Dell Precision 7540 and 7740 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by djdigitalhi, Aug 13, 2019.

  1. heikkuri

    heikkuri Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have now updated totally five Dell 7540 BIOS from 1.4.0 to 1.5.1. Three works OK but two laptops show this kind of Support Assistant message now and then during the startup when WD19DC is connected.
    upload_2019-12-13_23-53-14.png

    WD19DC was connected when I updated BIOS.
    Clearing BIOS events may help. I will try this trick next day. All drivers are up-to-date.
    I have not yet tried to reinstall same BIOS 1.5.1 again.
     
  2. win32asmguy

    win32asmguy Moderator Moderator

    Reputations:
    871
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Hmm maybe there was a bad flash to one of the usb power delivery controllers with the update? I am sure that both would need to function for the dock to be able to charge the system as normal.
     
  3. Virtual Box

    Virtual Box Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Dear heikkuri,

    I need the Old BIOS Version 1.4.0, do you have this File?

    I contact DELL but the Version was removed from all DELL Servers.

    Best Regards
     
  4. Lodde76

    Lodde76 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Does anybody know what kind of screen Dell puts in for Ultrasharp FHD 100%rgb in the 7540? I bought a pre-configured one from a third-party seller. It just has a 42%ntsc panel with a really poor performance and would like to upgrade. The NV156FHM-N4B does not fit from mechanical point of view.
     
  5. xklis

    xklis Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Do you have this specific panel and also tried to install it on your 7540 ?

    As you can see from this post:
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...0-owners-thread.820539/page-283#post-10973779
    he managed to swap the stock panel with exactly the display you mentioned.

    Both 7530-7540 share same chassis.

    i was able to contact a user on this forum who has 7540 with fhd non touch 100%rgb display (but with linux as os) who reported me the following:

    CT3C7 - 391-BENX : LIQUID CRYSTAL DISPLAY, 15.6, UltraSharp FHD IPS, AG, IN, Guar 100% sRGB.

    Model: "CT3C7 156HCA LCD Monitor"
    Vendor: CMN "CT3C7 156HCA"

    He also stated that when turned it on for the first time, there was the ability to use HDR display.
    So it should be 8-bit.

    I tried to search "156HCA" at panelook and as you can see from this link:
    http://www.panelook.com/modelsearch.php?keyword=n156hca
    the only 8bit panel (N156HCA-EAB) is 45% ntsc
    while N156HCA-GA3 is 400nits + 72%ntsc (same thing as 100% srgb) but 6-bit.

    So it's either a typo on the website or the panel just being a new released version not registered yet.

    The only 15.6" innolux panel with 72%ntsc + 8bit i was able to find on panelook is this:
    N156HCE-GN1
    http://www.panelook.com/modeldetail.php?id=41166
    used by lenovo on P53
    https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenov...n-with-a-lot-of-GPU-performance.442599.0.html
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
    win32asmguy likes this.
  6. heikkuri

    heikkuri Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here is link to BIOS 1.4.0 https://1drv.ms/u/s!AlI8JlQnPjlWlPgGye5P0nwFSF3JdQ?e=sMML9I

    I have patched again BIOS 1.5.1 to two problem PC. So far everything is OK. But I have just tested few hours.

    To prevent network problems with WD19DC, I use High performance power plan.
    This can be activated like this
    powercfg -setactive SCHEME_MIN

    Few powercfg commands

    To See Your Current Active Power Plan Scheme
    powercfg -GetActiveScheme

    To See All Power Plan Schemes
    powercfg -list

    Show alias names
    powercfg.exe -aliases

    Show hidden alias names
    powercfg.exe -aliasesh
     
  7. AlCappucino

    AlCappucino Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I can confirm my screen is the same as the one that user acemanhiflier reported with the picture. I used the same thing and got the same result.

    However, my screen spec is the following:

    15.6" UltraSharp FHD IPS, 1920x1080 AG, NT, w/Prem Panel Guar 100% sRGB
    15.6" FHD Non-touch, WLAN/WWAN Cover
    15.6" FHD Non-touch, Cam/Mic Bezel

    I can't really confirm whether it is glossy with AG or just regular old matte.
     
