Dell XPS 13 Ultrabook Review & Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by Scott_RC-TEK, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. noced

    noced Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    It's a blue bar; it says "healthy". Thanks!
     
  2. alphadog00

    alphadog00 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    76
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If you open a command prompt as administrator and run diskpart; then select drive 0, then list partitions, they should look like this:

    DISKPART> select disk 0

    Disk 0 is now the selected disk.

    DISKPART> list partition

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ------------- ---------------- ------- -------
    Partition 1 Primary 100 MB 1024 KB
    Partition 2 Primary 230 GB 101 MB
    Partition 3 OEM 8 GB 230 GB

    If the last 8gb partition is not OEM then you will not have hibernate/fast start
     
  3. jammy86

    jammy86 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Another update on the noise eminating from the laptop that I'm experiancing. Can others try this and let me know if they have the issue aswell?

    With the AC adaptor plugged in and the laptop in sleep (not S3 sleep) a noise comes from the back of the computer (put your ear to the middle of the vent) and from the AC adaptor that sweeps in frequency with the brightness of the LED. I've noticed that the noise is still there without the AC adaptor connected but is much quieter. I can hear this without putting my ear to the back the unit and it's starting to drive me up the wall!


    Also any more info on the Caps Lock light? I've now installed quickset (a fairly useless program IMHO) and the light does not come on to let me know that Caps Lock is on.... Anyone else got this problems?

    For the user who asked about the trackpad icon in the notification area, it doesn't go away for me either no matter what I do.
     
  4. SteveClow

    SteveClow Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    It has the blue bar over it. It also has the "Healthy" moniker attached to it as well.
     
  5. SteveClow

    SteveClow Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Here is My DiskPart output:

    DISKPART> select disk 0

    Disk 0 is now the selected disk.

    DISKPART> list partition

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ------------- ---------------- ------- -------
    Partition 1 Primary 100 MB 1024 KB
    Partition 2 Primary 111 GB 101 MB
    Partition 3 OEM 8 GB 111 GB

    DISKPART>

    I was reading something about Advanced format drives which are essentially just using 4K disk Pages over 512 Byte. Could it be that rapid Start is looking for 4096 logical sectors per physical sector?
     
  6. senseiam

    senseiam Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yikes, that's not very reassuring. :( Hopefully everything goes smoothly this time for you.

    Is this from a cold boot? Warm boot?

    Edit: They have to remove almost everything to replace the keyboard, check it out:

    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/xpsL321x/en/om/html/keyboard.htm#wp1109861

    At this point I am thinking of returning the laptop and asking for a new one.
    It doesn't really seem right that I get sent a defective unit then have to suffer
    the laptop being gutted (not to mention sitting/waiting/watching the tech/do
    his/her job) just to replace the keyboard. If am not not happy with the job
    I will have to return the laptop anyways but what about the time wasted
    with going through the keyboard replacement hassle? It's not my fault the
    keyboard needs replacing, why should I have to suffer? More I think about it
    the more it doesn't make sense.
     
  7. Dell-Bill_B

    Dell-Bill_B Guest

    Reputations:
    2,494
    Messages:
    1,714
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I will try to reproduce this scenario when I get back to the office Monday.
     
  8. SteveClow

    SteveClow Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    For those of you who can not install Rapid Start (As well as those of you who can install rapid start), could you look in your installer log and see what the error was? The Installer logs to C:\Intel\Logs\irstrtsv_Install.

    This is the relevant error that I am getting:
    <code>
    [Scanning drivers]
    Scanning drivers
    Found INF = C:\Dell\Drivers\7NXR2\Drivers\x32\irstrtdv.inf
    Found INF = C:\Dell\Drivers\7NXR2\Drivers\x64\irstrtdv.inf
    [INF Info]
    INF = C:\Dell\Drivers\7NXR2\Drivers\x32\irstrtdv.inf
    * Section <PackageInfo> Key <Name> not found in INF
    * Section <PackageInfo> Key <Sequence> not found in INF
    Date = 06/15/2011
    Version = 1.0.0.1006
    ClassGUID = {4D36E97D-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
    PackageInfo.Name =
    PackageInfo.Sequence = 0
    Manufacturer = Intel,NTx86
    Resolved Manufacturer = Intel
    ! Error locating a device section. Skipping inf
    [INF Info]
    INF = C:\Dell\Drivers\7NXR2\Drivers\x64\irstrtdv.inf
    * Section <PackageInfo> Key <Name> not found in INF
    * Section <PackageInfo> Key <Sequence> not found in INF
    Date = 06/15/2011
    Version = 1.0.0.1006
    ClassGUID = {4D36E97D-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
    PackageInfo.Name =
    PackageInfo.Sequence = 0
    Manufacturer = Intel,NTamd64
    Resolved Manufacturer = Intel.NTamd64
    Inf supports 64 bit.
    Description: Intel(R) Rapid Start Technology Device
    HardwareID = GenericIrstrt_Inst,ACPI\INT3392
    Removed INF = C:\Dell\Drivers\7NXR2\Drivers\x32\irstrtdv.inf
    Removed C:\Dell\Drivers\7NXR2\Drivers\x64\irstrtdv.inf
    ! Didn't find any INF's that match active hardware
    IIF will NOT initiate reboot
    Exit code = 0xA005
    ResultCode = 40965
    <<< 4/07/2012 13:58:46:023
    </code>

    I'm wondering if we're all hitting the same issue, or if there are different issues going on. Still working on trying to figure out what it is trying to find here, hopefully the logs from successful installs will be more fruitful.
     
  9. tak!

    tak! Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Great, thank you very much. Please let me know what you find.

    Cheers,
    tak!
     
  10. tak!

    tak! Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Great, thank you very much. Please let me know what you find.

    Cheers,
    tak!
     
Loading...

Share This Page