Dell XPS 15: core i5 vs core i7

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by knaadhan, Oct 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. knaadhan

knaadhan Notebook Geek

Reputations:
    Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to the forum (but certainly not a newbie to the world of notebooks :p )

I am thinking of ordering the Dell XPS 15 and am really confused by Dell's options for core i5 and core i7.

-RANT-I am very well aware that the quad core i7 (Dell offers atleast) doesn't have an Integrated GPU to take advantage of Optimus. I don't know for what reason then did Dell opt to go for the medium class GT435M card (which is supposed to support Optimus) in conjunction with the i7. They could have chosen a higher performing card from ATI/NVIDIA. Atleast they could have offered the GT435M with the core i5 but Dell shows a compatibility error and allows only the lowly GT420M even though 435M is supposed to work just fine. I don't buy into the 2GB VRAM as I am aware its just a marketing hype.-RANT- :)

Now, I am a hardcore media enthusiast. I rarely play games on my laptop as I have a Playstation 3. I work with photography and watch HD movies a lot and maybe a lot of BluRay's in the future. I don't use high level stuff like AutoCAD, Maya etc. but use Adobe Photoshop regularly and DVD/Blu Ray decoding for playback occasionally.

Considering Dell's stupid options and the fact that I need a laptop now:

1) Would it be better to opt for the Core i5 + NVIDIA GT420M and Optimus? Is Core i5 good enough for Blu Ray playback and Photoshop without any glitches?

2) Is it true that the Core i7 generates a lot of heat due to its 45 Watt power rating? I am afraid if I go with the i7 I might not get a lot of advantages, generate more heat and ultimately damage my laptop.

Any input is appreciated guys! Thanks a bunch! :)

2. Gloomy

Gloomy Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    Yes, the i7 runs hotter. No, of course it wouldn't damage your system!