Dell Inspirion 7577

Discussion in 'Dell' started by Sugil1844, Aug 30, 2017.

  1. MasteR's

    MasteR's Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had 7567 with broken support page, it showed Optiplex 3040 model. It took months for Dell agents but eventually they fixed it.
     
  2. FireLantern

    FireLantern Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well this is "great".
    I had a bit of a fiesty call with the service center and they finally told me that they ordered the motherboard the first week when I gave them the laptop but that "they aren't sending it" to them.
    I feel like a complete retard because these people apparenlty don't have a tracking ID for the replacement mobo they ordered and they just told me to wait for up to 45 days (from when I gave them the laptop).
    Now I understand they can't speed up shopping magically but I'm calling BS on no tracking ID for the motherboard shipment.
    Does anyone have experience with their products not being repaired in the timespan a repair service has to do a warranty repair?
    I'm thinking of just writing Dell an email now, since I'm imagining this requires a chain of emails to get trough and since I'm in Europe it will probably take weeks to get shipped if I am to get a new laptop since they probably won't be able to repair this one -_-

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
  3. vibhawa

    vibhawa Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What steps you took to get it rectified?

    Sent from my Z2 Plus using Tapatalk
     
  4. Wertzius

    Wertzius Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For me it shows also another laptop. But you can search by for it manually.
     
  5. MasteR's

    MasteR's Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Contacted Dell technical support regarding my problem. I suggest you to contact via twitter or Facebook.
     
    Vasudev likes this.
  6. speedlever

    speedlever Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When I get my 7577 in another week or so, the first thing I plan to do is check the BIOS for updates (have to setup my wifi for that). Once the BIOS is updated, I plan to do a clean install of Win 10/pro as per this guide:
    http://tripsintech.com/perform-clean-install-of-windows-10-on-dell-inspiron-gaming-7000-7577/

    Then install the Dell stuff I'll need afterwards and try to remember to leave off the suggested files someone suggested earlier.

    I used to do this stuff all the time, but it's been years since I've had to do it, so my skills are a bit rusty.

    Do chipset drivers neet to be updated from Intel now? Or is all that on the Dell website once I get my service tag number?

    Is there any particular order to the driver installation I need to follow? I want to get a good clean install of Win 10/pro before I start loading up my programs and data.

    Edit: However, reading a post on the site linked below has me rethinking my plan. This may not be as simple as I thought and have experienced in the past (prior to the advent of m.2 drives)

    https://www.dell.com/community/Gene...Storage-Drivers-M-2-Lanes/td-p/5072571/page/2
    **********************************************
    ‎10-06-2017 10:43 AM

    RE: Dell M.2 FAQ regarding AHCI vs RAID ON, Storage Drivers, M.2 Lanes, Performance and more
    Hey Justin...running into an issue here. We bought a couple of XPS 8920's with Win 10 Pro and NVMe Hynix PC300 drive that came with it (it also came with a 2TB SATA drive but I unplugged it) , the OS had a bunch of software on it (McAfee, other stuff) so I reinstalled Win10 from scratch, now to do this I had to change it from RAID to AHCI to get the Win 10 install to recognize the NVMe drive and it seemed to work fine (I never changed it back to RAID)

    Today I updated the BIOS to 1.0.9 and now Windows won't load, I tried AHCI and RAID settings, neither work...UEFI and Secure boot are ON

    It get's past the Dell logo and gets to a "Media Present State, Media found" but then just errors out saying No disk found or something...

    What should I do?

    Note the BIOS (even the updated one) looks super old with no mouse control



    I tried restoring BIOS to the old version using the instructions below but Alt+F and Alt+B doesn't do anything

    http://www.dell.com/support/article...stem-setup--defaults-on-a-dell-system?lang=en

    UPDATE: I just reinstalled the OS (Still on AHCI), and then started to updated the Intel chipset and rebooted, that went fine and I got into Windows....I then tried to update the SSD driver and Intel Storage Adapter (through Dell's website) and it rebooted and now I am stuck again



    UPDATE2: I think I figured out the issue....if you are reinstalling Win10 you HAVE to leave the settings to UEFI and RAID ON (I don't think it matters if SecureBoot is on or not), AHCI/Legacy will not work.

    When you get to the Win10 install screen it won't find the NVMe disk but you can load the NVMe drivers through the link Justin mentioned above. Once that is done it will finish the Win10 installation and you can safely update all the drivers (including BIOS to 1.0.9) and everything should work properly!
    ********************************************

    Any thoughts about the Win 10 clean install after reading that post?
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2018
  7. spektykles

    spektykles Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Lo and behold!!! Dell 7577, now with Overclock capability!!!
    I fried the last one with modded 7920HQ while doing this, so be careful (tech guys at Dell scratching their head on how my arrived with 7920HQ tho....)
    Received a replacement, same specs as my old one. Cant keep the 7920HQ from the fried one, too bad, lost 60$...
    I learned how to modify the BIOS to allow XTU to change more settings, and its working!!! (Some unlocked but not working, like CPU multipliers....yeah, but hey now I can confirm that it should working fine with unlocked CPU and can overclock it)
    Managed to get my crappy OEM Micron DDR4 to 2800 @ CL17, pretty good....3000 MHz @CL17 failed, maybe I need to squeeze the timing more on 2800...
    Also iGPU after lifted the clock to 1200MHz and OC RAM, now run PUBG smooth at low setting, yeah its low and crap but before that, lol a slideshow...
    Proof
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
    MasteR's, Vasudev and Maleko48 like this.
  8. speedlever

    speedlever Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Reading through this thread, I'm now wondering if I've made a mistake ordering my 7577 system with the 256GB NVMe drive.

    https://www.dell.com/community/Gene...Storage-Drivers-M-2-Lanes/td-p/5072571/page/5

    '
    ‎01-19-2018 09:40 AM
    RE: Dell M.2 FAQ regarding AHCI vs RAID ON, Storage Drivers, M.2 Lanes, Performance and more


    @community,

    Regarding the: 256GB Nvme Toshiba KXG50ZNV256G

    Dell's engineering team has advised me that the drive's performance behavior is 'working as designed'. The behavior is due to a drive feature called the "SLC buffer". More on that in this wiki. In the case of Toshiba XG5 256GB, the SLC buffer size is maximized at 1/3 the full capacity of the SSD.

    Justin C
     
  9. Maleko48

    Maleko48 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    129
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    407
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Fwiw I run the Samsung SSD drivers on my Win7 install. BIOS mode set to AHCI.
     
  10. Vasudev

    Vasudev Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    3,571
    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    4,355
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Yeah Toshiba XG5 should be much better than XG3. It is somewhat worse than 960 EVO though but similar to PM961. You could order with a HDD only and buy your drive and set everything up. It just takes 10 mins to setup everything on 960 EVO/PRO.
     
Loading...

Share This Page