Dell Precision 7540 and 7740 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by djdigitalhi, Aug 13, 2019.

  1. win32asmguy

    win32asmguy Moderator Moderator

    Reputations:
    871
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Wow, that seems a bit low. Is it using a factory paste job and thermal throttling or something? The i9-9880H in mine can get ~4000 CBR20 with -125mv offset on voltage and cache.
     
  2. Jan Cannon

    Jan Cannon Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Interesting. Yes, it's the factory paste job. And the -123mv is on voltage and cache.
     
  3. win32asmguy

    win32asmguy Moderator Moderator

    Reputations:
    871
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Hmmm. Maybe it could be Spectre/Meltdown patches. Do you currently have those enabled on your system?
     
  4. Jan Cannon

    Jan Cannon Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I don't know what those are. By the way I lowered the undervolt to -125mv and got a CB20 score of 3778. Another thing that might be a factor is I'm running my computer in a very warm room, over 80°. Don't know if that is a factor and one other thing is I've got my machine on a cooling pad. Also, I've got the RTX 3000 graphics card. Thanks for your ideas.
     
  5. Nigel P

    Nigel P Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Can any of the 7540 owners tell me where is the air intake of the laptop? The back seems like the outflow. There are grills on the side too.
     
  6. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    774
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    1,350
    Trophy Points:
    231
    It's the grills on the bottom. Back and sides are outflow.
     
  7. Nigel P

    Nigel P Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    That is perfect, I am building a table that could keep the cold and hot air separate at all times.
     
  8. coxhaus

    coxhaus Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I just installed 2 WD 750 M2.0 NVMe SSDs with Windows 10 2004. It is running without me manually adding any Dell drivers. The only driver I updated is to the Intel AX200 wireless driver. Windows 10 2004 AX200 driver is older. I am using BIOS 1.9.0 I think. It is the latest, I updated before I upgraded to 2004.

    There are probably bugs but I heard there will be updates Tuesday. I am not sure my laptop sleeps now.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2020
  9. aez2007

    aez2007 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Does anyone know -- or know how I could check -- if the AMD and NVIDIA graphics cards have different heat sinks/types pastes? I'm likely to be making an AMD->NVIDIA jump and right now the machine has a WX3200 in it. I can find good places to source the card but I can't figure out how to tell whether I need a different power connector or heatsink plate...

    Thanks in advance.
     
  10. htfan

    htfan Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Having trouble with this...
    I imaged the original HDD, restored the image to the new SSD, removed the HDD, booted to the SSD and used it for a bit.

    Re-installed the original HDD and tried to boot...the 7740 boots to the HDD and has the SSD 'Offline' in Disk Management. If I change the boot order in BIOS or One-time boot menu - system still boots to HDD with SSD Offline. I left Windows Boot Manager at the top, though. If I disable the HDD in bios, system boots from SSD fine.

    I gave up and formatted the original HDD (via GParted on USB) and now the system won't boot. After a few tries it brings up Recovery mode. I need to disable the HDD in BIOS in order to boot from the SSD.

    I noticed in BIOS - System Information that the HDD is listed as 'Primary Hard Drive' and the SSD as 'ssd-0' or whatever it was. Should it be that way?

    BTW, the SSD is in Slot 3 - I believe, the bottom one of the pair of slots on the left.

    Any tips?

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page