Dell Precision M4800 - Can GPU be upgraded?

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by SengXun, May 30, 2016.

  1. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    642
    Messages:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    699
    Trophy Points:
    181
    I wonder if it sort of works in the opposite manner... Rather than the QHD display removing the ability to enable switchable graphics, perhaps the logic instead is, the option to enable switchable graphics is only presented if the system detects an appropriate display panel.
     
  2. tjanok

    tjanok Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I don't mean to bump such an old thread, but I used this information to install a M2000M from a Dell 7510 into my M4800.
    Everything works, drivers installed, etc. But the nVidia GPU refuses to power the laptop monitor (non-QHD). It only works when I plug in an external monitor.

    Disable Optimus via BIOS, and I just get a black screen. Tried selecting "use high-powered nvidia processor" in the control panel, and still nothing. The M2000M worked just fine via optimus in the 7510... As well as my older K2100, has anyone succesfully gotten it to power their built-in display? YouTube seems to show it does work somehow...

    Thanks!
     
  3. RoOSTA113

    RoOSTA113 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Guys, after a dodgy M2000M didn't work in my M4800, I've since removed the hardware, replaced the K2100M, removed old drivers and re-installed the original K2100M drivers. The original card is functioning normally.

    My PC is still booting up in test mode "Build 7601". yet I'm not sure why it should still be defaulting to this afterall, there's no unsigned drivers installed that should make the PC boot in this mode?
     
  4. tjanok

    tjanok Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You can disable "Test Mode" (assuming this is Windows 7), at an elevated command prompt type:
    Code:
    bcdedit /set TESTSIGNING OFF
    
    As for what I posted above, after spending days on the problem. I attempted to modify another random "section" in the nvidia driver inf. Both sections (section216 & section214) had the same hardware id's. Section214, with the optimus inf flags fixed my issue. For any future Googler's.
     
    alexhawker likes this.
  5. KhronX

    KhronX Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    ... And there's no need to double-post, either ;)
     
    alexhawker likes this.
  6. sedo

    sedo Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Guys, I have an m4800 with an AMD Firepro 5100. Does this mean that I cannot replace it with the m2000m like many people did in this thread? Is there any kind of upgrade path for AMD cards that works on the m4800?
     
  7. KhronX

    KhronX Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
  8. RoOSTA113

    RoOSTA113 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Cheers dude.
     
  9. sprpau74

    sprpau74 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So I meant to post about my success with upgrading my graphics card months ago, and I didn't. But now that I'm having minor issues, now is a good time to let y'all know how its working.

    Currently I am using the INF created by @cmexonat, I also followed his instructions he posted on this thread.
    THIS DOES WORK! I have successfully upgraded my Precision M4800 from a K1100 to a M2000M with great success. The difference is incredible and I was very happy to do the upgrade. I purchased my M2000M used on eBay.

    I am a using the latest Windows 10 insider preview. This forced to upgrade my nvidia drivers, currently I am using 385.90. I replaced the original nvdm.inf with the modified version. The issue I am having is with newer versions of the nvidia driver, in some applications (i.e. premiere & after effects) the drivers will crash and I have to reset in order to use the program again. I'm thinking there may have been more code in the inf that came with the new driver and replacing it with the modified inf may be causing issues. I don't know enough about this to make the changes myself.

    So does anyone know if there is a permanent fix for the M2000M on the M4800? Is there a bios update or something that can be done so I can use unmodified drivers? If not, is anyone willing share with me some instruction to update any new inf(s) with the modified code so I can eliminate these driver issues?

    Any advice would be great. Major thanks to @cmexonat for your instructions and modified inf.
     
  10. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    642
    Messages:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    699
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Are you running with graphics switching enabled or disabled in the BIOS? (Try disabling it if it is not disabled already... You will have to reinstall the NVIDIA driver after this.)

    You won't be able to run an unmodified driver but all you have to do is add a few lines to the INF file, you should otherwise be able to use drivers without any additional changes directly from NVIDIA or Dell.
     
Loading...

Share This Page