DELL v. SONY LAPTOP

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by VEROLOPEZ143, Jan 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VEROLOPEZ143

VEROLOPEZ143 Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    I'm a College Student looking for a laptop, it will mostly be used for Word Processing/Excel & Power pt & internet access

I am not sure how much of what I should get - I have no clue about computers

1. Is Pentium 4 ok, or should I go for Pentium M?

2. How does the Wi-Fi work, is it like a cel phone where I can pay a subscription & get the wireless internet?

3. How large of a HD, & RAM & MB and all that other good stuff?

4. What do I ask for if I want to be able to use it w/ a DSL connection

Thank you for any assistance

2. VEROLOPEZ143

Reputations:
    I also wanted to add does the DVD-CDRW combo act as a CD Rom?

3. srdhkl

srdhkl Notebook Evangelist NBR Reviewer

Reputations:
    1) If you want to save money, Pentium 4 is the way to go. They run fast but will have a shorter battery life. Pentium M is better if you want longer battery life, but generally is a bit more expensive than Pentium 4. Keep in mind that Pentium 4's are actually Desktop chips, and Pentium M's were made specifically for notebooks. If you want an in between you could get a Mobile Pentium 4 (this is different than Pentium M)but this chip is only found in a limted number of computers

2)Wi-Fi (Abaxter and Brian may want to help here) is pretty much wireless access to internet, computer's, etc. For a computer that is Wi-Fi ready, you would have a wireless card that would detect a wireless access point such as a wireless router (which connects you to the internet, via Cable or DSL that you pay a subscription for) or "Wi-Fi" wireless hot spots such as airports and coffee shops that have access to the internet (that are sometimes free).