Dell inspiron 6000 graphic card upgrade

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by kevin-G, Mar 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kevin-G

    kevin-G Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    ok here's my problem. i have a dell inspiron 6000 for about 1 year now and baught the game world of warcraft. it runs it pretty well but the fps is only at 3-8 so i thought of buying a better graphic card but i have no idea what could be an upgrade. I dont know too much about notebooks either.

    So please help me!i will appreciate it.
     
  2. ScifiMike12

    ScifiMike12 Drinking the good stuff

    Reputations:
    801
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    There normally is a large % in which you cannot upgrade your card no matter what. But I guess it couldn't hurt to ask you want video card you have currently?
     
  3. kevin-G

    kevin-G Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    i currently have the ATI Mobility Radeon X300 64 MB
     
  4. ScifiMike12

    ScifiMike12 Drinking the good stuff

    Reputations:
    801
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Ah, I believe you cannot upgrade at all.

    Sorry.
     
  5. coriolis

    coriolis Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    2,319
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    14,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    The i6000 can only go up to the x300 max.
     
  6. A_Grounded_Pilot

    A_Grounded_Pilot Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Yeah, but there are two versions of that card for the I6000, a 64mb and 128mb X300. I'm typing this on my I6000 and I know for a fact that the card is removable, as I've taken it out and apart. I'm not sure where one might get the new card, but I'm pretty sure it's possible. However, I believe it is your only option, and I don't know how much performance you'll gain.
     
  7. kevin-G

    kevin-G Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    ok thanks for the help.
     
  8. A_Grounded_Pilot

    A_Grounded_Pilot Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I just wanted to add that it might very well be worth your effort, as any tiny improvement will be noticeable at the extremely low framerates you are currently seeing.
     
  9. luster

    luster Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Those are some pretty low framerates. Your card easily meets those system specs. How much RAM do you have? I have an Inspiron 6000 with 128mb X300 and even I get 10-20 fps playing NWN 2 with high texture/low shadwow and CC3 on medium settings.

    RAM is really cheap too. I bought 2Gb for less than $50 half a year ago. If you want to upgrade to the 128mb you can. Dell may carry some still otherwise hit up ebay. I've seen it there before. Another great upgrade for the i6000 is cpu pin mod. Cost me like $30 for a 30% faster processor. Also the x300 overclocks very well. I've managed to get mine up from the stock 297:216 to 425:321 without any stability problems. Your mileage may vary.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page