Dell Studio XPS 1645 laptop RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by nova2012, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. nova2012

    nova2012 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    My DEll studio xps 1645 has the following specifications:
    RAM: 4GB Dual-channel 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM (2 x 2GB)
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM ) I7-720QM Processor (1.6GHz, tu 1
    rbo up to 2.8GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)


    I want to upgrade my RAM to 16GB DDR3. Will it support that much RAM? Also can I add one internal SSD instead of the HD drive?
     
  2. tijo

    tijo Sacred Blame Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,926
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9,509
    Likes Received:
    605
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Yes, the i7-720qm will support 16GB of RAM as far as i know, my i7-920xm does despite Intel's website saying it supports up to 8GB. For the SSD, of course you can do the swap, you will have to reinstall windows and your programs or clone the HDD to the SSD though.

    EDIT: See my last post, seems like the system slows down to a crawl with 16GB.
     
  3. Stalvros

    Stalvros Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I wish to purchase this as well.
    However, what should I say to the shop when I wanted to get it?
    I'm aware there are different types of rams.
    Do I just say, I want to get 16gb ddr3 sdram?
     
  4. tijo

    tijo Sacred Blame Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,926
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9,509
    Likes Received:
    605
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Seems like i spoke too soon: http://forum.notebookreview.com/del...ried-studio-xps-1645-8gbx2-2.html#post8857913. Seems like people are having problems getting 16GB to run on their 1645. I find it strange since it works fine in other laptops with the i7-720qm and one owner reported that it was working fine in windows 8. Seems like 8GB is the way to go if you want to play it safe.

    If there is a problem somewhere, it's not the CPU or chipset.
     
  5. nova2012

    nova2012 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for the reply. But I need to be sure before I buy it. I am not content with 8Gb, but I don't knw if my laptop does or not:D
     
  6. tijo

    tijo Sacred Blame Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,926
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9,509
    Likes Received:
    605
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Unfortunately, it's not something i can test (i don't have a xps 1645), i'd watch the thread i linked to see if a windows 7 clean install does the trick.
     
  7. gpig

    gpig Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Previous topics stated that 16GB will not work.

    Just curious, what were you planing to do with with 16GB of ram on a laptop anyway?
     
  8. nova2012

    nova2012 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    good question... luxury of power:D. More memory means less page file usage... so my hard disk will have less hard times.

    I have decided to buy 8GB. nayway thnks everybody for replying in the thread
     
  9. tijo

    tijo Sacred Blame Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,926
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9,509
    Likes Received:
    605
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Unless you are a power user or have special needs, you shouldn't even fill 8GB of RAM.
     
  10. nova2012

    nova2012 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Ya true, I run 2/3 instances of VS2012 simultaneously with SQL Server and other softwares. I don't want to give too much pressure on my poor 7200rpm HD Drive. Will consider an SSD but 500GB SSD is too costly, 120GB is too less
     
Similar Threads: Dell Studio
Forum Title Date
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell Studio XPS 1640 with 4670 GPU Jun 9, 2015
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell XPS 13 serious issue with all browsers and media players while using Android Studio! May 29, 2015
Dell XPS and Studio XPS touch screen panel for DELL XPS Studio 1647? Mar 22, 2015
Dell XPS and Studio XPS keyboard protector for Dell Studio XPS 1647 Mar 20, 2015
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell Studio XPS 1647 stuck at Dell splash screen + Volume DOWN LED flashing on PSA boot Sep 12, 2014

Share This Page