  8. eprst

    eprst Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think my throttling battle is over.
    Ended up using liquid metal. Not experiencing problems like the ones mentioned by @Hopper82. Overall I find it easier to use that the regular toothpaste, with all the precautions of course. Correct heatsink seating was crucial for me, it took over 15 attempts to get it right, so that I'm getting <10C spread across cores under load.

    Next came power throttling. I think PL1 was set to 60W in 1.4.0 and to 75W in 1.5.1, at least that's what I was getting after 28s, which means 3.8GHz on all-core load.

    It turns out that MSR 0x610 (MSR_PKG_POWER_LIMIT) is unlocked, which means that power limits can be changed. Throttled can do it on Linux, and I was able to set both to 100W. All-core load now stays at 4.2GHz for unlimited time, consuming about 85W. Frequency is limited by MSR_TURBO_RATIO_LIMIT now, and I don't want to mess with it as I'm already hitting 92C.

    CPUID(0): GenuineIntel 0x16 CPUID levels; 0x80000008 xlevels; family:model:stepping 0x6:9e:d (6:158:13)
    CPUID(1): SSE3 MONITOR - EIST TM2 TSC MSR ACPI-TM HT TM
    CPUID(6): APERF, TURBO, DTS, PTM, HWP, HWPnotify, HWPwindow, HWPepp, No-HWPpkg, EPB
    cpu12: MSR_IA32_MISC_ENABLE: 0x00850089 (TCC EIST MWAIT PREFETCH TURBO)
    CPUID(7): SGX
    cpu12: MSR_IA32_FEATURE_CONTROL: 0x00020005 (Locked )
    CPUID(0x15): eax_crystal: 2 ebx_tsc: 200 ecx_crystal_hz: 0
    TSC: 2400 MHz (24000000 Hz * 200 / 2 / 1000000)
    CPUID(0x16): base_mhz: 2400 max_mhz: 5000 bus_mhz: 100
    cpu12: MSR_MISC_PWR_MGMT: 0x00401cc0 (ENable-EIST_Coordination DISable-EPB DISable-OOB)
    RAPL: 5825 sec. Joule Counter Range, at 45 Watts
    cpu12: MSR_PLATFORM_INFO: 0x80839f1011800
    8 * 100.0 = 800.0 MHz max efficiency frequency
    24 * 100.0 = 2400.0 MHz base frequency
    cpu12: MSR_IA32_POWER_CTL: 0x002c005f (C1E auto-promotion: ENabled)
    cpu12: MSR_TURBO_RATIO_LIMIT: 0x2a2c2d2e2f303132
    42 * 100.0 = 4200.0 MHz max turbo 8 active cores
    44 * 100.0 = 4400.0 MHz max turbo 7 active cores
    45 * 100.0 = 4500.0 MHz max turbo 6 active cores
    46 * 100.0 = 4600.0 MHz max turbo 5 active cores
    47 * 100.0 = 4700.0 MHz max turbo 4 active cores
    48 * 100.0 = 4800.0 MHz max turbo 3 active cores
    49 * 100.0 = 4900.0 MHz max turbo 2 active cores
    50 * 100.0 = 5000.0 MHz max turbo 1 active cores
    cpu12: MSR_CONFIG_TDP_NOMINAL: 0x00000018 (base_ratio=24)
    cpu12: MSR_CONFIG_TDP_LEVEL_1: 0x00000000 ()
    cpu12: MSR_CONFIG_TDP_LEVEL_2: 0x00000000 ()
    cpu12: MSR_CONFIG_TDP_CONTROL: 0x80000000 ( lock=1)
    cpu12: MSR_TURBO_ACTIVATION_RATIO: 0x00000000 (MAX_NON_TURBO_RATIO=0 lock=0)
    cpu12: MSR_PKG_CST_CONFIG_CONTROL: 0x1e008008 (UNdemote-C3, UNdemote-C1, demote-C3, demote-C1, locked, pkg-cstate-limit=8 (unlimited))
    cpu12: POLL: CPUIDLE CORE POLL IDLE
