Dell Studio 1557

Discussion in 'Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio' started by huntersvk, Sep 25, 2009.

  1. Nifkin

    Nifkin Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    55
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Ha ha. I think I could quite possibly have gone for a T9600 or T9900 CPU for the RAW & video processing I do.... but then the i7 QMs declared themselves, and, knowing a bit about the dynamic performance of i7s, I thought I may as well future-proof myself somewhat; it's not as if the i7 QMs are that much more expensive than later C2Ds...

    So what was it that put you off the Envy???
     
  2. Fragilexx

    Fragilexx Get'cha head in the game

    Reputations:
    513
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    The keyboard and trackpad mostly. All the keys are the same size and the keyboard layout is rather different than standard - i.e. where the \ key is etc, and function keys in the wrong place for my liking. Meh, not like I really need a new notebook - but I just wanted a new one. If I don't buy some form of computer every 6 months or so I start to feel jittery :)
     
  3. ignitione

    ignitione Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    My 1557 comes with Vista Home Premium. Will Dell send me a 7 Home Premium 32 or a 64 bits version?

    I guess 64 bits are a must-have for Core i7, right?

    I think I will install Professional 64 bits, the only thing is Ultimate includes "compatibility with Windows XP programas" according to Dell and Professional doesn't, sounds weird. Is it really like that??
     
  4. psathishcs

    psathishcs Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I think DELL is giving 64-bit with DELL Studio 1557 You can check the property of the system by right clicking the My Computer and Selecting Properties from the popup menu.
     
  5. 1337brian

    1337brian Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Yea mine is coming from the factory with - Windows 7 Home Premium, 64bit
     
  6. ignitione

    ignitione Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks psathishcs. I receive it on monday that's why I asked, I still don't have it.

    As for Windows 7 Home Premium features, it doesn't bring the "compatibility with XP programs". Is that feature available as an update (I guess it is the XP mode)? Or do you need to install Windows 7 Professional to have it?
     
  7. SadFatMan

    SadFatMan Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I got my 1557 a few days ago - standard build/1080p/4G Ram.

    I don't like Vista, and so my initial feelings of slower and disappointing are tempered by that. On installing a few of my standard apps, like CS4 it seems to be running slightly quicker than my current machine - M1530/2Gig Ram/5400 hd/t7700.

    I haven't any software to do comparisons, other than using wPrime v1.58. The M1530 T7700 ran the 32M in 42.109secs (showing 2 threads). The 1557 ran the 32M in 15.773secs in winxp sp3 compatability mode (showing 8 threads). I rand the 1024 test and on the 1557 it ran in 502secs - I ran out of patience on the M1530 as it was at 45% in roughly that time. Also running Xilisoft Video converter to convert an AVI to DVD the conversion of the same avi took just under half the time.

    I don't play games so can't help there I'm afraid.

    Subjective comments - the laptop doesn't feel as substantial as the M1530, particularly the base around the vents. It doesn't feel cheap - just not as substantial. Keyboard feels nice (I got the illuminated one) and there is good feedback with no missed depressions. The trackpad and keys feel quite good, with no movement when typing. The optical drive DVDRW not bluray is noisy but not as noisy as the M1530 or M2010 I have. The screen is nice and clear with no fall out if two are looking on - slight fallout for the two bookends if three. I'm glad to see the continuing trend of two headphone sockets, but annoyed at the lack of indicator lights. I find them useful. One thing I have found is that the laptop runs hotter than my M1530 and its a bit like a car. If you switch off the laptop while it's still warm, the fan continues and it won't switch off until cool. A good feature but maybe indicative of possible heat dissipation issues. Saying that - I don't know if any of you had/have a D600 with the hard drive and hand cooking issues - it doesn't seem to get THAT hot! I'm reserving judgement until I get Win7 on - or get the drivers so I can put XP on. It seems to be an evolution rather than revolution but I'm quietly optimistic.
     
  8. psathishcs

    psathishcs Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I dont think that Windows 7 Home Premium as XP Mode it is available only in Windows 7 Professional and Windows 7 Ultimate. But some Windows XP program do run well in Windows 7.
     
  9. Fragilexx

    Fragilexx Get'cha head in the game

    Reputations:
    513
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    That is correct, XP Mode is only available in Windows 7 Professional and upwards. It's not actually included with the operating system, you need to download additional software (that is free); but this software does not run under Windows 7 Home Premium.
     
  10. psathishcs

    psathishcs Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi SadFatMan, Could u pls tell more detail on the Laptop getting hotter
    if the laptop run hotter in the normal use then it would be difficult to overclock the system using Turbo Boost.
     
Loading...

Share This Page