Deciding between an EVOC P775TM-R and P870TM-R

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by craum, Jan 27, 2020.

1. craum

craum Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hello friends,

This is my introductory post to NotebookReview and the Clevo forum. A bit about me...

What I do when I'm not gaming: I'm a micro/nanofabrication engineer specializing in MEMS fab & process control.
    Cheekiest mod: I over clocked my Celeron 300A CPU from 300 to 450 MHz (stable) via a "celery sandwich" design (yes I know how much this dates me).
    Most expensive mod: I bought 16MB ram for $400 (~$700 in today's $) for an IDE caching hard drive controller (again somewhat dating me) to open up the worst bottleneck on my 486 DX2-66.

Over the years I've become less of a performance optimizer hobbyist and more interested in convenience and portability - while still maintaining performance.

I've used the ASUS G751JY in my sig for 5 years and was happy enough with it until a trigger-pulling event occurred - the upcoming release of "Half-Life: Alyx"! I want a high end VR ready rig that will last another 5 years (w/ potential CPU/GPU/memory upgrades along the way).

My initial intention was to buy a refurbished Alienware Area 51m from Dell with i9-9900K/RTX2080 and add my own memory/storage, but the more research I did the more I came to realize the 51m is a new chassis design and thermal management system, and it shows w/ the GPU throttling debacle.

The following video was the final nail in the coffin, which was a bitter pill to swallow, since I had come to appreciate the design of the 51m and was looking forward to being an owner.