    cpu12: C1: MWAIT 0x00
    cpu12: C1E: MWAIT 0x01
    cpu12: C3: MWAIT 0x10
    cpu12: C6: MWAIT 0x20
    cpu12: C7s: MWAIT 0x33
    cpu12: C8: MWAIT 0x40
    cpu12: C9: MWAIT 0x50
    cpu12: C10: MWAIT 0x60
    cpu12: cpufreq driver: intel_pstate
    cpu12: cpufreq governor: powersave
    cpufreq intel_pstate no_turbo: 0
    cpu12: MSR_MISC_FEATURE_CONTROL: 0x00000000 (L2-Prefetch L2-Prefetch-pair L1-Prefetch L1-IP-Prefetch)
    cpu0: MSR_PM_ENABLE: 0x00000001 (HWP)
    cpu0: MSR_HWP_CAPABILITIES: 0x01091832 (high 50 guar 24 eff 9 low 1)
    cpu0: MSR_HWP_REQUEST: 0x80003208 (min 8 max 50 des 0 epp 0x80 window 0x0 pkg 0x0)
    cpu0: MSR_HWP_INTERRUPT: 0x00000000 (Dis_Guaranteed_Perf_Change, Dis_Excursion_Min)
    cpu0: MSR_HWP_STATUS: 0x00000000 (No-Guaranteed_Perf_Change, No-Excursion_Min)
    cpu0: MSR_IA32_ENERGY_PERF_BIAS: 0x00000006 (balanced)
    cpu0: MSR_RAPL_POWER_UNIT: 0x000a0e03 (0.125000 Watts, 0.000061 Joules, 0.000977 sec.)
    cpu0: MSR_PKG_POWER_INFO: 0x00000168 (45 W TDP, RAPL 0 - 0 W, 0.000000 sec.)
    cpu0: MSR_PKG_POWER_LIMIT: 0xcc83c000dc8320 (UNlocked)
    cpu0: PKG Limit #1: ENabled (100.000000 Watts, 28.000000 sec, clamp DISabled)
    cpu0: PKG Limit #2: ENabled (120.000000 Watts, 0.109375* sec, clamp DISabled)
    cpu0: MSR_DRAM_POWER_LIMIT: 0x5400de00000000 (UNlocked)
    cpu0: DRAM Limit: DISabled (0.000000 Watts, 0.000977 sec, clamp DISabled)
    cpu0: MSR_PP0_POLICY: 0
    cpu0: MSR_PP0_POWER_LIMIT: 0x00000000 (UNlocked)
    cpu0: Cores Limit: DISabled (0.000000 Watts, 0.000977 sec, clamp DISabled)
    cpu0: MSR_PP1_POLICY: 0
    cpu0: MSR_PP1_POWER_LIMIT: 0x00000000 (UNlocked)
    cpu0: GFX Limit: DISabled (0.000000 Watts, 0.000977 sec, clamp DISabled)
    cpu0: MSR_IA32_TEMPERATURE_TARGET: 0x03640000 (100 C)
    cpu0: MSR_IA32_PACKAGE_THERM_STATUS: 0x88310802 (51 C)
    cpu0: MSR_IA32_PACKAGE_THERM_INTERRUPT: 0x00000003 (100 C, 100 C)
    cpu12: MSR_PKGC3_IRTL: 0x0000884e (valid, 79872 ns)
    cpu12: MSR_PKGC6_IRTL: 0x00008876 (valid, 120832 ns)
    cpu12: MSR_PKGC7_IRTL: 0x00008894 (valid, 151552 ns)
    cpu12: MSR_PKGC8_IRTL: 0x000088fa (valid, 256000 ns)
    cpu12: MSR_PKGC9_IRTL: 0x0000894c (valid, 339968 ns)
    cpu12: MSR_PKGC10_IRTL: 0x00008bf2 (valid, 1034240 ns)

    PS spoke too soon. Still getting throttled to 75W, don't know why. It was definitely working yesterday, and MSR shows correct 100W limits.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2019
  9. Lodde76

    Lodde76 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2019
  10. wallstreetbets

    wallstreetbets Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just got my precision 7540, was surprised to see dell stripped some screws but w/e ... this thing is a beast. love it

    i am looking forward to the precision 5750 that was leaked, anyone looking to switch to that?
     
Loading...

Share This Page