1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Dell and Video Cards...some can be replaced

Discussion in 'Dell' started by srdhkl, Apr 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. srdhkl

    srdhkl Notebook Evangelist NBR Reviewer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    From time to time I've noticed some people asking if they can replace the video cards in their Dell laptops.

    The answer is...in many of Dell's laptops, you can change the video card. However, THIS IS NOT SANCTIONED BY DELL AND WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY IF YOUR COMPUTER FAILS. So replace at your own risk.

    The only laptop currently that offers sanctioned upgrades is the XPS. However, say you bought a 5150 with a 32 MB Video card. You can purchase the 64 MB Card offered for that system from Dell's spare parts. You can only replace a video card that was specifically made for that system. For instance, you can upgrade (on your own) a 64 MB Geforce FX 5200 to an ATI 9600 128 MB in the Inspiron 8600, because both of these video cards are produced for the 8600. However, you cannot replace a 64 MB Geforce FX 5200 with an ATI 9600 in an Inspiron 5150 because the ATI 9600 form factor is not compatible with the 5150.

    Bottom line, AT YOUR OWN RISK, you can replace a video card in most newer Dell systems with video cards specifically made for that system. BUT THIS WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY. Unless of course you have an XPS, and when the newest video card comes out, Dell will replace that for you.

    Instructions on how to replace video cards are found on Dell's website.
     
  2. Braiot

    Braiot Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    This is good to know. My only regret with my 9100 is not getting the 128mb video card.
    I'm still going to give Dell a call and see what they can do about it. I'm not a huge gamer though and the 64mb card is more than enough for all the games I have.
    For now anyways, I'm sure in the future I will need that 128.

     
  3. TonyinLA

    TonyinLA Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    can the 8600 take a 9700 128? or the next gen of ATI cards?
     
  4. srdhkl

    srdhkl Notebook Evangelist NBR Reviewer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    As of now, the best video card available for the 8600 is the ATI 9600 128 MB. The only cards available for the 8600 are the options offered for that system. If (although unlikely) Dell adds a newer video card to the 8600 line, then you can replace it.

    The ATI 9700 card WILL NOT work with the 8600.
     
  5. rockerfx

    rockerfx Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    where to boy a separate video parts?
     
  6. srdhkl

    srdhkl Notebook Evangelist NBR Reviewer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    The safest place to is to call Dell's Spare Parts. I don't know the number off hand.

    Sometimes, you have to speak to more than one individual because they don't like to give these parts out. But with patience, it can be done.
     
  7. zxcvb

    zxcvb Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    just don't tell dell you replace your video card
     
  8. usery1

    usery1 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Originally posted by zxcvb
    [br]just don't tell dell you replace your video card
    <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

    cant replace it, the video card is actually attached to the motherboard.



    www.ComputerOfAmerica.com <---best computers in the world
     
  9. srdhkl

    srdhkl Notebook Evangelist NBR Reviewer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    No, actually some of Dell's models have video cards that aren't attached. You can do a search for service manuals on particular models at Dell's website that shows you how to remove video cards.
     
  10. inspiron52x

    inspiron52x Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland
    I cracked open my Dell 5150 case the other day (to clean out some crud in the heatsink) and happened to have a look at the graphics card. I've got a geforce FX5200 Go 64mb, which is ok i guess, but I wouldn't mind having either a Geforce FX5650 Go or an ATI 9600...Does anyone know if the connectors from the display to the graphics card are compatible? Iif not, would some 'creative' soldering enable you to fit one of these cards in? The graphics are really the only think holding back the system...
     
  11. srdhkl

    srdhkl Notebook Evangelist NBR Reviewer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Unfortunately, the 9600 or 5650 will not fit in that model. There has been much discussion about this in the Dell Community forum at Dell's website, but those newer cards are a much different shape and size that it would be nearly impossible to fit in the 5150.
     
  12. mathlete2001

    mathlete2001 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Bellingham, Washington
    Dell might eventually come out with a better card for the 5150, most likely the 9600. Until they decide to do so, however, you are out of luck, sorry.

    GPU cooling (100°C->75°C)* Inspiron 8600 * 1.8ghz Pentium M * 128 MB Radeon 9600 Pro Turbo (337/242 -> 400/300) * 2x256 MB DDR2700 SDRAM * Aquamark 3: 24058 * 3DMark'03: 3404 * 3DMark'01 SE: 13120
     
  13. inspiron52x

    inspiron52x Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland
    My system only gets around 6800 3dmarks (2001) at standard speeds. When i overclock the vid card to 240 (core) and 460 (mem) i get around 7500. Is it safe to overclock it to this level?
     
  14. winters

    winters Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    If it is stable (programs run under strain and under normal usage with no side effects (flickers)) and your system is not getting hot (try i2kfangui (spelling?) to moniter). Then your overclock is successfull and you should be ok.
     
  15. mathlete2001

    mathlete2001 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Bellingham, Washington
    It is safe, but only if the GPU is cool. I actually was still stable with a 20% increase, but I totally redid the heat spreaders. monitor your temp closely, as you do at least a half-hour of gaming. The breaks between tests in 3dmark cool the GPU giving you downtime you don't usually have.

    GPU cooling (100°C->75°C)* Inspiron 8600 * 1.8ghz Pentium M * 128 MB Radeon 9600 Pro Turbo (337/242 -> 400/300) * 2x256 MB DDR2700 SDRAM * Aquamark 3: 24058 * 3DMark'03: 3404 * 3DMark'01 SE: 13120
     
  16. inspiron52x

    inspiron52x Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland
    I've just reached clock speeds of 239/510 with my geforce FX5200 GO with no ill-effects. I've stress tested on 3dmark 2001SE looping with no gaps between tests for hours without crashing or artifacts, and tested in GTA3, vice city and SOF2 as well. Do you reckon it's safe to stay at these levels?

    p.s. i've gone from 6700 3dmarks to 8200![:p]
     
  17. mathlete2001

    mathlete2001 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Bellingham, Washington
    the FX is pretty overclockable, go for it. Use Radlinker so that you only OC for the games that need it.

    GPU cooling (100°C->75°C)* Inspiron 8600 * 1.8ghz Pentium M * 128 MB Radeon 9600 Pro Turbo (337/242 -> 400/300) * 2x256 MB DDR2700 SDRAM * Aquamark 3: 24058 * 3DMark'03: 3404 * 3DMark'01 SE: 13120
     
  18. moseleycat

    moseleycat Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Originally posted by Braiot
    < This is good to know. My only regret with my 9100 is not getting the 128mb video card.
    I'm still going to give Dell a call and see what they can do about it. I'm not a huge gamer though and the 64mb card is more than enough for all the games I have.
    For now anyways, I'm sure in the future I will need that 128.>


    Actually, I believe the 9100 can take the 128 MB Radeon mobility 9700 or the 256 MB Radeon mobility 9800. You should be able to pick up the 128 MB 9700 cheap once people start swapping out theirs for the 9800s. You'll just void your warranty if your computer fails however, as nesbo notes in his post.
     
  19. avn06us

    avn06us Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey everybody, have a simple question. I have a Dell Inspiron 8500 series model with the nvidia 64mb video card. I would like to upgrade to the best video card available for my labtop. Any suggestions? Doesn't matter who makes it I just want the fastest video card money can but for my labtop. Thanks....
     
  20. HowlingNurse

    HowlingNurse Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Are video cards on the Inspiron 5100 and 5150 compatible? I want to upgrade the card in my 5100, and read that I could use the Radeon 9000 from the 5150. I'm using the 7500C in my 5100 right now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page