVDs are bootable and the image is stored on them, not on the hard disk.

     
  6. compwiz0620

    compwiz0620 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    43
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Weird because when I made the DVDs, it stated I should only use them if the recovery data on the HDD is corrupted or lost. So that to me says you can boot from the DVDs and restore. Guess I could boot it when I get home and see what happens.
     
  7. kajouma

    kajouma Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    3
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You are 100% right! This is exactly what I tried to commuicate in the quoted post; maybe, due to my poor (non-native) English, I failed to express it lucidly.

     
  8. Uruha

    Uruha Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i have a question. I got hit by a virus that completely denied all access to the HDD. I could not use the DVDs i made or could i reinstall a new OS. So my friend completely wiped the whole drive and put on a windows for me. I want to restore my image on the DVD but it keeps saying I need 465GB or space. I have never seen my HDD with that much space. It has always been 451GB. Why is it asking for more space? I made it when i first got the laptop so there was barely any data and they were able to sit on 2 DVDs. So why is it asking for 465?
     
  9. wope

    wope Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Can anyone please help? I am trying to do a factory restore. I created the disc set in DataSafe but they do not appear to be bootable. I receive an error when I try to boot from them. I receive the same error when I try to restore to factory image using DataSafe as well.

    Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. Below is the error. Any ideas?

    I also get this same error when attempting to restore using these directions - Restoring Your Dell Computer to Original Factory Installation with Dell DataSafe Local Backup 2.0 - KB Article - 353562 | Dell

    Status: 0xc000000f

    Info: The boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible.
     
Similar Threads: Dell Factory
Forum Title Date
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Need help restoring dell factory image from hidden recovery partition Apr 27, 2015
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Having trouble starting DELL Factory Restore on XPS Studio 16 Jun 8, 2013
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell intelligent display option on Dell xps 15z Gone after factory reset Mar 21, 2012
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell XPS 15 L502x - Unknown Device from Factory Nov 2, 2011
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Restore Dell XPS to factory settings Aug 1, 2011

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page